We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of Asian Mama

Asian Mama
Ranked #238 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

A rare child free night calls for a meal out and we selected Asian Mama on the strength of the menu and the occupants inside eating and queuing for takeaway - we were not disappointed. It's not high end - so paper tablecloths but the food was amazing. We shared duck pancakes to start, followed by egg fried rice and chilli beef (crisp, flavoursome), chicken in blackbean ( plentiful, crisp vegetables too) and pork in garlic and ginger (superb!). All generous portions and part of a set menu (B) at £12.80 a head. Brilliant value and the service was great, polite and friendly. Drinks expensive £3.30 for half a pint, but can not fault the food - plus they offered to pack up the leftovers without prompting. Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Frugal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Popped in on a Sunday evening only 3 other diners but all chinese (usually a good sign). Very prompt polite service and decent food and portion sizes. Took pot luck on this restaurant having just dropped my daughter off to Uni so was pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Super Food, well served, in fact I cant find any negative for this one, its now my go to for Chinese food its a little more expensive than some of it competitors but the food is worlds apart I guarantee you'll want more and if your in to salt and pepper wings your in for a treat!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tigers240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food good but poor grasp of English.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Shared a duck starter (plentiful) and then shared a mixed meat curry, sweet and sour chicken, rice and chips. Plentiful food. Too many chips, I would've liked a half portion option. Service was good, although the two waitresses were also doing take away too! I stated that the sweet and sour sauce was very spicy and appeared to be with chilli. I was told not, but later the first waitress had to ask the other one to speak to me, as she couldn't express herself in English. It transpires that I had garlic and chilli, rather than sweet and sour!! I was given the bill. But after I paid by credit card, their lack of English became more apparent. I went to keep the bill, but they tried to take it away. I said I wanted to keep it, but they said I couldn't. Then they tried to reprint my credit card receipt. Or handwrite another. I said I wanted the original. Eventually they realised what I was saying and said they needed it to show their boss! So I gave up. We had gone round in circles for awhile. Their English was adequate if you keep to the menu only! No discount for the wrong meal either!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller-pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Ordered a take away for delivery to our house and once it was delivered I found my wonton soup floating at the bottom of the bag as the lid had broken and the food Luke warm. I called Asian mama and they said there was nothing they could do for me, and having asked if they would replace it, have a free one on next order or get a discount they said no. I told them They would loose my custom and i was then offered a free wonton soup next time, unfortunately the customer service was poor and first impressions count, my husband and I were not impressed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asian Mama also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Asian Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing