We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Warm welcome by reception, beautiful interior surroundings, escorted to your room, which is delightful, well laid out, spacious, decor to a high standard, The staff are friendly, helpful and nothing seems too much trouble.
Breakfast is in the lovely resturant and with everything available, its hard not to be pleased.. Upon leaving we was able to leave our cases while we continued to make good use of time remaining,
The location to the hotel is ideal within the town, 5 mins stroll from the Park & Ride bus stop,
Even though its in the town it was very quiet in the hotel room and sleeping on the king size lovely bed wasn't a problem.
Expensive ??? i dont think so. £155 for standard double room and breakfast for one night.. For what you get, location, and above all quality then i think its money well spent.. considering premier inn wanted £129 just for room alone..
We shall Deffinatly return.

Room Tip: watch your legs on the bed frame... caught mine a few times... OUCH ! !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MrCaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear MrCaddy,

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am pleased that you found the hotel and its décor of a high standard. It is great to hear that we could store your luggage so you could enjoy your remaining time in Oxford, We are always happy to accommodate this request if occupancy allows.

We look forward to your return visit to Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Vanbrugh House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for six nights in November, 2013 when we visited our oldest son and his fiancé who were staying in Oxford for several months as a part of a Semester Abroad program. This is a recently renovated property and we were very pleased with our choice. The location is outstanding--right in the middle of everything and a short walk to the bus terminal for easy access to Heathrow and London. It's across from the Student Union with many shops and restaurants just steps away. We had two rooms for our family of four and they were both very nicely appointed. The staff and registration process was excellent. the lobby is lovely and was a great spot to rendezvous. The room included a full English breakfast every morning with anything on the menu as an option. The hotel staff also arranged for a driver for us to take a quick trip down to Jane Austen's Home and Museum in Chawton (east of Winchester). The only negative was that we were offered newspapers and then learned at checkout that we were charged for them, which is not the practice in the USA.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MitchThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear MitchThomas,

Thank you for your 5 star review. As you kindly stated, our location is truly an asset and a common theme on trip advisor. Our close proximity to all road and rail links means that travelling to and from the hotel is never an issue. Being so central also means you are only moments away from Oxfords wonderful museums, theatres and restaurants. Its great to hear you enjoyed your time spent at Vanbrugh House Hotel.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This small boutique hotel is so lovely -- everything, from the decor in muted hues to the plush sofas, beds, and pillows, creates a truly relaxing atmosphere! Although this hotel is on one of Oxford's central (and often rather noisy) streets, Vanbrugh House has done a great job of creating an ambience of seclusion and comfort. We'd highly recommend this hotel to Oxford visitors looking for a more intimate, but high quality hotel experience. The breakfast was delicious as well, served in the hotel's small basement restaurant, which has been decorated and laid out in such a way as to create ample dining space out of a small room. The overall theme of the Vanbrugh House seems to be doing a lot with very little space. It's got great character, despite being rather new. The staff are unbelievably friendly and very willing to help with anything at all. We loved our experience here!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road (St. Michael's street) can be a bit noisier.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Toki04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Toki04,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Here at Vanbrugh House it is our intention that our guests leave with a lasting impression of a hotel that offers a high level of customer service and guest satisfaction, comfort, and with a central location in peaceful surroundings. Having read your review I feel we have achieved this.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel but enjoyed the afternoon tea. The service was very good and the quality of the food with a glass of house champagne was thoroughly enjoyed. We sat outside in the courtyard which was OK but it felt like the courtyard could be improved for a hotel of this standard. We used a Groupon offer which enabled us to have the tea for £19.50 for a couple which is a bargain.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Sean G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea at Vanbrugh House. I am glad you found both the food and service to the high standard intended.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice hotel and with a good bed. Nicely layed out. Friendly staff. Very good breakfast. We stayed here when the weather was around 20 ' C, never the less the room was quite warm; opening the windows was partly possible, so this room needs definitly airconditioning.......

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tineke U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Tineke U,

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and the breakfast was very much to your liking.
As mentioned in previous reviews, being a grade 2 listed property we were not permitted in the planning stages the installation of air conditioning. However, we are now back in talks with the planning authority to try and rectify this matter.

We do hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My expectations for VanBrugh were high as I'd enjoyed my stay in April but I just loved it this time. The staff should run hospitality courses which I'd make compulsory for the mediocre accommodation providers I stayed with during my 2 weeks in Europe. They get customer service and my 2 night stay was worth every cent.

Our room (28) was more spacious than the earlier room and despite the lack of AC (as a historic property they can't get approval for cooling AC) with the window open was comfortable. We booked on a room only basis but had breakfast one morning and this time I thought it was good value for money.

I can't think of a better place to stay in Oxford - comfortable, good location and feel good.

Room Tip: The rooms facing St Michael's St can be noisier at night so if you prefer request a room on the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Torvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Torvie,

Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your return visit. Your
kind words really are praise indeed and will most definitely be passed on to the team. At Vanbrugh House we work so hard on customer service and guest satisfaction, so your comments are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit to Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I got married in Oxford and my family stayed here. I had the vicarage suite and it was brilliant. The staff looked after my grandmother very well, who had her own garden to sit in. We also ate at the restaurant which was very good. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AilH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear AilH8,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am so pleased that you chose Vanbrugh House for your wedding accommodation and that you were all looked after to the high standard intended. Your Grandmothers room, The Nicholas Hawksmoor, does indeed have its own terraced garden, perfect for these summer months.

We hope to see you all again soon at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanbrugh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanbrugh House Hotel

Address: Vanburgh House 20-24 St. Michaels Street, Oxford OX1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £151 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vanbrugh House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vanbrugh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing