We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth being locked up here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

An utterly charming hotel; they have kept the spirit of a gaol whilst wrapping you in luxury. Very efficient staff who are friendly and charming at the same time. Well worth just wandering around once you have checked in, there are extraordinary crevices well worth poking your nose in. Don't miss a drink in the visitors bar, expensive but oozing character. We had room 101 and fortunately not a rat to be seen, the only fault being a faulty sink plug. It's not cheap but worth eery penny and check out their website for deals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower ground floor are dark, it is a prison and there is nothing they can do about dung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,342 - 2,348 of 3,120 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent a weekend here in May 2012. Had previously stayed here and was a bit underwhelmed having been put in the modern annex building rather than the main cell rooms.

This time we had a cell and it made a world of difference. The room was lovely, with lots of character and nice little touches. The cell/prison theme is played on but quite subtly and not in a gimmicky way. Decor and design all excellent.

The main bar is also lovely and the food significantly better than last time. Also service from everyone there was first rate.

All in all it is a fantastic place and well worth staying there if you are in Oxford (just make sure you get a room in the main building as it makes all the difference). I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Malmaison Oxford Castle hotel provided me a completely different hotel experience.
The first impression I have had entering the place is that the efforts made to create a luxury jail hotel are quite successful. The ambiance is great, you feel quite comfy but in the safe time, you can't ignore the past of the building.

The room was not big (I guess prisoners were saying the same thing) but is very well arranged. Due to the small size of the room, the dark colour and the Deco, the overall impression is that you feel relax and in a little bubble.

My only advice is that this hotel is great to go with your partner, with some good friends. You must take some time to explore the place and imagine a bit of the past.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Spent the weekend at this hotel with friends. It is the most unusual hotel in which we've stayed, having been imaginatively converted from Oxford jail.

We were upgraded and stayed in a room in the Governor's house which was comfortably furnished. The bathroom was modern. Soft furnishings and toiletries were of good quality. Housekeeping throughout the hotel was good. Public areas are very atmospheric and we loved the Visitors Bar.

Food at dinner was lovely and breakfast was one of the best we've had.

All staff were professional, friendly and efficient.

I have two complaints - 1) why only provide double beds when most 4*+ hotels provide queens and, 2) the lighting in both bedroom and bathroom was poor, I had to sit on the floor in front of a long window in the bedroom to apply makeup!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Certainly an experience if you stay in one of the cells. Some of Porridge was filmed here. Room we had (suite) was well appointed. Dinner was very relaxed, very busy but service was good with great atmosphere. Good location for exploring Oxford. You can try and book the small car park in advance which is well worth the fee. We parked in Westgate multi storey 5mins away but it looked like it was straight out of Get Carter and the stairways smelt of......well you can guess. Wasn't comfortable leaving the car there overnight and was mighty glad that former inmates hadn't made off with the wheels the next day.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is how to renovate a hotel! A fantastic mix of the old and new. The bar is just fab - the old visiotrs room I think - the rooms as cells are amazing. A friend said it was a bit dark for them but this is not the sort of hotel you stay for two weeks. Brilliant for a long weekend. This was a surprise birthday treat for my husband and he loved it. Great restaurant as well, very dramatic. Worth a detour in my view. Just remember parking in Oxford is not great so do pre-book the valet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The initial excitement of the surroundings and what might be a creative use of an usual hotel location, wears off very quickly once faced with the poor service at Malmaison. This starts at check in and continues through to room service and any small request such as, asking for a hairdryer the next morning as you might be getting dressed to head to someone's wedding. The room's btw do not come with hairdryers are are fairly small. The lack of light might also put off some people (such as us) as the converted room are sub-ground level and have very small windows which have not been compensated for. The dark decor might be smart but it feels claustrophobic. No parking and don't even bother to ask if you didn't reserve a spot at the time of reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scuderia_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 45 in Oxford
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Address: 3 Oxford Castle New Road, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £135 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're tired of doing hard time in run-of-the-mill hotels, it's a completely different story at our former gaol, Malmaison Oxford. Instead sip the coolest cocktails in the free world at MALBAR and enjoy an eclectic mix of classic dishes with a twist at the Brasserie, from freshly caught fish to the famous Mal Burger. Good behaviour will get you privileges like free Wi-Fi, drench showers, plasma TVs and and even toiletries that are just begging to be nabbed by light-fingered guests. This is one hotel in Oxford city centre where you'll be happy to get a long stretch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing