We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Cottages Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The couple who own the b&b are absolutely lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The food is amazing, fresh and local and the room was stylish and spotlessly clean. The bus stopped just outside for a 15 min ride into Oxford City centre and was only £6.60 return for 2!!!! Much cheaper than parking and than the park and ride.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I can't recommend this place enough. I'm a discerning traveller and have stayed in hotels like the one and only and other 5*+ places

Service, cleanliness, room features here are all 5* plus what wonderful hosts too - do not miss this place if visiting oxford

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Came here for my birthday weekend trip to Oxford.
Whispering Cottages B&B is a real hidden gem. Perfect location to get into Oxford as the bus stop is right outside the main house, beautiful gardens, 5* room which felt more like a boutique hotel. The hosts couldn't do enough for us & made lovely touches in the room such as fresh flowers, little jar of sweets & a bottle of champagne in the fridge. The aga breakfast was divine. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Loved our stay. Food was fabulous! Beautiful gardens, clean and quiet room with a nice flat-screen TV. Lots of hot water with high pressure for our showers. This is the best B&B in all of England. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Excellent location when visiting Oxford or Reading areas. Stayed 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. We highly recommend it! 5 STARS!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The little village is beautiful to start the you get to this gem. I don't normally write reviews but I feel compelled to write this as the owners have just started the business. The house is amazing, gardens with the cottages at the back. Georgia and Paul (the owners) have got it spot on here, you feel like nothing is too much trouble. They are friendly and warm and their hosting skills are impeccable. The room is lovely and they have wonderful little touches like a jar of sweets and night light. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaronsgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

An excellent B&B with boutique hotel luxury. The rooms were well appointed and spotlessly clean with first class service. We enjoyed a long weekend in the beautiful rural setting and wished we could have stayed longer. The close proximity to Oxford was great and the breakfast was tasty and beautifully presented. A real hidden gem with exceptional rooms and convivial hosts, well worth a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boudoir room which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Waeller-Gourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia G, Owner at Whispering Cottages Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,827 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Oxford Townhouse
The Oxford Townhouse
#3 of 85 in Oxford
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Cottages Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Cottages Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 4 Nuneham Courtenay, Oxford OX44 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £117 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful countryside just 8 miles from Oxford City, Whispering Cottages is the perfect base to explore and experience the City of Oxford. Wake up to a delicious Aga breakfast after a wonderful nights rest in one of our two luxury double bedrooms situated in the old Cabinet Makers Barn. Luxury Cotton bed linen, bath robes and towels. Free WiFi and regular bus service into Oxford City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Whispering Cottages Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing