We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful high class B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oxford Coach and Horses
Ranked #4 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful high class B&B”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here on several occasions during May & June whilst working in the delightful city of Oxford. Mike & Sylvia are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble (even going to buy me some ice for my G&T!).

The Coach and Horses is far more than a B&B but very much more like a small boutique hotel but offering a far more personal touch. The rooms are finished to a very high standard with high quality linens and fixtures & fittings. It is definitely an ideal base for exploring magnificent Oxford with a short stroll across Magdalen Bridge. There is a bus stop almost on the door step for regular services back into London or Gatwick & Heathrow airport.

I understand from Mike air conditioning is next on the 'to do' list which will only add to the experience as it can be quite hot and sticky during the summer and if you are at the front the road noise could be a problem if you are a light sleeper. However, rooms at the back are extremely quiet with two large windows to open.

Would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated to the exact same high standard but quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
114
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Coach and Horses is a lovely B&B within a short walking distance to downtown Oxford, There is on site parking, the rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. Breakfast was very nice. Host & hostess were very helpful.

Room Tip: If you go in the summer I would recommend getting a room facing the courtyard. There is no AC so on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A truly delightful stay - our room for three was light and bright - plenty of room and well laid-out. This is one of the only times I've thought the online photos look just like the actual location - it is just as pretty and well-done in person. The beds (a king and a single) were very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean - I had to really study the bathroom fixtures to see they weren't brand new. Even the bath supplies (shampoo, conditioner, soap, body wash) were great - everything was high quality yet comfortable and homey. The breakfast was custom-made, delicious (eggs, sausage, bacon, toast) and was very flexible (the other B&B we stayed at didn't serve breakfast past 8:30 a.m. and we are late-risers, so we never had a breakfast there) - we only stayed in Oxford one night, but the Coach and Horses was the best all-around experience of the four establishments we stayed at during our England/France trip. Conveniently located near the punting (boat) dock at the edge of the heart of the city - it's also close to restaurants and a convenience/grocery store. Nothing but praise for Oxford Coach and Horses!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Oxford Coach and Horses is a beautiful bed and breakfast, newly remodeled and located near center of Oxford.
Each day, we were greeted with a wonderful breakfast and treated like family. Everything was provided: a beautiful, large, warm room; an excellent full-English breakfast; and, extensive information about Oxford. When we returned each evening, we were welcomed home and shared our adventures. Silvia and her staff made our stay in Oxford a very special and memorable experience. We look forward to returning Oxford Coach and Horses. It will be like returning to our home away from home.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have wonderful high, open beamed ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Oxford Coach and Horses is a wonderful spot to use as a base to enjoy Oxford. Rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable and Sylvia is a great hostess. The facility is well located, right on the bus line from Heathrow, a bit of a longer walk (20 minutes) or a short cab ride from the rail station and a short walk to the central part of the City.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at Oxford Coach and Horses recently. The rooms are beautiful and very well presented. The location was perfect for our stay, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Oxford.
The best thing about this B & B are the owners. They went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. They were friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a beautiful and relaxing place to stay while visiting wonderful Oxford.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaSpaSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recommend everyone who goes to Oxford should stay at this lovely hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated, large and full of light and joy.
The hosts are wonderful people who do everything they can to make your stay happy.
A mere twenty-minute-walk from the city centre, the bus-stop to Stanstead airport or Heathrow is just twenty metres away from it.
I cannot tell you how grateful I am to have found this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Coach and Horses

Property: Oxford Coach and Horses
Address: 62 St. Clements Street, Oxford OX4 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Coach & Horses is a new establishment on the site of an old coaching inn dating from the eighteenth century, said to be the last in Oxford before the road to London.It is an eight-bedroom family-owned business, small enough to provide a friendly welcoming service with the advantage of having new up-to-date facilities to make your visit relaxed and comfortable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing