We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for what it is” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rewley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rewley House
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good value for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

It might be misleading to describe Rewley House as a hotel, because it is basically a very comfortable hostel designed primarily for people taking short courses of one sort or another. It is also much used by academics who need to spend a few days in Oxford on research projects and so on. The accommodation varies as to how modern the rooms are but all have either ensuite facilities or a private bathroom next door for one's exclusive use. There is a television in each room and tea and coffee-making facilities. I was very impressed by the friendly and helpful receptionists, who responded quickly to my concerns. I had no trouble with the wi-fi; you need to ask for a special code to make it work. The breakfast was excellent- plenty of choice of hot items and good sausages (always something to notice) with a variety of pastries, toast, cereal and fruit etc. It's particularly convenient for Gloucester Green bus station and not too far from the rail station. A short walk brings you to the centre of Oxford and the Bodleian. If you are looking for the sort of hotel that has a lounge bar and leisure facilities such as a sauna, this isn't for you, but otherwise it's an ideal and inexpensive place to stay. Not surprisingly ,it gets booked up quickly. Unreservedly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    45
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
25
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

After having read some of the other reviews, I was worried but had little choice of where to stay.
However, I should never have been worried. The location is great, but the room was brilliant. Could not fault it for anything. Similar rooms at more "posh" hotels will cost you at least TWICE as much. Highly recommended. Wish I had known about the place earlier.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cityowl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this place run by Oxford University's Dept of Continuing Education. My room (deluxe double) was spacious and well maintained with a wonderful view overlooking Wellington Square. It is withing walking distance of both the train and bus station and all of the places I wanted to visit including colleges, shopping, and museums. Staff were friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the area. I will surely stay here the next time I visit Oxford. As I was starting an online course during this visit, I appreciated the desk and WiFi available to quest. Hearty breakfast is available but I did not eat there.

Room Tip: Book early as these rooms go quickly. Prices vary as well for rooms which are very basic student roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyT2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just to emphasise - Rewley House is not a hotel, it provides overnight accommodation with single/twin bedrooms having an en suite bathroom, and inclusive breakfast.

Rewley House provides education courses in Oxford and has accommodation at its site for residential short-stay students. As a result it sometimes has surplus capacity and hires these rooms out at the going rate, which was in the range £50-60 per night (May 2012).

Contact with the staff (keys pickup) is at the reception desk in the main entrance. Breakfast is also available in this building in the morning, from 8.00 onwards, which is a little late in my opinion ... a 7.30 start would let you eat then move your parked car (see below) !

The actual rooms are across the street, via a locked front street door and a lift to the top floor. Each room has a good lock and there is a basic kitchen on the corridor. The rooms are well heated and have an en suite bathroom with bath+shower attachment (which works well) plus loo and large handbaisin plus towel rails.

The bedroom area is fairly basic with a single wardrobe, desk+lamp, bedside table+lamp, digital TV and alarm clock/radio with either a single or twin beds, some rooms have a luggage cupboard too. Views from the sash window are over the Oxford skyline, quite picturesque if you have the right room !

The rooms also have Wifi (you need to ask for the login code from Reception) but it's only good enough for picking up simple email and looking at websites without login, due to the Wifi security interfering with logins - This Should Be Fixed !

There is no allocated car parking, however after 19.00 (please check times on ticket meter !!) you can park overnight in one of the metered parking zones (if you get a space), for a £2.50 all-night charge until 08.00 next morning - they are strict I believe so do stick to the times (and display your ticket in the car) ... or at your own risk. There are other multistorey carparks in Oxford, but onstreet is probably OK for your evening of arrival.

Did not sample breakfast due to parking timing but believe it's a 'continental' ie. cereal plus toast/fruit and tea/coffee.

Location is excellent for tourists on foot, also business travellers who arrive after 19.00 and depart before 08.00. You can easily walk to all central University (and Morse!) locations.

Reception staff are knowledgeable and friendly.

Caution - if you are driving through Oxford beware of High Street (and some others), it's a Bus Lane during the day (up till 19.00?) and being caught driving there by the cameras will result in a penalty. Check road signs on approach and turn round if unsure.

Room Tip: Phone well in advance to get best prices and verify availability, if they are running courses that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked Rewley House for 1 night stay for 3 people after our shopping trip to Bicester Village. It was easy to find and we managed to park the car right outside on the street, (£2.50 over night) although I think this was only possible because it was during the August holidays.
As it is part of one of the colleges, the standard of accommodation is a bit dated, but good, clean & acceptable for the price.
Breakfast was good value at £6.50 for cooked breakfast buffet, plenty of choice.
We made a last minute change to our booking before our arrival, which was easily done. Check in was quick and easy.
Over all, if you are visiting the Oxford area on a budget, I would strongly recomment Rewley House.

Room Tip: When booking multiple rooms, specify if you want them next to each other because much of the accomod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

It seemed a bargain price (on laterooms) for a one night stay in a flat (previously known as the Fellow's flat) which we knew had a large twin bedroom, kitchen/living room and bathroom... and which would be a find for a family staying in the centre of Oxford.

The flat was used as a Fellow's flat before the associated college moved to Banbury road and it looks like it hasnt had any maintenance since then - although the solid bedroom furniture has been replaced by small lightweight furniture. There is not quite enough room on the table in the bedroom to write when there was before.

Everything is basic and appeared clean but we were a little put off to see the extra blankets stored in the top of cupboards in Oxford City refuse bags(stamped with the name) which we could see clearly through the missing doors.


The major catch is that the cleaners start cleaning outside your room in the middle of the night (2.30am- 3.30am) and once we got over the shock (and we got no refund because this is when they do it) and found out that the noise wasnt a burglar.....we struggled to get back to sleep. We gave up when one of us turned over and smelt something awful on the pillow case.

Room Tip: dont book the Fellow's flat unless you can cope with being disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripvisitorold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I organised a stag party to Oxford and used this accommodation. Having made many changes to my reservation I was extremely pleased with how friendly, organised and accommodating to this.

Check in and check out were both extremely easy process.

The accommodation is made up off several housed located around the square near to Rewley House, I stayed in Room 1, number 9. The room was adequate, clean and functional - exactly what I required for the weekend. Don't come here if you expect luxury.

The location for this accommodation is fantastic, in the heart of Oxford University, a short stroll to the City centre and all that has to offer.

The price is also great at £80 for a twin, I think that is extremely reasonable.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbob317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rewley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rewley House

Property: Rewley House
Address: Rewley House 1 Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rewley House 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rewley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rewley House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing