We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Oxford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of fiends this week.
Centrally located - easy walking distance to everything.
Car park seemed expensive so half of us went by train!
Restaurant and bar seemed small for size of hotel - particularly as there was a large conference in!
Breakfast great! House wine great value too!

Would visit again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Pauline T,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased to read that you had a good time with us. Hopefully we'll get to see you again soon without a conference to infringe on your stay!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    865
    432
    197
    102
See reviews for
247
1,661
74
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

First time at the Malmaison and what a lovely find. We had a basement cell room (101).
Quite creepy thinking of what the room was like before it became a bedroom. Lovely large room, nice touches, not much of a view but hey it was a prison!
The reception was good on arrival, car parking on site, they take your car underground to a safe place for no extra.
The only downside is the price of drinks. Much cheaper to go to a bar or restaurant nearby.
A nice birthday experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Judie C,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to celebrate here at the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had a good time, hopefully one you can repeat next year too?!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

A first weekend away for us as a new couple, it was exciting to stay in such an interesting hotel! The staff were all excellent and the buildings were in no way prison like! (in the sense that it was warm and comfortable with all the facilities you could need!)
We will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Izzy345,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased you chose to spend your first weekend away together with us and that we were able to contribute positively to that.

We do hope you come back to us for what will hopefully be a long and happy life together, good luck!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Malmaison, great as always. Room service were heat in providing an extension cord. Dagmara was both friendly and professional on the bar. Room great, food great, cocktails were great too :)

Thanks Dagmara!

Room Tip: All good. The main prison wing or the staff rooms are the best. Note, the heating and ventilation co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Lachesys,

Thank you for choosing to return and for choosing to write such a positive review for us. We are always delighted to have return guests, a phrase we like to use around here for them #lockedupforMalLife which we hope that you are!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here with my husband for one night ,following a recommendation.Hotel amazing,could clearly see how it used to be a prison as it has maintained a lot of original features.Food was superb,ambience great,service in bar and restaurant faultless,staff friendly,efficient and knowledgeable.Reception staff were also friendly and efficient.Stayed in a lovely room in the House of Correction building,bed very comfertable and bathroom large.The hotel is right in the centre of Oxford so ideal for shopping,the only downside is that the hotel has limited parking at £28.50 overnight,however there are park and ride carparks near by.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear KatW5,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I think that it is fair to say that we are somewhere different and I am pleased it happens to be somewhere that most people can really enjoy.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here in September, it was our second visit as we loved it so much the first time. We had wine and cocktails in the lounge bar upstairs which was so comfortable and warm, it's such a nice environment we spent the evening talking with another couple that were also staying there. The staff were friendly and professional clearly very well trained, the wines were of great quality and the cocktails mixed to perfection. After having perhaps one too many Singapore Slings, we retreated to our room, which was one of the prison rooms. Now, I have never been to prison but I don't imagine it was as luxurious as what it is now. The beds were so comfortable, the room was very well decorated. And as well as a huge bath tub there was a walk in shower. All amenities provided, even made use of the mini-bar. Hated leaving!! I used to live in Oxford and visit frequently, looking forward to visiting the family again just so we can come back here

Room Tip: Go for the prison rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bribob91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Bribob91,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I was pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and do hope it is one that you choose to repeat again very soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We chose this hotel for a two night family break with two teenagers, we wanted something a little different with a central location this fitted the bill perfectly.

We arrived by car and there is parking on site with a concierge who will help you with your bags and then park in a secure garage. This has a charge of £28 per night, which is normal for city parking, however there is a very efficient park and ride and the bus stop is right outside the hotel and is considerably cheaper if you were like us and had a two night stay with two cars.

We stayed in two superior rooms away from the main cell area, they were spacious and with luxury bathrooms, lovely toiletries and coffee making facilities. Thought it was strange not to have bathrobes, however there were in the other room so did not quite understand why.

We had cocktails in the residents lounge on the first night which was lovely and then proceeded make our way to the restaurant which is on the ground floor passing a number of rooms which had the names of prisoners which had inhabited the cells and the duration.

There is also another bar next to the restaurant and the menu suited the teenagers and we all chose to have burgers, which we all agreed were fabulous and at last a juicy burger that hadn't been over cooked and dry which seems to be fashion to comply with health and safety standards, and I went for the foie gras option which worked really well. Our waitress was delightful after our meal gave us a guided tour of the main area of the hotel where the cell rooms were located which was interesting and we may chose to return and book one of those next time.

We did not choose to have breakfast in the hotel as we were keen to walk into the centre which literally was a couple of minutes walk and ate in one of the many cafes.

If you are looking for something a little different with a great central location with the fun factor of spending 2 nights in a prison with nice staff its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Samanda D,

Thank you for taking the time to sit and write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we get to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Property: Malmaison Oxford Castle
Address: 3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're tired of doing hard time in run-of-the-mill hotels, it's a completely different story at our former gaol, Malmaison Oxford. Instead sip the coolest cocktails in the free world at MALBAR and enjoy an eclectic mix of classic dishes with a twist at the Brasserie, from freshly caught fish to the famous Mal Burger. Good behaviour will get you privileges like free Wi-Fi, drench showers, plasma TVs and and even toiletries that are just begging to be nabbed by light-fingered guests. This is one hotel in Oxford city centre where you'll be happy to get a long stretch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing