We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character Hotel but Over Priced!”
Review of Tower House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tower House
Ranked #22 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a quaint B&B right in the heart of Oxford. It is the perfect location to explore the city on foot however we had a room at the front which was noisy with passers by well into the night.

Our room was an ensuite double room right at the top of the building. The narrow staircase made it difficult to bring up the luggage. The room and ensuite were basic but clean. The bed was very comfortable.

The proprietors were very nice and friendly.

Unfortunately I have to list he negatives. Our room ceiling was exceptionally low which was terrible for my husband at 6'4". The shower had no power whatsoever and wasnt exactly warm. The bathroom was so small only one person could be in there at a time.

Breakfast was only continental so we opted to miss it and go in search of a full english at one of the many Oxford cafes.

To sum up this is a nice guest house and very central however I feel the £110 per night was a bit over the top for what we got. I would have felt happier paying £80 per night. My advice would be to shop around as there are plenty of nicer hotels in Oxford in around the same price range especially if you take into account the continental breakfast offering and lack of parking. By the time you pay in a cafe for a full Englsh and add in the cost of parking there are much nicer options for the price.

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the back as hopefully it would be quieter and not on the top floor if you have lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

First night in the UK could not have been better. Good English character (and by that I mean kind, helpful, and understanding) and comfortable furnishings. The proprietor was at the door when I arrived and allowed me to stash my stuff a couple hours early (I arrived two hours before my check-in time) and gave me advice on everything from where to park, to how to deal with bus drivers, and things to do in Oxford.

The location was outstanding too. It was Saturday, and everything was close by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyGuyFromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night and had a wonderful time. We were allowed to check in early morning Saturday which was a bonus as we could leave our luggage whilst taking in the sights of Oxford during the day. The location is second to none and perfect for popping to the shops, visiting the restaurants on George Street at night, or exploring the university buildings.
Our room had huge amounts of character situated in the tower of the old town wall. It was extremely clean and had all the basics and provided a great place to relax at the end of the day with a good quality TV and high speed wifi.
The owner was very friendly and welcoming and we were provided with our own key to come and go as we pleased. It is a very informal set up but that suited us perfectly. There was a continental breakfast available until 9.30 which we missed unfortunately but the little dining room was warm and inviting and it's a shame we missed out. Would definitely stay there again, what a charming little place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonAvA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A nice place to stay.

Had to go to Oxford for a work trip and stayed in the Jade Room.

The chap running the B and B was a gentleman. I discovered that the dry-cleaner had made a right mess of my suit and asked for an iron. The gent running the place, got his steamer out and saved the day! Above and beyond.

Also, he allowed me to keep my bags in his the B and B the day after checking out, so that I could go and explore Oxford without them. And even returned me my train pass that I'd left in my room.

Basically, I'm a bit useless, but the Tower House was great! And Oxford is lovely.

Edward

Room Tip: The jade room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night in October 2012.

Some facts:

1. The location is unbeatable and you can't get more central than this. HOWEVER:
2. We paid £80 a night for a room that was so tiny you could barely move in it. We had to get ready for a wedding in here. So small the kettle and tea/coffee facilities, on a high shelf, could only be reached by standing on the edge of the bed and balancing...
3. For this price, I expected a cooked breakfast. All that was on offer was toast, warm yogurt, a few boxes of cereal, croissants on request, and some rather stale-looking ham
4. The carpets are really very grubby and worn
5. The paint is peeling from all of the walls, most notably in the shared shower room, where a flake landed on my head mid-wash. The water pressure left a lot to be desired too, and by late evening there was barely any hot water remaining.
6. The heating was not on at night, and even in the day was very weak. As such, I was really cold throughout our stay.
7. The greeting was far from warm. We were welcomed by the female manager who ranted at us for five minutes about guests using the wrong key and warned us not to make her pick it out of the lock. She did not welcome us, just complained about how much of a pain all of her other guests are. We met Wayne at breakfast on the Sunday and although he was nicer, we couldn't help feeling our request for toast was an inconvenience to him too.
8. The Tower House Hotel is extremely overpriced and it is clear why. People will continue to stay due to the excellent location, and as such the owners need do nothing other than change the beds and take the money to keep their business running.


In short, if you can put up with all of the above to be right in the centre of Oxford, then it is fine and does have a certain historical charm if you can see past peeling paint and grubby walls. I would rather walk ten minutes and stay somewhere warm and clean with a nice welcome.

Room Tip: Ask when booking, if you do book, what size your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJ0nesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Our room was facing the street, and we were repeatedly woken up during the night by people shouting (pubs and restaurants are nearby). The ensuite bathroom was barely adequate: the shower had low water pressure, and the bathroom was very small with a low ceiling.

This is an overpriced Bed & Breakfast, and I would not recommend it. The only good thing is the central location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LMJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a couple of days at the Tower House recently and had a lovely stay. The hotel has a great central location. The room was very nice, a good size, clean and well kept with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on.

The breakfast was good and the hotel staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. We would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0 mi away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#21 of 85 in Oxford
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oxford Townhouse
The Oxford Townhouse
#3 of 85 in Oxford
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
George Street Hotel
George Street Hotel
#61 of 85 in Oxford
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 85 in Oxford
179 reviews
1 mi away
St Margarets Hotel
St Margarets Hotel
#24 of 85 in Oxford
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House

Address: 15 Ship Street, Oxford OX1 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £98 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House Hotel is a Sixteenth Century Guest House, situated on a quiet street in the heart of Oxford city centre. Oxford is a delightful city, famous for its dreaming spires, ancient University colleges and beautiful architecture. The hotel is two minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions. The Hotel has eight unique rooms, each one is individually designed and furnished with period antiques. The hotel is steeped in history, the bastion of the medieval city walls form part of the dining room and the front of the hotel overlooks Jesus College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing