We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical accommodation for sightseeing”
Review of Heather House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heather House
Ranked #7 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2009

My wife and I, over age 60, stayed at 5 B&Bs during our 3 weeks to see London, Bath, The Cotswolds, Oxford, Lake District, and York by train and public transportation. Arriving by train and not familiar with the town, we took a taxi to Heather House. We received a warm welcome by Vivian who provided us with all the information, town map and advice needed to orient us and make necessary connections during our 2 night stay.
We enjoyed the easy access to the computer, the 15 min. walk to town and the frequent optional bus. Our ensuite double was plainly furnished, a bit small, but clean and tidy. Not much view. The breakfast was adequate and served by a staff member in the simple breakfast room. We spent so much time sightseeing we did not take advantage of the nice morning room. On departing, with Vivian’s guidance, we took the bus back to the train station. At 76BP per night, we found Heather House to provide economical accommodation for our sightseeing needs.
While in Oxford we enjoyed evensong at Christ Church Cathedral, the informative city walking tour of the college, the views from the spire of St. Mary’s Church, lunch at the Eagle & Child, seeing Blenheim Place, and attending Saturday vespers at the Orthodox Church of the Annunciation at 1 Canterbury Road.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnAnnColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

The rooms and food were very great. Only a short walk (15 mins) to the centre of Oxford. We got a bus on the first day and then realised it really wasn't worth it and an easy walk.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewMaldenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I stayed in one of the self-catering apartments available through Heather House, and Vivian was an absolute dream to work with on arranging the stay, and in getting me and my mother (who was with me for one of the four weeks I was there) situated with transportation and a map and directions to everything we'd need - restaurants, the grocery stores, the bus stops, and so on - on our day of arrival. Heather House itself feels very much like an Oxford home - a morning room with a full library of books for visitors to read, comfy couch and chairs, big windows, very welcoming. The breakfast room was clean and well-appointed, but I cannot speak to the food as we had an apartment with a kitchen next door. The self-catering apartments are *very* well appointed - you'll want for nothing! - and there are flat-screen televisions. Very comfortable, clean, well-kept, modern furniture. The housekeeper comes regularly and does an excellent job. The bus stop to City Center is barely a two-minute walk (if that), and to walk into City Center wouldn't take too long - I think we did it in about 20 minutes, and my mother was walking quite slow as she was recovering from a broken hip.

There is nothing to find fault with here in my experience - very nice accommodations at a price affordable to scholars and travelers who would rather spend their pounds and pence at Blackwell's than on a pricey hotel room that wouldn't be much nicer than the cozy rooms of Heather House. Plus, those places don't have Vivian - who is worth her weight in gold. I am hoping to be back for a visit someday soon. I loved Oxford.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcanamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Vivian was a welcoming hostess, even with our early arrival. She served tea and chatted with us as our room was being readied. Outside our room was a computer with free access. One of the few B and Bs I have stayed in with 2 towel bars, nice size bathroom. Very nice breakfast and breakfast room. Great location to walk to the High Street in Oxford, about 12 minutes, and also very close to the bus stops. Would certainly stay again for future trips to Oxford. Vivian even called for our taxi when we left.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglophile82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This is a nice Arts & Crafts house in the Iffley Road, with a friendly owner who checked needs in advance and was able to be flexible about us arriving early for an event in Oxford and leaving our luggage & car. The room was clean and comfortable, no complaints at all. Having had a really bad experience in another establishment in the same street (yes, THAT one) it was lovely to find that the Iffley Road is not after all a no go area. This one is a bit more expensive but worth every penny, and it is still reasonably priced for Oxford, which is not the easiest place in which to find accommodation, especially with a child (children don't seem to be welcome in many places in Oxford). The guest house is about 10 minutes walk from Magdalen Bridge in one direction and a walkable distance from Folly Bridge in the other, and is on a regular bus route. Pleased to have found Heather House, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

The welcome we got at Heather House after our long trip from L.A. went a long way in helping our recovery. Our room was available on our arrival (via the Oxford Bus Company, a great way to travel from Heathrow) and we were able to settle into the pace of Oxford. The house is an easy and pleasant walk into the centre of Oxford and we found some great pubs to eat at. Don't expect huge rooms, the house is typical of its era, and the rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Vivienne is a gracious, knowledgable and experienced hostess. There is a roomy lounge full of local brochures and flyers - or just ask Vivienne.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAGreat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Good beds, clean rooms, decent breakfast. Street noise is very acceptable.
Walking distance from restaurants/bars in Cowley Road. Free parking in front of the house.
Lounge room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oxford Townhouse
The Oxford Townhouse
#3 of 85 in Oxford
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#18 of 85 in Oxford
223 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sabine Barn B&B
Sabine Barn B&B
#6 of 85 in Oxford
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather House

Address: 192 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heather House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heather House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing