We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality Accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oxford Coach and Horses
Ranked #4 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A gem of a place to stay in Oxford. Very tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Very good shower in our spacious bathroom and a most comfortable bed in a room with a very relaxing atmosphere and comfy chairs to sit in. We had a very warm greeting from Sylvia the owner who is as lovely a person as you will ever meet. The breakfast is of a very good standard with excellent coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

A lovely B&B located just 10-15 minutes walk from oxford city centre. We chose this guest house partly because of the location and partly as they provided free car parking. Everything was very clean with a good supply of fluffy white towels, a very comfortable super king bed (room 6) and excellent quality sheets, pillows and duvet. Sylvia and Mike were both very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was one of the best we've had on our trip and it was nice that they offered a veggie option. Sylvia offered us some home-made Spanish omelette which was excellent.

On one occasion were ordered a minicab taxi into Oxford and that cost just £4, though a regular taxi costs about twice that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TF_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

1 night in oxford, lovely b&b with car parking included, but I think limited spaces. Punting not 5 mins away, and about 10 minute walk into the high street of oxford. We ate at the fish restaurant on the walk in, just a couple of mins away, decent food and prices. Nice breakfast, bed was mega comfy. All good!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in many B & Bs during our visit to the Cotswolds and this was our favorite because of the large size of the room and bathroom. It's a short, easy walk to the center of town. Sylvia was a big help and cheerful presence.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights a week or so ago and loved it. Our Room (No. 5), at the back of the property, was large and airy with a spotlessly clean, big bathroom. with some nice toiletries. Very nicely, cheerfully furnished and a lovely spot to return to after a busy day sightseeing. Sylvia and Mike were very attentive and keen to ensure we had everything we needed. Very convenient for a 15 minute stroll into Oxford centre and the B&B having its own car park is definitely a bonus as we left the car in situ and walked everywhere. Thank you for a lovely stay - hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooks the courtyard at the back so very little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The service from Mike and Sylvia is superb. The location, just across the bridge from Magdalen is very central and short walk from the great restaurants on the Cowley Road. The newly refurbished rooms and ensuite bathrooms are immaculate. Breakfast is extremely generous and kept us full all day long.

I forgot my phone charger - and they promptly posted it back to me without charge. The service, great food at breakfast and central location is what justifies the relatively high prices: £130 to £140 per night, which is not much less than fully fledged hotels nearby. However, Oxford is an expensive city, so this is good value if you want a central location and fantastic service from a high quality B&B.

Room Tip: Room 4 at the back is a twin room and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsinManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Coach and Horses. Room 7 is big, bright and cheerful with a very good bathroom. The breakfast was excellent. If you are not an early riser be prepared for the traffic noise as the room fronts onto the busy road into Oxford centre. We were expecting it and for us it was not an issue as we wanted to be up early.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,215 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Townhouse
The Oxford Townhouse
#3 of 85 in Oxford
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Coach and Horses

Address: 62 St. Clements Street, Oxford OX4 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £110 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Coach & Horses is a new establishment on the site of an old coaching inn dating from the eighteenth century, said to be the last in Oxford before the road to London.It is an eight-bedroom family-owned business, small enough to provide a friendly welcoming service with the advantage of having new up-to-date facilities to make your visit relaxed and comfortable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing