We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jason Y
London, United Kingdom

Adequate but mean spirited

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2015via mobile
This is a cheap and basic guest house. It was reasonably clean and the bed was just about okay with a soft and sagging mattress but clean sheets and warm enough. But there was only a single small shower room and one additional toilet - both located down stairs from the rooms. Owners obviously chosen to maximise income by having more guest rooms rather than a bathroom on every floor. Same meanness of spirit shown in the small thin towels and measly supplies of tea, coffee and milk (two tiny tubs of uht milk.) And no teaspoon.
Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£161
  • Expedia.com
    £161
  • Courtyard
    £161
  • Hotels.com
    £161
0.2 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior CGI
£50
  • Expedia.com
    £55
  • Agoda.com
    £42
  • StayForLong
    £53
1.9 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
£170
  • vocoHotels
    £170
  • Vio.com
    £166
  • Expedia.com
    £170
1.0 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Pool
£209
  • Expedia.com
    £236
  • Vio.com
    £186
  • Hotels.com
    £224
0.5 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£33
  • Trip.com
    £32
  • Agoda.com
    £31
  • Vio.com
    £32
3.1 miles from Becket Guest House
£98
  • HolidayInn.com
    £98
  • Expedia.com
    £98
  • Vio.com
    £98
3.1 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£179
  • Hotels.com
    £179
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    £179
0.3 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£112
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Agoda.com
    £110
  • Hotels.com
    £128
12.1 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Accessible Room
£104
  • Expedia.com
    £123
  • ZenHotels.com
    £102
  • Trip.com
    £126
2.6 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£142
  • Booking.com
    £123
  • Vio.com
    £120
  • Expedia.com
    £123
2.0 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oxford
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
9
23
25
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
23
25
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015

This guest house is perfect if you're looking for somewhere in Oxford that's quite reasonably priced but central and if you're not too concerned about getting breakfast. My single room was nicely furnished, clean and had everything I needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Check that your room is en suite.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berryjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Having read the reviews. It's fair to say I was slightly nervous about staying. But I was pleasantly surprised. We had room z. Nice homely double room with en suite. Great got powerful shower. Clean tidy room. Only thing I would say would be to check the towels before use. Or take your own. Overall would certainly stay again supervised. We had room z. plpleasantlysurprised. My room

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The Becket Guest House is affordable lodging for the low-budget traveler. If you're used to three star hotels, inns or bed and breakfasts and up, you'll probably want to pass on a stay here, but if you're looking for a safe place to sleep with basic amenities it's worth considering, especially if you have a small budget and you're looking for just a couple of nights.

The Becket Guess House staff is very friendly and helpful. Due to missing my bus into I arrived past check-in time, but was still able to get my room. After a long day of travel I really appreciated their flexibility and warm reception.

Although it is a two-star hotel it's a nice location in Oxford. It's right next to the train station and accessible to many bus lines in Oxford. There are also some restaurants and shops within walking distance.

It's definitely not the Plaza, but you will find friendly service and the basics you need priced for for the low-budget traveler.

Room tip: If you're running late for check-in, give the staff a heads up with a phone call or email.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aaliyahm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Very reasonable price for Oxford - basic budget rooms - nothing flash but they were clean. The management were friendly and helpful and although the area is not so salubrious it is close to the train station and also close to budget/Avis car rentals. There were quite a lot of stairs to carry luggage up but at least there was free wi-fi as a consolation.

Room tip: Ask for a ground floor room if your luggage is heavy!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritzcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I've never written a trip advisor review before but feel I had to let others know how awful this guest house is. The room smelt terrible. We had been told that the guest house had experienced some trouble with their plumbing so we could no longer be accommodated in the double and instead had a twin room. Maybe the plumbing issue was the reason behind the smell of poo. The furniture in the room was old, tired, stained and didn't match. The bathroom needed a good clean, it smelt and we decided to not use the shower. The towels were tough, off white, rough to the touch and need replacing. The windows are single pane, wobbly and need replacing. The curtain track is broken and coming away from the wall. The mattresses were disgusting and the springs were digging in to us making it very uncomfortable. There wasn't even a headboard. There is no care paid to this guesthouse and a complete lack of pride. There was a horrible fight next door between 4-5am which only ended when the police arrived although this was not related to the guesthouse and can't be helped.
I could go on and on. The room cost £90. Please do not spend your money on this room. The owner called out to us as we left, not to say goodbye or to wish us a safe journey. No , only to shout out that we shouldn't have brought our bike in last night. Poor service in a crappy dirty environment.

Date of stay: June 2015
1  Thank faye m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews