We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Princess K
Birmingham

Very good

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jul 2016via mobile
This B and B is only 2 minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes into the town centre. Very local indeed. The room was very good and the bathroom facilities were good and clean. On the other hand, there should be hand wash available in the bathroom are. But overall very decent B and B.
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£161
  • Expedia.com
    £161
  • Courtyard
    £161
  • Tripadvisor
    £161
0.2 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior CGI
£50
  • Expedia.com
    £55
  • Agoda.com
    £42
  • StayForLong
    £53
1.9 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
£170
  • vocoHotels
    £170
  • Expedia.com
    £170
  • Tripadvisor
    £170
1.0 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Pool
£209
  • Expedia.com
    £236
  • Skyscanner.com
    £188
  • Hotels.com
    £224
0.5 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£98
  • HolidayInn.com
    £98
  • Expedia.com
    £98
  • Tripadvisor
    £98
3.1 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£112
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Agoda.com
    £110
  • Hotels.com
    £128
12.1 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Accessible Room
£104
  • Expedia.com
    £123
  • ZenHotels.com
    £102
  • Trip.com
2.6 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£142
  • Booking.com
    £123
  • StayForLong
    £121
  • Expedia.com
    £123
2.0 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to the Ramada Oxford
£78
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £78
  • Algotels
    £74
  • StayForLong
    £78
7.5 miles from Becket Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    £35
  • StayForLong
3.1 miles from Becket Guest House
View more hotels in Oxford
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
9
23
25
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
23
25
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Didn't expect much from a 2 star guest house but it wasn't a place I'd recommend to anyone. Stayed It was clear the owners put little effort in cleaning the place. Toilets were grim, cups to drink from were dirty, bed sheets still had stains from God knows what. Worst of all the room we had stayed had a serious insect problem, we woke up each night with tick bites and i only realised when I found one scuttling about on my pillow when I was lying down. Staff were friendly but didn't really address the issue trying to play it down on them located near trees.

Granted they were the cheapest accommodation around besides staying at hostels but you'd expect better. Unless you're really skint you should consider other options.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

This is a cheap and basic guest house. It was reasonably clean and the bed was just about okay with a soft and sagging mattress but clean sheets and warm enough. But there was only a single small shower room and one additional toilet - both located down stairs from the rooms. Owners obviously chosen to maximise income by having more guest rooms rather than a bathroom on every floor. Same meanness of spirit shown in the small thin towels and measly supplies of tea, coffee and milk (two tiny tubs of uht milk.) And no teaspoon.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2015

This guest house is perfect if you're looking for somewhere in Oxford that's quite reasonably priced but central and if you're not too concerned about getting breakfast. My single room was nicely furnished, clean and had everything I needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Check that your room is en suite.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berryjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Having read the reviews. It's fair to say I was slightly nervous about staying. But I was pleasantly surprised. We had room z. Nice homely double room with en suite. Great got powerful shower. Clean tidy room. Only thing I would say would be to check the towels before use. Or take your own. Overall would certainly stay again supervised. We had room z. plpleasantlysurprised. My room

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The Becket Guest House is affordable lodging for the low-budget traveler. If you're used to three star hotels, inns or bed and breakfasts and up, you'll probably want to pass on a stay here, but if you're looking for a safe place to sleep with basic amenities it's worth considering, especially if you have a small budget and you're looking for just a couple of nights.

The Becket Guess House staff is very friendly and helpful. Due to missing my bus into I arrived past check-in time, but was still able to get my room. After a long day of travel I really appreciated their flexibility and warm reception.

Although it is a two-star hotel it's a nice location in Oxford. It's right next to the train station and accessible to many bus lines in Oxford. There are also some restaurants and shops within walking distance.

It's definitely not the Plaza, but you will find friendly service and the basics you need priced for for the low-budget traveler.

Room tip: If you're running late for check-in, give the staff a heads up with a phone call or email.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aaliyahm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews