We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to see more of one of the areas of the "real" Oxford!”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Good value for money, once compared to other Oxford hotels. If you know what to expect, then you can't really fault it. Slightly eccentrically run, but nothing really to complain of. Efficient check-in, with good advice on parking (infamously nightmarish in Oxford). Quite basic rooms, but very serviceable with standard essentials provided.
Oxford's smaller communities (Headington, Cowley Road and Jericho), are easily overlooked by the casual visitor in favour of the city centre, and this is a crying shame. Having been in Headington and Cowley before, we decided to stay in Jericho this time, partly in order to visit the restaurant linked with the hotel, Al-Shami.
The restaurant was excellent. Large portions of lots of fresh ingredients, highly recommended. Both hotel and restaurant are slightly off the beaten track, but the location is still a mere 5-10 mins walk from the city centre (again-good for the price!). Jericho has lots of other delights to offer-some very cute small streets with individual shops and cafes. Few other recommendations within the Jericho area: Raoul's cocktail bar (best cocktails), Freud's cocktail bar (great building), Phoenix Picturehouse, G&Ds ice cream parlour, and of course Al-Shami Lebanese restaurant.
Richmond Hotel provides a great base to visit all of these local (non-touristy) places, and of course the rest of what the beautiful city of Oxford has to offer. Know that the value of the hotel (for it's no-frills location-positive points) is it's strongest selling point, and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Always helpful with email enquiries prior to travelling to Oxford. Once the booking was confirmed, they sent through directions to The Richmond for all modes of transport as well as further information about The Richmond. On arrival, very warm reception and very helpful in terms of directions around Oxford. Excellent location! Spacious room and wonderful breakfast options. Fantastic value for money. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights 3-4 June 2011. The Richmond offers basic accommodation in Jericho, which is in central Oxford but has a village atmosphere with lots of nice restaurants, cafes, bars and bookshops - but only 5 minutes from the Ashmolean and the University. Service friendly and welcoming. Furnishings and decor tatty and dated but what do you expect for £50 for a double? The fact it is attached to a Lebanese restaurant (which is very good) gives an indication that the Lebanese breakfast is a better option than eggs. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The Richmond achieves its mission to offer great value, basic accommodation in the heart of Oxford and seems to be the only accommodation available in Jericho.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluegoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The Richmond is our home away from home! My son is an international university student and our family and friends visit him regularly for extended stays. The staff and management are always accessible, extremely helpful, attentive and always friendly. They truly care about their guests and have gone out of their way on numerous occasions to make us comfortable and happy. The rooms are spacious and accommodating; the hotel’s location is in a quiet neighborhood on a safe street. The rooms are well-kept; linens are crisp and clean, delivered by a linen service, and beds have cozy duvets. We fully enjoy starting the day with a hearty breakfast (not the typical plastic-wrapped muffin and box of juice)! Travellers will not find a more reasonably priced accommodation, in such a centrally located area, ANYWHERE in Oxford.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ggweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I would recommend this place for people who do not want the regular touristy fare. You will be staying in a lovely neighborhood called Jericho and yet within 5 min walk to all the nice places in Oxford. The attached middle eastern restaurant makes this a great place for visiting scholars and international students.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDJ_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The Richmond is a quiet and very friendly place where I come regularly, always with the same pleasure. The staff is eager to make sure that you appreciate your stay, rooms are comfortable, spacious and well-equipped (fridge, TV, desk). The hotel is located very close to the city centre and to the area of Jericho, which is a very good place in Oxford to find pubs, trendy restaurants, cinemas, shops... Not to mention that the Richmond is associated to an excellent Lebanese restaurant where breakfast is served. Last advantage : it must be among the cheapest hotels you can find so close from Oxford lively areas !!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I booked a double room for my parents when they came to visit me during February and we all found the experience really nice. The location, Jericho, is excellent, the room condition is much better than many other hotels, and you can't find another similar hotel with such reasonable rates. Also, the staff is more than friendly and welcoming. My parents don't speak English, so I truly appreciate the help Richmond's staff has given to them. They even found my parents might want extra pillows (which they did) and offered them... In fact, many of my friends said they would like to accommodate their parents there if they visit in the future. So, I highly recommend this hotel to people who don't expect a seven-star hotel experience with £50 per night...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crane1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#25 of 45 in Oxford
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#16 of 45 in Oxford
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#27 of 45 in Oxford
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#8 of 45 in Oxford
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 25 Walton Crescent | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £79 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing