We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely happy - wish could move them to where we live!”
Review of Zheng Restaurant

Zheng Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ' Possibly The Authentic Chinese-Malaysian In The Country' THE TIMES - Giles Coren
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Extremely happy - wish could move them to where we live!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were staying a few nights visiting Oxford and called in unbooked. We had an excellent meal. We have lived in SE Asia and this is typical Singaporean food, a blend of the best bits of Chinese, Malay and Indonesian cooking.

We had chilli squid and sate to start, both well cooked with first class batter and well made peanut sauce. We then had Szechuan Lamb with Cumin, plus a very authentic Nasi Goreng (which comes unassembled for one to pout together on the plate - no hiding place for poor ingredients). We also had a plate of green veg in garlic sauce and steamed rice. Also some pleasant white wine.

Excellent food and excellent value for money - in fact plates were too large for us (but we wanted to try many things - and they have to cater for hungry students). Service was good and friendly and it was a pleasure to discuss the dishes with one of the owners.

I wish we could move Zheng's to where we live on the Isle of Wight!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    145
    42
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant on trip advisor recommends!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault it in any way. Staff super efficient! Couldn't do enough for us. Extremely polite, which costs nothing but means more than anything! Priceless!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Teacher1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a nice surprise! My wife and I tried this new restaurant and we were very pleasantly surprised.
The quality of the food was superb and we both had a starter and a main course along with a beer each. The bill was just £47.00 including service. That's what I call good value.
A couple of constructive points which are not a serious criticism.
The (very smiley) waitresses were just a bit too efficient. They hovered by the table and no sooner had the last mouthful been raised to eat and the plate was whisked away. Not entirely relaxing and the management just needs to have a quiet word with them.
The decor is very uninspiring. It needs an interior designer to help them give it a fresher look.
Having said all that, the food is unquestionably delicious (from a very varied menu), and the price was great as well.

Don't be put off by any negatives I may have mentioned.
It's a great place for a delicious meal that won't break the bank.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Oxacademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I ate here with my father (fussy) and his friend and son on a recommendation.
We all had the Chefs selection.

The food was delicious and portions were more than adequate. Special mention goes to the duck pancakes which were crispy and note soaked in fat.

The chilli/pepper squid was so good that ended up ordering more.

Could not fault this place at 35 quid a head for two courses with wine.

Oh and they do takeaway!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
185 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Malaysian a bit out of the centre of town”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This restaurant is a little bit out of the way on the edge of Jericho. We had very good Malaysian food. A small gripe would be that the restaurant has spread itself a bit thin with covering Szechuan and Singaporean cuisine as well as Malaysian. Good value. Friendly attentive service and a fairly neutral modern decor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ferry41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zheng Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Zheng Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing