We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and excellent value”
Review of St Margarets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Margarets Hotel
Ranked #29 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location is ideal for walking into Oxford. The room was large, spotlessly clean and warm.
Breakfast was very good and far more than the usual continental. There is sufficient car parking for 4 to 5 cars off the road.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very nice stay as the rooms are large and spacious. There was plenty of space for our luggage and the room facilities were good. The steam iron and ironing board where very useful. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful. As we had to leave before the official breakfast time, the staff kindly organised for us to have a proper breakfast at an earlier time. The location was ideally situated for the city centre and it is a short pleasant walk to the nearby University Park.

Room Tip: The family room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The room is big and clean, the garden is very traditional English Garden. Staff is very nice and helpful. It is in a good location, beautiful and quiet, I even went out for a troll in the morning. I checked in nearly midnight, Tim waited and welcomed me. During the breakfast I asked the lady who served the breakfast about where to visit in oxford. She told me nearby place like Oxford natural history museum, Oxford university park... She showed me google map as well. Yes, it is a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Regents park college room has very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhidao X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Well located and not expensive, with a lovely back garden and conservatory, this hotel just changed hands so maybe management needs a few weeks to iron out issues. The attentive owner apologized that the bathtub was missing a handle for the hot water tap, though shower worked; the toilet lid was also missing and there were no water glasses. A few photographs or pictures would have brightened up the otherwise comfortable room. The continental breakfast consisted of mostly sugary cereals in small boxes, fruit, croissants and a very limited number of yogurts. There was no brewed decaf coffee; there were no decaf tea bags. Simply by providing a healthier range of cereals, including porridge oats (very cheap), brewed decaf coffee and decaf tea bags, and a more plentiful supply of yogurts plus some hard-boiled eggs, the breakfast could have been much more enjoyable. My gluten-intolerant friend could only have fruit as the yogurts ran out. Tip: stay in back rooms if you are a light sleeper; you may hear the bells across the church chime on the hour otherwise.

Room Tip: Stay in the garden-facing rooms or you may hear the church bells toll all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaroldandScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton K, General Manager at St Margarets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are under the new management from March 2014, and investing additional capital in updating the hotel interior as well as other areas of the property. We appreciate your business, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best Wishes
Anton
+44 (0)1865 433 864
anton@thestmargaretshotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VictorSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally C, Public Relations Manager at St Margarets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coccorix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally C, Manager at St Margarets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton K, Manager at St Margarets Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 85 in Oxford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 85 in Oxford
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#18 of 85 in Oxford
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cotswold House
Cotswold House
#50 of 85 in Oxford
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Margarets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margarets Hotel

Address: 41 St. Margarets Road, Oxford OX2 6LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Margarets Hotel is perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and Oxfordshire. The hotel is on the edge of the University Campus and close to Oxford city centre. The St Margarets Hotel is the ideal place to stay when exploring Oxford and the surrounding area. This Oxford hotel boasts 12 luxury Victorian style bedrooms with modern facilities and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Margarets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing