We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and family friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zheng Restaurant

Zheng Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 627 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: ' Possibly The Authentic Chinese-Malaysian In The Country' THE TIMES - Giles Coren
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and family friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nasi Lemak is the popular dish and you won't be disappointed. If you can't make up your mind which dish to choose, then let Adam choose the best combination of dishes for you. Superb!

The staff and the environment is very family friendly, great for us, a family with an active toddler.

Overall great dining experience and we are definitely one of their frequent customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    139
    42
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Malaysian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

As my parents are from Malaysia, I'm always on the lookout for good food from my ancestral home. I had been disappointed by the other options in Oxford, but was pleasantly surprised by the excellent Malaysian cuisine at Zheng. I had the Nasi Lemak and Chicken Satay, and for those who haven't had the pleasure of having these done authentically in the Malaysian style, you are in for a real treat. Will be back!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marvellous Malaysian and Chinese food.Nasi Lemak excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Their Nasi Lemak was excellent delicious. Good combination with rendang and fried chicken. Real value for money. I will also recommend their roast duck, better than any chinese restruant in London. Should try their cereal prawns, fried squid and crispy noddle. The owner was very nice and understanding, serve use some sambal balacan which was so good! Will sure to back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ring Ring C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good and relatively low cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Zheng is an interesting restaurant. The food is good, including a Schezuan tofu with chicken, beef rendang, Chinese broccoli and noodles with bean sprouts. The usual wine list is supplemented by saki, which is unusual in suburban restaurants. We started with prawn dumplings from their dim sum menu, and then went on to their dinner menu. Zheng offers a range of South-East Asian cuisines, including Malaysian, Szechuan, Shanghai and Cantonese. We enjoyed eating there and it was not expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sawley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The ma po tofu is delicious and very spicy. It's not too expensive either. The restaurant itself is very nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank felicitykendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zheng Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Zheng Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing