We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding property and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding property and service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were visiting some friends in Oxford and had lunch in the brasserie. The old prison is amazing and the food / service excellent. Vikri was helpful and kind, very knowledgeable about the menu as well. We chose the pasta, sea bass and a burger and they were all delicious. When we asked reception if it was possible to have a look around, Sonna was kind enough to show us a former prison cell room and the original cell. When we visit Oxford again we'll definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,263
    912
    449
    205
    108
See reviews for
263
1,752
80
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were really attracted to this hotel due to its quirky location, we booked on the day we wanted to stay and consequently got a really good deal. Right from the moment we entered the hotel it felt plush and luxurious. The room was lovely and clean and had everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and attentive whenever we needed them. The breakfast choices were plentiful and of very high quality.
My one -small- criticism would be the pillows; I prefer a very firm pillow but the choice seemed to be only soft and extremely soft.

Room Tip: We stayed in the House of Correction which is an annex to the main hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

An excellent short break hotel . Wonderful room and fascinating hotel conversion. Staff are all excellent especially the bar staff who are very knowledgeable and a delight to talk with and receive superb cocktails from. Overall a faultless hotel break and well worth the expense.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Booked double room, then realised needed an extra bed so called back to change to a twin. On arrival there was a camp bed in our room, so I spent 2 excruciating nights trying to sleep, assuming this was the managements concept of a twin room. Finally had enough and complained to a very defensive and insolent staff member who tried to argue the point rather than hear me out. I retreated and talked to the duty manager later who apologised and give us our twin. Feel awful about the experience, not a restful break. The hotel in general is impressive enough but there is no complementary breakfast with the room charge, attention to detail (customer service etc) seems slack and I'm seriously not satisfied about this experience. Oh and there was a dodging wired plug in our replacement room, am I being too picky? So much for boutique hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Dave G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

The room booked via the expedia website was a standard double bed room, not a twin room. The hotel was full for the first two nights of your stay and we were unable to room move you at the expense of our other guests. The team did the best they could in the circumstances and placed an extra bed in your room - the team members you spoke with during your stay simply were trying to explain and accommodate you as best they could - given you had booked a double room though clearly were not satisfied with any solution presented. On the third night, when a twin room became available the duty manager upgraded you, free of charge in to a superior twin room.

I would also like to make the point that when you booked through expedia, there is an option to book a room only package or a bed and breakfast package. You chose and booked the room only package - thus breakfast was not included in your rate.

We receive a large amount of comments regarding the great customer service we provide. I am very proud of my team who continuously strive to improve and demonstrate a desire to go above and beyond our guests expectations where circumstances allow.

I will review the bedrooms you were placed in to identify the 'dodging wire', I am sorry for this oversight.

If you would like to discuss this further I would be pleased to hear from you, my email is pwatson@malmaison.com

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Booked the c wing suite for a bday. The suite was amazing with exposed brick work, king size bed, double shower and feature bath with many other original features. The brasserie was exquisite topped off by impeccable service from waitress Valerie who gave complimentary bday drinks and a taster dessert brought to our suite. Would totally recommend staying in a suite at malmaison everything was perfect and staff went above and beyond to make it a memorable experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Andy A,

Thanks for the great review - I will ensure this is shared with the team, particularly your waitress Valerie who will be delighted with the comments.

Warm Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As newly weds this spur of the moment booking was an apt ending to our minimoon before we both had to head back to work and reality. As soon as we arrived we were warmly greeted by the reception staff, Nora and Amy, welcoming and genuine. What's more, when my husband of two days teased me for using my maiden name to make the booking, unbeknown to us, we were being swiftly upgraded to one of their more spectacular rooms, with a couple of complimetary cocktails to boot. As we made our way up to out room in the old wing of the ex-prison (thanks Amy for all the info, very interesting) we were bowled over by the building and it's history. And when we got to our room! Well, we were just blown away...thankfully made up of 3 cells, not one! After I had done a little tour and a happy dance, we quickly headed up to the roof terrace bar, so as to catch the last of the setting sun. Sipping mojitos while lazing on beanbags in the grassy chill out area, barefoot, watching the sun go down was just what we needed after a long day's driving. Our only regret is not staying for longer than one night, to have enjoyed not only the hotel even more, but Oxford too. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelaloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Kelaloca,

Congratulations on getting hitched - what better place to spend the early part of your marriage being locked up together!

I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the team will be delighted reading your comments about the service.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon for your first anniversary.

Warm Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay was quite nice!
The hotel staff were all wonderful and helpful.
The room was very large, made from 3 of the original Oxford castle prison cells. The bathroom was huge, there was a fully stocked bar and our bed was comfortable!

The hotel is within walking distance from just about everything, including the train station. The Oxford castle is right next to the hotel & you even get a discount!

The stay was a bit pricy, but it's a boutique hotel, they're going to be. If you want cheap & ordinary this place isn't for you.
For me it was worth every penny!

The only down side to my stay was it was a bit warm, and we couldn't open our window.
Not unbearably warm, just not quite at my personal comfort temperature.

All in all, I loved Oxford & would stay at the hotel again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Will S,

Thanks for your great review. I was particularly pleased to read your comments about the team who will be delighted to read this. We have a wonderful hotel that we are very proud of and grateful that you chose to stay with us.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Property: Malmaison Oxford Castle
Address: 3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're tired of doing hard time in run-of-the-mill hotels, it's a completely different story at our former gaol, Malmaison Oxford. Instead sip the coolest cocktails in the free world at MALBAR and enjoy an eclectic mix of classic dishes with a twist at the Brasserie, from freshly caught fish to the famous Mal Burger. Good behaviour will get you privileges like free Wi-Fi, drench showers, plasma TVs and and even toiletries that are just begging to be nabbed by light-fingered guests. This is one hotel in Oxford city centre where you'll be happy to get a long stretch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing