We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B not far from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Remont Oxford Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great B&B not far from city center”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My son and I stayed at the Remont last week from Friday until Tuesday - June 27 - July 1. The Remont is located to the north of Oxford city center in the area called Summertown .Summertown is easily accessible to city center by bus that is a short walk from the Remont. Summertown has great restaurants and bistros as well.
From the moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly and welcomed. Silvia was on the desk when we arrived. She was very helpful. Our room # 25 was in the second building downstairs and over looked the beautiful garden. The weather was delightful and we kept the windows open at night. Room 25 has 2 twin beds and en suite bath. It is very spacious.
The breakfast was great and quite filling. The Remont is a wonderful find and we chose to stay here entirely off of the tripadvisor reviews.

Room Tip: I like #25 downstairs in 2nd building over looks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOT813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    249
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
126
360
40
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunner1
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for one night as we were visiting Blenheim Palace and the flower show. it's a large b&b, so has the friendly welcome of a small b&b with the luxury of a hotel. The lady who greeted is was really helpful and gave us all the info we needed and helped us with our bags to the room (on the top floor).

it was a really sunny weekend so I was pleased to see there was an aircon unit, but it want super efficient - noisy and not cold enough. but I suspect this is only an issue a few weeks in the year! with the window open at night instead i managed to get a reasonable night sleep. there were 3 of us in the triple room and there was plenty of space. one of the group was pregnant so the heat was a bit of a problem, plus getting in and out of the shower, which was quite small and had a sloping wall so not took much room. the others had no problems with it though.

the room and bathroom were very clean. and the hairdryer was decent - not always the case in hotels when you often get a useless travel one!

Finally breakfast was really yummy. full English with all he trimmings, plus fruit, pastries, toast, cereal. we were running a little late a didn't get the chance to explore all of these options!!

overall I was really pleased with the rooms and service and would recommend to others. good location too for oxford and the palace. loads of lovely restaurants near by too - who h we visited on the advice of the lady who checked us in (I can't remember her name!).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunner136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms, one decently sized, the other a little small. Prices are average for Oxford, where accommodations are at a premium.

As soon as we walked in, I noticed a strange smell that I still cannot identify. It persisted in all public areas during our stay. It was vaguely offputting, enough that I would not return.

Note that the hotel is about three miles north of the city center. While that may not sound like much, it took me 45 minutes to get to a college reunion at 6 pm, with the caveat that that's rush hour.

Breakfast was included and quite good. The breakfast area is bright and pleasant.

I needed to iron a shirt and was quickly provided with an iron with no steam functionality and a basic ironing board designed for those four feet and shorter. In a pinch, it did the trick.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ibcgg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a find !! After staying near Oxford last year , visiting our son , we were disappointed with the b & bs and the hotel prices can be extortionate . The remont has been a real pleasure to stay in, the price is very reasonable and a10 minute bus ride gets you straight into the city centre, with regular public transport running past the hotel. The remont is a great boutique hotel, spotlessly clean inside and out with a lovely rear garden to relax in. The staff are very attentive a friendly, serving a perfectly good breakfast range. We were so impressed we extended our stay. Will definitely return , well done all !!

Room Tip: Room 27 is very spacious !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NortheastMrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having stayed at The Remont 4 years ago and been impressed with it; on returning to Oxford this summer we decided to make a return visit. On this occasion we stayed in a superior room which had a fabulously comfy super king size bed, sofa, complimentary Blenheim Palace water along with tea / coffee and biscuits. The en suite was a lovely size with bath and overhead shower.
The Remont is positioned at the far end of Banbury Road with good parking and offers access to Bicester, Wolvercote and Blenheim; whilst also being accessible for the centre of Oxford; there is a bus stop across the road and these run regularly. Breakfast at The Remont is buffet style and there is something for everyone from the full English to croissants, fruit and toast. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and The Remont is clean and tidy.
Although The Remont does not provide evening meal, the hotel is near to Summertown and there are an array of convenience shops and small restaurants from which food can be purchased.
The Remont is reasonably priced and is a lovely place to stay in Oxford.

Room Tip: Room 27 is a superior room at the back which is quiet and looks onto The Remont garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catandmousecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was an amazing stay, the staff were really attentive and the breakfast was amazing. I really loved this because, well the rooms were pristine and neat.
So glad I stayed here, this trip was amazing and the rooms were miraculous

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, because we were 3 we got the attic room number 20. It was spacious, but the you had to mind your head with the shower and on the left side of the bed. Because of the attic and it was a warm week, it was very hot in the room. The only AC they had was one of those portable noisy ones. Other than that, clean and comfortable, parking available, bus stop close by what reminds me that they 're on a very busy road and as we had to sleep with all the windows open to cool it down. So if they have rooms in the back, better. Breakfast was very good. Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Malveiradaserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
5.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
330 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remont Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remont Oxford Hotel

Property: Remont Oxford Hotel
Address: 367 Banbury Road | remont, Oxford OX2 7PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Business Hotel in Oxford
#8 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Remont Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated boutique styled accommodation in the picturesque city of Oxford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Remont Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remont Hotel Oxford
Remont Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing