We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's in Jericho and it fits.”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas night at the Richmond while we were visiting family in Oxford, and it was just the ticket. We had a courteous welcome and our rooms were warm and comfortable and clean, with interesting decor and stunning inlaid wardrobes. The breakfast is simple - cereal, toast, a choice of eggs (boiled, omelette, poached etc) or Lebanese breakfast (hummus, feta, olives, tomato, cucumbers and flatbread - delicious). We had my wife's 93 year-old mother with us, and she enjoyed it, too (her only complaint was that the shower controls were to high up for her to reach on her own). We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pererin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

An excellent value for money hotel. Its in a superb location close to everything in the city centre. Its clean and the staff are amazingly friendly. It has everything you want from a hotel including being quiet.
A tip, the Lebanise restaurant downstairs is very good but full allot of the time so book in advance if you want to eat there.
And for those who have not been to Oxford before - Great City !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatOldUglyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday, and it was last minute reservation. We were welcomed warmly by the owner, David, who was very helpful and provided useful information. Room was lovely, smallish and basic but clean and with character. We liked brick walls, crispy clean bedding and the fact that the room was equipped with tea& coffee facilities, broadband, etc. the room including breakfast cost us £60, which was about half price comparing to other, same standard places. We feel it was excellent value for money and would definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank greg a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I am an alum of the University and was going back to visit some friends when I discovered the Richmond. While a student I had lived in Jericho, so I was glad to be back in my old neighborhood, right near my old haunts. Jericho has its own little strip of stores, restaurants, cafes, etc. away from the downtown and the maddening crush of tourists - this is where you'll be with more locals than tourists - and of course a healthy dose of students. Jericho is known for being the bohemian, quirky, funky neighborhood. Getting to proper downtown - broad st, st. giles, etc. is not even a 10 minute walk. This place is super convenient to the Gloucester Green bus station.

My reservation was very easily made (and even cutting it close timewise) via email. I even had the option to pre-register my details so that when I arrived all I needed to do was get my key. The staff was super helpful during my stay and always attentive when I saw them in the hallways, etc. The room itself was very comfortable - tea fixings, a kettle and a fridge all in the room. Wi-fi throughout the hotel. Very clean.

I can't comment on the breakfast as I was never actually awake for it (oops!) due to my nocturnal activities, but the restaurant certainly always smelled good! The restaurant stays open until around midnight, so yes there are people around and if you're super sensitive to noise - that may bother you. I loved it however because it meant when walking home there were always staff around to greet me on my way in.

I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This isn't just an Oxford hotel, it's a Jericho hotel, and, as such, it's full of the character that gives the Jericho quarter its great attraction — quirky, bohemian, eclectic, individual. Your neighbour at breakfast is as likely to be a visiting professor as a foreign tourist, but everyone is made to feel equally welcome. If your preference is for anonymous plastic hotels that could be anywhere, then don't come here. The staff are very helpful, friendly, and polite; the rooms are large, comfortable, clean, and quiet; the prices are extremely reasonable; and the location couldn't be more convenient: bus station, railway station, and the centre of Oxford all within easy walking distance. There is a distinct Lebanese theme — the hotel is the sister of the adjoining long-established Al-Shami Lebanese restaurant, and having one of Oxford's best restaurants downstairs is a definite boon if you're feeling peckish. Breakfast is served in the restaurant (don't be afraid to try the Lebanese breakfast, if you want something different). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at the Richmond Hotel twice myself, and after having moved to the Jericho neighbourhood, will definitely keep booking in family and friends during their visits to Oxford! The staff is very friendly and always there to help. Reservations are easy to make (I always received an email reply the same day), and the price is unbeatable. Moreover, the rooms are clean, spacious, and in a fantastic location. Al Shami, the associated Lebanese restaurant where breakfast is served, is the best in town, and probably in a league with good Lebanese places in London. Try the Lebanese breakfast at least once during your stay, it is delicious!

I would recommend The Richmond Hotel to tourists, occasional visitors, and business travelers alike. It's a great place to be in Oxford, and the staff will be happy to suggest good places to eat or visit in Oxfordshire. Definitely 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

You sort of get an idea of what your stay is going to be like on your first attempt to book ,
you need to persevere as you first couple of phone calls or emails may not get a response.
When you get a response it will not be an upbeat polished response as you would expect from
a 21st century hotel in a bustling city.
When you arrive at the back door with your bags you have a brief moment to decide whether to just run off or not,
you will not have long to decide before the enigmatic David appears to guide you into the rear of the Lebanese restaurant
downstairs David will take your particulars,up until this point David has not smiled.
David then goes to get the swipe machine to take full payment for your room up front,this is before you have seen the room as
few if any pictures will be found online.Once the payment has been accepted David gives a brief smile.
You are then shown to your room and then in the blink of an eye David is gone not to be seen again.
This is a budget hotel so little pleasantries such as matching curtains and furniture are low on the agenda,
someone has an account at Travis Perkins as most of the furniture including the beds has been handmade with plywood,
curtain poles are legnths of copper pipe having said that the nights sleep is very good.
The bedding is clean but the pillows are like pillow cases without the pillows
There are kettles in the room but the only water to fill them with goes through some old fashioned water heater first
so tastes a bit tainted.
There is a fridge in the room it is empty and doubles up as a stand for the TV,one TV turned on but had no aerial.
The motivational poster "Challenge" became more relevant later during the stay.
If you have come to Oxford for culture you will find it around the shower tray which looked like it had been liberated from a squat.
The shower/toilet "room",actually room would suggest you would be able to get use it to get dressed in once you have showered,this
is not the case , there are basically two foot spaces you get get into if you manouvere around the toilet,if you want to use the
toilet you will need sit with one leg either side of the shower screen.
The shower does work ok but it is sooo grubby you really have to think hard whether to bother or not.
If you have been to Jakarta before on a backpacking trip you will have stayed in similar places its just funny in the middle of Oxford
The restuarant downstairs is Lebanese is seemed busy it has a good reputation and had we more time we probably would have eaten there
breakfast is served there too in the morning, the Lebanese breakfast is good light and fresh a nice change from a full English.
This part of Jericho is diverse with a Lebanese hotel/restuarant on one corner and a synagogue across the road its a cool mix.
During the stay the children were treated to some street theatre in the road outside which involved one of the owners sons
a guy with a long beard shouting and screaming and waving a Lucozade bottle at people in and around the restuarant,as the synagogue
across the road is absolutely bristling with cctv it wasnt long before the Police arrived to take him away,this however terrified the
children who did not want to go back there again in case the bearded one returned in the night.
We were then faced with a conundrum that you dont often face in a Travelodge,whether or not to get tooled up before we went back
to our room that night.
Suffice to say we had an uneventful night,slept well and had another nice Lebanese breakfast in the morning,so in summary its
quirky,dated,could do with a bathroom refit and had the potential to spark into violent outbursts,,,,,,,,,,, I loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get a look in the bathroom first ,,,,,,,,bet you cant,otherwise choose one with a nice motiva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kernel-Kurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#25 of 45 in Oxford
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 45 in Oxford
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#8 of 45 in Oxford
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 45 in Oxford
228 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 25 Walton Crescent | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £79 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing