We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Whitney said "Its not right but its OK"”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
The Heart Of Darkness
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Like Whitney said "Its not right but its OK"”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

You sort of get an idea of what your stay is going to be like on your first attempt to book ,
you need to persevere as you first couple of phone calls or emails may not get a response.
When you get a response it will not be an upbeat polished response as you would expect from
a 21st century hotel in a bustling city.
When you arrive at the back door with your bags you have a brief moment to decide whether to just run off or not,
you will not have long to decide before the enigmatic David appears to guide you into the rear of the Lebanese restaurant
downstairs David will take your particulars,up until this point David has not smiled.
David then goes to get the swipe machine to take full payment for your room up front,this is before you have seen the room as
few if any pictures will be found online.Once the payment has been accepted David gives a brief smile.
You are then shown to your room and then in the blink of an eye David is gone not to be seen again.
This is a budget hotel so little pleasantries such as matching curtains and furniture are low on the agenda,
someone has an account at Travis Perkins as most of the furniture including the beds has been handmade with plywood,
curtain poles are legnths of copper pipe having said that the nights sleep is very good.
The bedding is clean but the pillows are like pillow cases without the pillows
There are kettles in the room but the only water to fill them with goes through some old fashioned water heater first
so tastes a bit tainted.
There is a fridge in the room it is empty and doubles up as a stand for the TV,one TV turned on but had no aerial.
The motivational poster "Challenge" became more relevant later during the stay.
If you have come to Oxford for culture you will find it around the shower tray which looked like it had been liberated from a squat.
The shower/toilet "room",actually room would suggest you would be able to get use it to get dressed in once you have showered,this
is not the case , there are basically two foot spaces you get get into if you manouvere around the toilet,if you want to use the
toilet you will need sit with one leg either side of the shower screen.
The shower does work ok but it is sooo grubby you really have to think hard whether to bother or not.
If you have been to Jakarta before on a backpacking trip you will have stayed in similar places its just funny in the middle of Oxford
The restuarant downstairs is Lebanese is seemed busy it has a good reputation and had we more time we probably would have eaten there
breakfast is served there too in the morning, the Lebanese breakfast is good light and fresh a nice change from a full English.
This part of Jericho is diverse with a Lebanese hotel/restuarant on one corner and a synagogue across the road its a cool mix.
During the stay the children were treated to some street theatre in the road outside which involved one of the owners sons
a guy with a long beard shouting and screaming and waving a Lucozade bottle at people in and around the restuarant,as the synagogue
across the road is absolutely bristling with cctv it wasnt long before the Police arrived to take him away,this however terrified the
children who did not want to go back there again in case the bearded one returned in the night.
We were then faced with a conundrum that you dont often face in a Travelodge,whether or not to get tooled up before we went back
to our room that night.
Suffice to say we had an uneventful night,slept well and had another nice Lebanese breakfast in the morning,so in summary its
quirky,dated,could do with a bathroom refit and had the potential to spark into violent outbursts,,,,,,,,,,, I loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get a look in the bathroom first ,,,,,,,,bet you cant,otherwise choose one with a nice motiva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kernel-Kurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    26
    13
    8
    16
See reviews for
16
39
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We booked one short notice, since the other hotel had a scew-up in their data. The guy on the phone seemed very nice, which he was - don't be phased by his looks, he is very competent.
Rooms were decent size, bathrooms were a bit small and the showers lacked water pressure.
For the price everything was nice, including the breakfast in the adjoining lebanese restaurant!

Room Tip: Don't ask for "the Suite" if you are 4 people, that means you only have one bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We loved the Lebanese restaurant associated with this hotel when we lived in Oxford so decided to stay here when we came back for a visit. It's situated in a very quiet residential area in Jericho (a trendy and affluent area close to the center of Oxford). It's a great location; just a quick walk to the coach and train stations, and right in the middle of Oxford.

We arrived much later than we thought and got a warm reception from the guy in charge who was a local guy and very helpful with enquiries etc.
The interior of the hotel was a labyrinth decorated with various bits of art of questionable artistic merit (multi-coloured zebras for one) but it actually gave the place more of an individual and cosy feel than the sterile chain hotels. We had a double room which had everything we needed (TV Fridge, Tea and Coffee making facilities, giant mirror, big desk, wardrobe, armchairs, big comfy bed) the decor was very 70s but it all matched and we were very happy. The ensuite was very small but clean, functioning and well equipped (towels, soap etc, no shampoo or conditioner but that's what you'd expect for a budget hotel).

We were able to access the hotel wireless too which was very useful.
It was quite warm when we stayed but we were able to have the window open all night because the area was so quiet and we had a very comfortable night.

Breakfast was served until 9:30 and consisted of a selection of cereals, toast, fruit juice, tea, coffee and a choice of cooked eggs and salad which were very nice. While I was having breakfast the owner of the restaurant was also having his breakfast and we had a really interesting conversation about Lebanon, seemed like a really nice guy.

Check out (by 11:00pm) was easy the same friendly guy as checked us in. If you're expecting the Randolph hotel you'll be disappointed but all in all this place is a great for a budget hotel and I don't think you'll do better in Oxford.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VwV49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Good value for money, once compared to other Oxford hotels. If you know what to expect, then you can't really fault it. Slightly eccentrically run, but nothing really to complain of. Efficient check-in, with good advice on parking (infamously nightmarish in Oxford). Quite basic rooms, but very serviceable with standard essentials provided.
Oxford's smaller communities (Headington, Cowley Road and Jericho), are easily overlooked by the casual visitor in favour of the city centre, and this is a crying shame. Having been in Headington and Cowley before, we decided to stay in Jericho this time, partly in order to visit the restaurant linked with the hotel, Al-Shami.
The restaurant was excellent. Large portions of lots of fresh ingredients, highly recommended. Both hotel and restaurant are slightly off the beaten track, but the location is still a mere 5-10 mins walk from the city centre (again-good for the price!). Jericho has lots of other delights to offer-some very cute small streets with individual shops and cafes. Few other recommendations within the Jericho area: Raoul's cocktail bar (best cocktails), Freud's cocktail bar (great building), Phoenix Picturehouse, G&Ds ice cream parlour, and of course Al-Shami Lebanese restaurant.
Richmond Hotel provides a great base to visit all of these local (non-touristy) places, and of course the rest of what the beautiful city of Oxford has to offer. Know that the value of the hotel (for it's no-frills location-positive points) is it's strongest selling point, and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Always helpful with email enquiries prior to travelling to Oxford. Once the booking was confirmed, they sent through directions to The Richmond for all modes of transport as well as further information about The Richmond. On arrival, very warm reception and very helpful in terms of directions around Oxford. Excellent location! Spacious room and wonderful breakfast options. Fantastic value for money. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights 3-4 June 2011. The Richmond offers basic accommodation in Jericho, which is in central Oxford but has a village atmosphere with lots of nice restaurants, cafes, bars and bookshops - but only 5 minutes from the Ashmolean and the University. Service friendly and welcoming. Furnishings and decor tatty and dated but what do you expect for £50 for a double? The fact it is attached to a Lebanese restaurant (which is very good) gives an indication that the Lebanese breakfast is a better option than eggs. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The Richmond achieves its mission to offer great value, basic accommodation in the heart of Oxford and seems to be the only accommodation available in Jericho.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluegoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The Richmond is our home away from home! My son is an international university student and our family and friends visit him regularly for extended stays. The staff and management are always accessible, extremely helpful, attentive and always friendly. They truly care about their guests and have gone out of their way on numerous occasions to make us comfortable and happy. The rooms are spacious and accommodating; the hotel’s location is in a quiet neighborhood on a safe street. The rooms are well-kept; linens are crisp and clean, delivered by a linen service, and beds have cozy duvets. We fully enjoy starting the day with a hearty breakfast (not the typical plastic-wrapped muffin and box of juice)! Travellers will not find a more reasonably priced accommodation, in such a centrally located area, ANYWHERE in Oxford.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ggweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 25 Walton Crescent | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing