We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed in room 28 at this hotel for two nights in July 2014. Beware of the following: There is no A/C in the rooms, and it gets very hot, even with the fans provided by the hotel. It was not possible to stay in the room during daytime! Had to keep the window open during the night time, and there were people partying on the street outside = very little sleep before 1 AM. Also, the shower is very poorly designed, and water flows all over the bathroom floor. On checkout, the front desk ensured me that my Visa card would be charged in GBP, even if the bill said NOK. I reluctantly agreed to believe him (I was in a hurry to catch the bus to Gatwick), but when the Visa statement came a few days later it indeed showed that I had been charged in NOK at an unbelievably poor exchange rate. Feel ripped off by the hotel! The service at the hotel is OK and the place charming, but not worth the high price.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank OHuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear OHuus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It saddens me to hear that there was a mistake made on checkout, this is most certainly not our intention. If you would like to discuss this or any of the other issues raised in your review, please contact me on gm@vanbrughhousehotel.co.uk

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel in the heart of Oxford is well presented with Georgian charm and elegance. Our suite was very well appointed and included a free minibar, trendy selection of teas and free Wi Fi. All good thus far, It is , however, very expensive, on a par with 5 star hotels in London and as has been pointed out there is no air con which makes for poor sleep quality when hot. We have stayed at other luxury hotels in Ox with the same issue, (They make the excuse that its because the building is old but there is no problem with air con in London.)
We booked dinner is the 'bistro' and this is where we had a problem: as soon as you hit the stairs which lead you down into the poky basement you notice that the air of luxury and attention to detail that run through the hotel dissipate. The dining area is poorly furnished and lacks charm. The food was really quite poor, we were exceptionally disappointed. Breakfast was OK. The cooked breakfast was pleasant but the quality of the rest of the food on offer wasnt great. Boxes of cereal, those horrid little rectangles of butter. At £250 per night? Not good enough. Do the same team own and run the hotel and dining room? Certainly doesnt seem so to me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear pac111,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent visit to Vanbrugh House. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel well presented and the rooms well appointed.
I can assure that the lack of air conditioning is not an excuse, and is in fact a matter for the planning authorities in regards to the buildings listing. We are again in talks with them to try and rectify this matter.
I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Our restaurant is very popular with both residents and non residents. I will be passing your comments on to the Head Chef.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I and our middle son recently spent two nights here and enjoyed our stay. The location - very close to the city centre - is convenient, and all the local attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel is situated on a quiet street from which traffic is largely absent, so there is little noise from that source. The hotel does not have its own parking, but Oxford is well served with park and ride schemes (the closest about 1.7 miles away), so that is not a great problem for drivers (like us). Moreover, both the rail and bus stations are relatively close.

The hotel, accommodated in old buildings with retained period features, seems newly completed or refurbished and is well-appointed and decorated. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with good beds and en suite facilities. Breakfasts are also good (our son enjoyed a delicious-looking cooked English breakfast, and the porridge I had was excellent). Dinner on our first evening was also enjoyable - good food, served at an appropriate pace by attentive, but restrained, staff.

The members of staff we met were young, friendly, welcoming, and efficient. Well done them!

A couple of small issues might be mentioned. On our first morning there was no Earl Grey tea for breakfast, but that was rectified in time for the next day, and the rooms did seem quite hot. However, the windows could be opened and fans were provided. Neither detracted significantly from our enjoyment. The hotel does not have lifts, so guests need to be confident on stairs (though there are some downstairs bedrooms, which would be a way round that problem).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alpha1Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Alpha1Norfolk,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. It is only with guest feedback such as yours that we can begin to exceed customer expectations all of the time. I am glad that you enjoyed your time spent at Vanbrugh house hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at hotel. There was a heat wave and when we were showed our room it was extremely hot. The staff were very sympathetic and provided extra portable fans and opened windows for breezes. Nice touch having chocolate dipped strawberries as welcome gift. Great location and quiet area up side street. Breakfast included and good selection. No parking available at hotel and tricky trying to find carparks, but again, staff were very helpful with this. Bed comfortable and iron/board provided. Bathroom large and toiletries provided. Recommend but not during hot spells.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear KDD01,

Thank you for writing your review in regards to your recent visit to Vanbrugh House. I am glad that you enjoyed your chocolate dipped strawberries, it was our pleasure. As I mentioned in the previous review, being such an historic building the installation of A/C was not permitted but we are now in talks again with the planning authority regarding this issue.

We hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very beautiful hotel, very new and stylish throughout. It's located right in the middle of Oxford, and as such has no parking, but there is a loading bay and a park and ride very nearby.
The room was lovely, we even had our own private garden. However, I would have forgone the garden for a bath. The bathroom was tiny and for the price, I would have expected at least a bath, not just a shower.
Breakfast was included and was good.
Our room was very hot. They did give us a fan, but friends staying in upper rooms were uncomfortably hot. However, with normal weather in the UK, this cannot be a frequent problem!
Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mandy M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased you found the hotel 'beautiful and stylish' and that our location was really appreciated. Being a grade 2 listed building, we were not permitted air conditioning in the planning stages of the hotel, but we are in talks with the planning authority to try and rectify this.

We hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Booked a voucher through groupon , but this is definitely not to take away how lovely the afternoon tea was.Had some dietry requirements which were rang through before arrival and this was taken down and done with no problem. On arrival was greeted pleasantly by my name from the staff which was a lovely touch.Nice atmosphere in the place , with people having tea and reading the sunday papers.
Had a delicious old fashioned lemonade and my friend even had herbal tea for the first time ( berry tea ) which she loved.
The sarnies were moist and the scones were gorgeous with homemade jam and cream, only problem was there could have been more to eat !!!
Chocolate mousse was very rich but with the strawberry it came with it complimented nicely.
The waitress seemed genuinely warm and friendly.
Definitely would go back and take more friends too.I don't usually review on mediocre places but this was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lisalouUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear lisalouUk,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Our homemade afternoon tea at Vanbrugh House is now extremely popular with residents and non residents alike. I am so pleased you received customer service to the high level intended.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel after a short taxi ride from the train station, Angela at the reception desk welcomed us with a comprehensive introduction to the hotel, as well as an orientation to the areas' important sights. She remained extremely helpful during our entire stay. This personal attention really distinguished this hotel. Our room had great furnishings and a beautiful bathroom with a walk-in rainfall shower. The hotel is located on a quiet side street in a vibrant neighborhood, within walking distance of major attractions. The hotel restaurant was very nice, and we chose to have dinner there both nights of our stay. Breakfast was included with our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Robert K,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am so pleased that you found Angela 'extremely helpful' throughout your stay, she really is an asset to Vanbrugh House and I have passed on your kind words.

Thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanbrugh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanbrugh House Hotel

Address: Vanburgh House 20-24 St. Michaels Street, Oxford OX1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £152 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vanbrugh House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vanbrugh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing