We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cult Screen Cinema”

Oxford Castle Unlocked
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$14.18*
and up
Oxford Castle Unlocked Entrance Ticket Including Guided Tour
Ranked #9 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford Castle Unlocked explores the 1000-years of Oxford's History. Led by one of our costumed characters, the rich history of the castle with a prison at its heart will be revealed to you. Climb St. George's Tower and take in the stunning views before descending into the atmospheric crypt, along the 18th century prison wing and into archaic man-made mound.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cult Screen Cinema”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I came here to see the outdoor cinema shows and it was an amazing setting.
The staff were friendly, the prices were reasonable and the historic backdrop was fantastic.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerrysmallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    407
    93
    26
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
291 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited here last week with our 11yr old grandaughter. Did not know what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised with our visit.
By the previous reviews on the guides, we were lucky to get a guide acting as a prison inmate, complete with prison uniform. I cannot remember his name, but he was very very good. We spent two hours here, with the tour and the rest you can do yourself.
It is what is says on the tin, a castle that was used as a prison and we found it all very interesting.
We booked online which brought the cost down considerably.
Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent guided tour, with great guide in costume, each one different character through the ages, each telling his/her own story.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rayandjanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

If you are after knights and princes, this isn't really it as it has spend much of it's life as a prison however that in it's self is interesting ands there is a fair bit of medieval history too, just that it looks less the part for it being a prison. Still good though, worth the money and the ghost stories add a touch of fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had pre-booked a tour before we arrived to save a bit of money. We were shown around by "Robert Thacker" a highwayman played brilliantly by Tiris (apologies if spelt his name wrong!) The tour lasts about an hour and is basically stories about the previous prisoners and a walk up the tower. (Spiral staircase and 101 steps - not for the faint hearted!) You can see over Oxford from up there. You also get shown the crypt and some cells and then you are free to walk round the exhibition. We had 2 hours there but I wish I had had a bit longer as we had to rush at the end. The gift shop is nice and there is a café on site although we didn't visit it as we had a meal already booked. Overall an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxford Castle Unlocked also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Castle Unlocked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing