We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remont Oxford, Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Remont Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We recently stayed at the Remont for an overnight in Oxford. We were very pleased with the condition of the room and particularly the bathroom. The rooms are very nice and clean and the bathroom was spotless. The woman taking care of the front desk was lovely - extremely friedly and accomodating. Breakfast was very nice and served in a brand new, bright breakfast room. The location is very good with easy access to the bus or a cheap cab ride to City Centre. We would also highly reccommend the Trout Inn for a meal. It is not really near the Remont but extremely great food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMA321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2008

Just returned from 4 nights at The Remont and what a wonderful happy stay it was.

The 2 houses are very cleverly linked around a beautiful sunny, rear courtyard garden.

Our room was large with a King bed, leather couch and an ensuite bathroom. We had views over the garden.

The entire house is so clean it was a pleasure to be there.

Breakfast is served in a light, bright minimalist room from a fresh buffet. Eggs etc are cooked in small batches so they are not rock hard or dry. The staff are lovely.

In the entry foyer there is a computer for guest use free of charge and although there is are no outside calls from guest rooms there is a pay telephone in the guest lounge for your phone card calls.

We dined every evening at Summertown just a 7 minute walk and our favourite restaurant was Cibo. We also wined at the Summertown Wine Cafe in South Parade each night before dining.

Banbury Road is a busy road and it is wise to book early and request a back room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lovelife46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

when we pulled up to see our booked hotel was two houses our hearts sunk, prefering boutique style hotels, but how wrong were we!!! what a lovely hotel!
Really nice public area's, and our superior room was a really good size, quality furnishings, good sized bed, and nice bathroom, with thick fluffy towels, and all very stylish.
we went down the road for a curry (recommended in hotel information pack) and it was the nicest we'd had in ages, and not far to walk.
the breakfast in the morning was everything you would expect, but all cooked well, with plenty of choice.
All in all, a really nice clean friendly hotel, fab for a bit of a treat or great if the expenses run that far!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sandstone1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Stayed here last month to see a gig at the Carling Academy. After having stayed in a different hotel earlier in the month in Oxford, I was dreading a second stay in Oxford. I have to say, I was thrilled with this place. CLEAN. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. It is important to stress that Remont isn't a hotel, so don't expect to be able to sit down to an evening meal here or sit at a bar for that matter. This didn't turn out to be a problem though as you can walk to some decent places in about 10 minutes or so. easy access to the city center by bus. We even decided to nip to Bicester Village the next day. Took us 20 Minutes by car. If I come back to Oxford, I know where I'm staying! Oh yes, the breakfast was fab!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Nevillish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This B&B off main road in North Oxford is perfectly decent. Good location for the city. But it lacks any character - probably due to the Ikea fit furniture. Rooms were clean, but not large. Breakfast was very nice and staff attentive. We picked this because it ranked so well on tripadvisor. If you want a good base for the city, it's probably sufficient. If you want anything more, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Review_Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

My first impressions on seeing this hotel from the outside was to think how non descript it looked. You could easily drive past on the busy main road that it is situated on without really noticing it. It looks like a large white house that has probably been extended over the years to incorporate all its 25 rooms.

On entering the reception I was slightly taken aback at being asked to pay before we had even so much as seen the room. I’m normally used to paying when departing, but we needed to stay there so pay we did. We cycled to this hotel and were able to store our bikes in the garden at the back which made us feel more comfortable about their security.

Although quite characterless from the outside, the Remont is spotlessly clean and tidy within. There are works of art hanging on the walls of the reception, the corridors and in the dining area. The reception also has a computer which people can use to access the internet. The room itself like the rest of the hotel was neat, clean and tidy. There was a flat screen TV with all the Freeview channels on and the usual tea and coffee facilities. Our particular room was in the corner of the building and had two windows looking out to the side street and the busy main road.

The bathroom in keeping with the rest of the hotel was clean and fitted to a high standard. Unfortunately it never had a window in it which meant that we had to listen to the whirring extractor fan going on long after leaving the bathroom. Breakfast was served in a very modern looking room with views on to the garden at the rear. This was a bright room with modern furniture and a tiled floor, again all looked new and clean and was perfectly pleasant. The food was self service which I don’t mind as you can choose what you want and come and go as you please. There was a good selection of cereals and full English breakfast as well. All served with tea, coffee and different juices.

Overall there is not much to complain about with this hotel. Its functional, well kept and orderly. It aims to be contemporary and modern and it does fulfil that aspect to the detriment of having any real character. One downside is the lack of facilities nearby. We ended up catching the bus into Oxford city centre as there wasn’t a great deal of bars near to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

I’ve just spent two wonderful days at Remont with my friend. I was impressed by its modern style and cleanliness. Unlike other B&B I have stayed in I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms at Remont were uncluttered and fresh looking. They even had electronic swipe locks on the door which was a nice touch. The breakfast experience was better than many hotels we had previously stayed in. We had many options to choose from as it was both full English and continental. We particularly liked the mushrooms and the fresh fruit salad on offer.

The reception staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs as we were not familiar with Oxford. They were kind enough to recommend two restaurants, both of which were excellent choices (Trout Inn and Spice Lounge).

I was a little worried about staying in a Hotel away from city centre, but was happy to find it was only 10 minutes by bus.

We would definitely come back to Remont as we plan to next visit Bicester village outlet shopping stores, which the receptionist said is some 15 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ojuprr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 45 in Oxford
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 45 in Oxford
690 reviews
2.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
770 reviews
5.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remont Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remont Oxford Hotel

Address: 367 Banbury Road | Remont, Oxford OX2 7PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#4 Business Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £89 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remont Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated boutique styled accommodation in the picturesque city of Oxford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Remont Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remont Hotel Oxford
Remont Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing