We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room with garden view. Terrible breakfast times!”
Review of St Margarets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Margarets Hotel
Ranked #32 of 80 Oxford B&B and Inns
Leiria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely room with garden view. Terrible breakfast times!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our room was very clean, quiet and spacious. We were lucky to get a room with a garden view and couldn't hear any noise from the street or church opposite the hotel.

The only negative point is the breakfast: the times are terrible (from 7:30 to 8:30) and we weren't impressed with the food either... not worth the money or the effort to get out of bed early.

I would stay there again and avoid the breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden and skip the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palermita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
27
29
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

After a very nice b&b in Cambridge, this hotel in Oxford was a great disappointment. The room was nice, but the bathroom wasn't clean, with many hairs on the floor.
The breakfast was so simple, like they didn't care. Cheap toast, eggs with the yellow cooked to green-blue, no yoghurt (sorry, finished) to go with muesli and dirty tables, that were not cleaned after guests had left.
Location is good, but it feels so anonymous, I will never return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skouwehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Having had a poor experience with an Oxford Hotel last year, decided to try St Margarets. What a difference, cannot recommend it enough. Clean, good service (able to accommodate an additional last minute guest) and reasonable pricing. Will definitely look to stay here again.
Also worth noting, pwrking in Oxford can be murder. Parking outside the hotel is free/unlimited from after 18:30 monday to Saturday, and free all Sunday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IainLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were a party of 7 who stayed in 4 rooms at this great hotel.
From the very warm welcome with Anton to the farewell from the gentleman who cleaned the rooms, this hotel is first class.
The attitude of everyone at St Margaret's is that nothing is too much trouble. Right down to one in the party wanting a pub to watch a football match - this request was duly researched and recommendations made.
The large spacious rooms were spoltessly clean, the beds sooo comfy.
Travelling with a group there is always waiting time whilst others are getting ready. We passed this time in the lovely conservatory with a coffee from the fabulous coffee machine. had the weather been warmer we would have enjoyed this in the beautiful serene garden.
Everyone in our group agreed that we would definately stay there again and would happily recommend St Margarets Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The conservatory and garden were lovely locations for relaxing and catching up. We were able to arrange games and do a BBQ in the garden. The rooms are spacious and light with views of leafy gardens or street. The location is quite quiet (apart from the bell that chimed the hour all through the night!). We took taxis into town or walked. The only slight negatives would be that the lawn needed cutting and the breakfast was continental but with cold meat, cheeses and eggs. Also the breakfast room was a little cramped.
I would certainly return to St Mararets and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were a party of 7 who stayed in 4 rooms at this great hotel.
From the very warm welcome with Anton to the farewell from the gentleman who cleaned the rooms, this hotel is first class.
The attitude of everyone at St Margaret's is that nothing is too much trouble. Right down to one in the party wanting a pub to watch a football match - this request was duly researched and recommendations made.
The large spacious rooms were spoltessly clean, the beds sooo comfy.
Travelling with a group there is always waiting time whilst others are getting ready. We passed this time in the lovely conservatory with a coffee from the fabulous coffee machine. had the weather been warmer we would have enjoyed this in the beautiful serene garden.
Everyone in our group agreed that we would definately stay there again and would hapily recommend St Margarets Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet2014981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As an alumnus unable to stay in my old college, I sought out somewhere reasonably priced and central to the city. This place is brilliant. Anton looked after us admirably, and the room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but also excellent, with friendly and polite service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hi574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Galaxie Hotel
Galaxie Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#14 of 80 in Oxford
277 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 80 in Oxford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Margarets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Margarets Hotel

Property: St Margarets Hotel
Address: 41 St. Margarets Road, Oxford OX2 6LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Margarets Hotel is perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and Oxfordshire. The hotel is on the edge of the University Campus and close to Oxford city centre. The St Margarets Hotel is the ideal place to stay when exploring Oxford and the surrounding area. This Oxford hotel boasts 12 luxury Victorian style bedrooms with modern facilities and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St Margarets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing