We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“we loved it so much , we could have stayed all...”
other travellers have booked this property
Midsomer Cottage is in a charming riverside village within the ring road, close to public transport
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Midsomer Cottage is in a charming riverside village within the ring road, close to public transport
The living room is light,airy, and comfortably furnished with sofa, easy chairs and TV. Cable WiFi The living space flows into the dining / kitchen, creating a sense of spaciousness.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Midsomer Cottage is in a charming riverside village within the ring road, close to public transport
The living room is light,airy, and comfortably furnished with sofa, easy chairs and TV. Cable WiFi
The living space flows into the dining / kitchen, creating a sense of spaciousness.
The well fitted  Breakfast/Kitchen offers a dishwasher, washing machine, fridge-freezer & microwave.
Windows on two sides gives pleasant views, particularly when the Magnolia tree is in blossom.
The kitchen opens on to a wooden deck, long gravelled garden with magnificent trees. Table & chairs.
The main bedroom offers a King bed, convertible to two twins. A range of wardrobes & TV.
The en suite offers a shower, washbasin and toilet.
The back bedroom has a double bed, range of wardrobes, and TV.
The main bathroom has a bath and shower, wash basin and toilet.
The twin bedroom on the 2nd floor is accessed by a paddle staircase - unsuitable for v young/elderly
The twin bedroom on 2nd floor is charming, with great views. There is a wash basin, but no toilet.
Hawkwell House Hotel is across the road from the cottage, and welcomes non residents
Ponies are a favourite with visiting children, as they stroll from cottage to shop, church & river.
The Tree Hotel specialises in European and Eastern cuisine, & offers a Sunday buffet lunch.
The Prince of Wales has a good restaurant, and is open during normal opening hours.
Iffley Village Shop is run by villagers, and offers a good selection of groceries. Closed Wed PM.
The village hall in Church Way where coffee is served after morning service on Sundays
Paying a thought to the famous Chestnut Tree at the end Church Way, which is nearing it's life's end
St Mary's Church is of great historic interest, and is famous for it's Piper window.
The interior of St Mary's Church is stunning.
Once you've explored the village, you'll arrive at Iffley Lock, where you can sit and dream.
This beautiful setting speaks for it's self. You are only 30 mins walk along the tow path to Oxford.
Manager Cheryl Sharp
will welcome you on arrival, & ensure your  stay is comfortable.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
james c
1 review
“we loved it so much , we could have stayed all summer”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

the village is a quiet sanctury and the cottage perfect for walking along the river into oxford , about 35-40 mins . which we did almost daily but we also got the bus which is so so convienient , right into town , runs every 8 mins and if you get a return it saves money . April is a lovely month to visit a little rural village so close to oxford and all the flowers coming out but i think the summer would be even better. boat trips up and down the thames and all the lovely pubs and places along the river . Sue has made it a cosy and comfortable place and Cheryl looks after any thing you may need .. between them theyve got it covered .. thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the magnolia outside
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Dear James,
We're o glad you enjoyed your stay at Midsomer Cottage, and obviously enjoyed the all the many advantages that it's location has to offer. Perhaps we might see you again in the summer one year?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy838
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a beautiful cottage! It was relaxing and delightful and just what we wanted. It was also bigger than it looked in the pictures which was a bonus.
Cheryl greeted us and was so helpful and lovely :-)
It was clean too, and had everything we needed. ABSOLUTELY recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
So glad you had a great time, and that the cottage exceeded your expectations. We hope you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S R
Wales UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

This is an exceptional rental house. We know Oxford well and to find an affordable, convenient base was difficult. Our party was 4 adults, 3 children - one with special needs.
The owner could not have been more accomodating and concerned about what we may need for our short stay. The house was warm, comfortable with everything we may need. Cheryl, the manager was nearby, met us on arrival and was available if there were any problems. We didnt have the opportunity to walk down to the lock or through the village, but know that this is a beautiful, peaceful and historic place.
I could not fault this property and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home
Liked least: both double mattresses dipped in the middle
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
We are so glad that the cottage lived up to your expectations, and that you felt we were there for you.
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHS1706
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal, cosy holiday cottage”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were a family group of 4 adults, so used all 3 bedrooms over 3 nights.
Lovely comfortable cottage with welcoming touches and friendly Manager.
Enabled us to relax before and after our son's wedding weekend.
Ideal for access to Oxford and for feeling away from the fray of the city.
Would revisit, no problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the village near the river, with several restaurant options
Liked least: For our purposes, the top bedroom was rather a disappointment - even though warnings given.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
So glad you enjoyed your visit, and that we were able to contribute in some way to the very special occasion of your son's wedding. Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“Perfect rental is a delightful Oxford village”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I had rented flats in Oxford for the last three years, but were never quite satisfied with the modern places in which we stayed. This year we had the amazing good luck to come across Midsomer Cottage in the village of Iffley. We had found our perfect Oxford rental! Midsomer Cottage was a pure delight - full of character, well-equipped, spotless, and in the middle of Iffley, which we loved. Walking the towpath from Iffley to Oxford became part of our daily routine during our two-week stay. Visiting the Village Shop and dinner at the Prince of Wales several times - we felt as if we were part of village life. Owner Sue Trevor-Wilson responded promptly via email during the booking process and Midsomer's manager, Cheryl Sharp couldn't have been more warm and welcoming - including having a huge welcome basket waiting for us when we arrived. Truly a dream come true. We look forward to our next stay at Midsomer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
We're so very proud that we succeeded in making your dreams come true! What a fantastic tribute - thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray-th...
Goderich, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful Merry Christmas Atmosphere. Excellent for family celebration.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Midsomer Cottage is the perfect place for a small family 4 adults and 1 - 3 year old to spend the Christmas holiday. Sue and Cheryl were the spirit of Christmas and Generosity. A Christmas tree greeted our arrival. We ordered Christmas Dinner from M&S and used the Midsomer Cottage kitchen to put it all together. The lounge is a refuge after a busy day site seeing. The bedrooms are cosy and comfortable. Everything is clean and sparkles. We walked along the canal into Oxford several times. The weather cooperated. Perfect place winter or summer.! Two pubs are close at hand. The village church had a super Christmas event for kids. I'd give this accommodation 10 stars instead of 5 if I could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet street in Iffley; the generous nature of our hosts Sue & Cheryl, the garden, etc.
Liked least: Access to the 3rd bedroom on the 3rd floor is a bit tricky but we didn't need it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
We're so glad the cottage exceeded your expectations, which is our aim! Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, well managed”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Iffley is a fantastic spot to visit Oxford. The walk along the river into town is lovely, even in winter, and beats being stuck in a car or bus along the approach roads (though the bus service is frequent). The village church is very friendly especially for young children, and the pub and community-run shop also very welcome. The house is great, and the manager (Cheryl) is exceptionally hospitable. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cheryl! Willing to go the extra mile in making us feel welcome.
Liked least: A combined washer/drier - slow and not entirely effective as a drier. Better than nothing though.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing