We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and interactive”
Review of Museum of Oxford

Museum of Oxford
Ranked #81 of 183 things to do in Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Explore Oxford, at the Museum of Oxford, presents the city's past and present in two very different spaces. Exploring the past, visitors can have a look around a Victorian Office and see how the city has developed over the past 3000 years. Continuing into the second space, visitors can take a virtual high-speed bike ride around the city. You can look and read about a variety of different characters from Oxford's past and how industry, entertainment, work and invention have shaped the city we see today. There is much more to the Museum of Oxford than Explore Oxford though. With a host of changing exhibitions in our Gallery, a variety of events ranging from live music to comedy in The Old Museum, family activities and fun throughout the year and an accessible and extensive community programme. There are also lots of ways to get involved with the Museum of Oxford through volunteering.
Reviewed 26 May 2013

You can go on an interactive informative tour of Oxford, which is really fascinating and the displays are also very interesting and well presented. Really worthwhile and free.

Thank Elisheva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumOfOxford, General Manager at Museum of Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Elisheva,
Thank you so much for coming to the Museum of Oxford's Explore Oxford galleries! We are over the moon that you enjoyed our exhibition and partiuclarly our interactive bike ride which is a fantastic way to explore the city of Oxford and find out places that you may want to visit. Please do visit again and tell all of your friends.
Many thanks
The Museum of Oxford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

It is difficult to find anything other than the university's in Oxford's history. The town has seen some fantastic historical events, from the Civil war where King Charles moved parliament to Oxford, through to Lord Nuffield's creation of a car building empire, with things such as the first 4 minute mile and how the town came to be, with its castle and city walls. Staff very helpful. Its not a very big place, so you get more of a taster, as well as a look inside the town hall.Usually something interactive is on for the kids.

Thank ferretsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumOfOxford, Manager at Museum of Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Ferretsfriend
Thank you so much for your comments! Indeed, we are small at the moment but as you say it is a taster of Oxford's history and what we hope is to come when we can expand the museum. We will also have lots on for families in the future too, so keep checking back with us.
Many thanks for your comments and please do visit again
The Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I think Lisa S says it all below. Oxford has an amazing history behind it - this museum doesn't do it justice. I think the gift shop is bigger than the 2 dedicated rooms. And that didn't even stock Oxford items - you can read about Frank Cooper's marmalade but the shop only sells the generic tourist shop 'traffic jam' that you find in any gift shop around the UK.

1  Thank IndiaGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumOfOxford, Manager at Museum of Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear IndiaGray,
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We do agree with you that Oxford has a huge and varied history that should be celebrated. Explore Oxford is really a taster of things to come, with a museum expansion being on the horizon! However, we do feel that Explore Oxford allows visitors to learn about aspects of Oxford's history no other museum does; where else would you get information on the Morris car industry next to Roman pottery? As for our gift shop, we do regularly stock Frank Coopers marmalade, but sometimes it does sell out due to its popularity! We also stock many arts and crafts made by local Oxford people, so please do give us a second chance and visit again.
Many thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We love it here. It is a small and quaint museum which offers lots of different events and work shop type events for children throughout the year.

Thank kenyantrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumOfOxford, Manager at Museum of Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Kenyantrains
Many thanks for the kind comments! Keep looking at our website for info on more events. For example we have a great family day on both the 29th and 30th of May about Ancient Artists. So make sure you pop along to the museum between 1 and 4pm on those days and we'll look forward to seeing you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

For a city with such a varied and important history this 'museum' is a huge let-down. It's two rooms in the corner of the town hall with a few dreary items in cabinets. It's rubbish! Give it a miss. The museums in Banbury and Woodstock are far more impressive.

1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumOfOxford, Manager at Museum of Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Lisa,
We're really sorry you were disappointed with our museum and we completely agree with you that Oxford does have a magnificent history and a varied story to tell. We have tried to offer a different interpretation in very limited space, focussing on the people and places of Oxford rather than a historical chronology and we are very proud of our achievements! I do have some good news, we are hoping to expand the museum, develop our collections and offer much more to the public. Explore Oxford is a taster of what we hope is to come!
Many thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Oxford also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Museum of Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing