We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Tower House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower House
Ranked #19 of 80 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The owner was very pleasant and accommodating. We were able to use the spare bedroom to change (as we arrived before check in) and were able to store luggage until late the next day. I was impressed with the rooms modern facilities given the size and age of the house. There was also a good selection for breakfast (continental).
Enjoyed stay!

Room Tip: The shared bathroom was clean, but small. It is worth the upgrade to the en-suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    94
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
26
86
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and occupied 4 of their rooms with our friends.
Everyting was as advertised and our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Your go back hundreds of years but still enjoy modern comfort. Best not to be too tall but authenticity comes at a price.
Clean rooms, no minibars, good TV and clean fresh showers. There is just room for one person and you would not want to be on the large side. If you are, wake up and get on a well needed diet!!!
Continental breakfast is good but make sure you are early as it gets crowded.
I would not dream of staying anywhere else when we go back, it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKguest_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Last minute trip to Oxford meant hotel bent to accommodate us, a good nights sleep, great location, clean, friendly, lots of character, good value and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Came for a weekend to see what the boy was up to in Oxford. Tower House was great. Central and easy to be in and out of and explore or meet up. It wasn't perfect in a plastic generic way but it was very reasonable in price compared with others in the city. The welcome was warm as were the staff through the whole time. Very convenient, quaint and please don't use it as we want to get back there as soon as possible!

Room Tip: En suite is the only way, apparently you can share, but why?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mingthemeciless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We celebrated NYE in the Tower House and stayed for 2 nights. We had a very good time and enjoyed 2 good nights of undisturbed sleep. Location is ideal, close to all shops, colleges and musea in Oxford. Breakfast was very good and much better than the typical continental we often got elsewhere. We were served fresh croissants and toasts, and this on New Years Day! The owners are both nice and friendly people, concerned about their guests. It takes some fine tuning to get the shower on a good temperature, but we eventually found out how. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: quite steep stairs so choose a room downstairs if you might have problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioRCVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I've just spent two days being an anxious parent while my daughter has been having interviews at an Oxford College. I was so relieved to receive such a warm welcome, despite arriving at this Guest House very early in the morning, well before the usual check-in time. My room was very comfortable and had everything I needed - fast broadband, a satellite TV and a well stocked tea tray. This all proved to be ideal. Being so centrally located just behind the High Street, I could drop off any shopping or simply take short breaks between fighting the Christmas crowds. I actually felt as if I had my own house bang in the centre of Oxford and it was brilliant!

This is a very old house in the centre of a very old town, but I prefer 'quaint and friendly' to 'spartan and executive' (and miles away!). The price of a room in the Tower Hotel seems entirely reasonable to me, especially considering the location. I reckon the rooms could all do with a lick of paint, but I've paid much more for a similar, very dingy room at the Randolph. Depending on the outcome of the aforementioned interview, I hope to be making many more visits to the Tower to soak up that authentic 'Oxford' atmosphere.

Room Tip: The Red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantismandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We spent two nights at the Tower House (Jade Room) and it was just what we were promised and wanted. We heard no noise, but didn't have windows open. Great to pop-in and pop-out during the days of sightseeing. The room was clean, breakfast was not cooked but did have fresh warm bread and coffee. This is a 700 year old building with lots of charm but simple. Oxford is so expensive that you either pay a lot or are on the edges of the town and for us being right near the "action" was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiTitusville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House

Property: Tower House
Address: 15 Ship Street, Oxford OX1 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House Hotel is a Sixteenth Century Guest House, situated on a quiet street in the heart of Oxford city centre. Oxford is a delightful city, famous for its dreaming spires, ancient University colleges and beautiful architecture. The hotel is two minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions. The Hotel has eight unique rooms, each one is individually designed and furnished with period antiques. The hotel is steeped in history, the bastion of the medieval city walls form part of the dining room and the front of the hotel overlooks Jesus College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing