We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Five Mile View Guest House
Ranked #17 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Made to feel welcome on arrival & found the place to be clean & tidy, if a little dated.
Car parking at the front & close to a bus stop, it is a good walk to the city & nearest pub to eat is in Summertown which is about a 20 minute walk.
Our only concern was that it is on a busy road & is thus quite noisy even at night.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back must be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I guessed from the map that I could walk in and out to Oxford centre but it's a bit of a way, however I didn't have to wait more than 2 minutes as there are endless buses taking tourists and students etc in and out
I arrived very early and was shown to a pretty bright and airy twin room overlooking the garden
the room was spotless and there was plenty of tea coffe and most importanty-milk. too often a place provides just two or three pots of milk, I had eight, as I take 2 pots in each cup I was able to indulge as much as I wanted, it may be a small point but when you really need a cup of tea and you've finished your milk it can make you grumpy (and there were biscuits in the room too)
as to breakfast there is plenty of choice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, pastries then the full cooked, tea, coffe and toast, all you want
towels changed daily
the lady who runs it is very friendly and gave me advice re buses (bus stop a minute's walk)
some colleagues paid more than twice what I did for their room nearer to town (but not much) so this is a definite find

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank babetteGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for a 3 night mini-break. The location is fab right next to bus stops for the city and only a mile or so from Summertown which has nice shops and restaurants - note there aren't any of these directly near the B&B but the buses are every 10 minutes so no problem. Parking is right outside, the room was clean and tidy and the owner friendly. Breakfast was very nice too.

Our room was very warm and the road noise meant opening the window was annoying, but the owner had kindly provided a fan which was very welcome.

Coming from the north of England I expect a little more for my money but I understand that for Oxford the price of this establishment was very reasonable!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank John_CL9684IU
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The room was very spacious, comfortable and pristine. We had clean towels every day. The room had access to the back garden. A mini fridge in the room was a definite plus. The bathroom though comfortable, the wash basin was small.

The breakfast was amazing with a choice of full English, continental pastries, cereal, fresh fruit and juice.

The land lady was very accommodating with regard to check in/out times, room preferences, luggage storage etc. I would definitely stay there again and I recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Room to the back on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zen364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here when visiting someone who is a student and lives in Summertown. It was a perfect location especially as the bus route is right outside and they are frequent taking you straight into Oxford through Summertown. The owner was really helpful allowing us to leave our car from Friday morning to Monday afternoon. The rooms are a little old fashioned but the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and served with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Room overlooking the street was rather hot, kind of plain. Breakfast was good. Straight bus ride into downtown Oxford and sufficient off-street parking so we could drive into the country (Blenheim Palace, the Cotwolds). Good talk with other guests, visiting scholars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
3.9 mi away
Browns
Browns
#55 of 85 in Oxford
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#19 of 85 in Oxford
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 85 in Oxford
109 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#16 of 85 in Oxford
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Mile View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Mile View Guest House

Address: 528 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £69 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Mile View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 5 Mile View where we offer the warmest of welcomes, a friendly atmosphere and relaxing comfortable rooms from which to base yourself and sample the delights of historic Oxford and the beautiful surrounding areas. We are located in North Oxford on one of the main bus routes into the city centre, near to Summbertown shopping parade, with lively bars, restaurants and exclusive shops, including M & S. We offer fully en-suite bedrooms with complimenatary refreshment trays, off-road parking and a choice of hearty breakfasts, including a vegetarian option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Five Mile View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing