We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A light and bright home from home, minutes from...”
other travellers have booked this property
lovely cottage in peaceful location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lovely cottage in peaceful location
Lounge,  sofa Fitted kitchen with hob, oven, washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, microwave etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
lovely cottage in peaceful location
Lounge,  sofa
Fitted kitchen with hob, oven, washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, microwave etc
Dining table, highchair available
Twin bedroom, cotbed and travelcot available
Oxford  bridge of sighs
Flower border, front garden
Bathroom, power shower, double ended bath
bathroom with double ended bath and power shower
Master bedroom
Dining table, kitchen dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
The beautiful river nearby the house xmas 2016
The beautiful river Thames at Donnington Bridge  (the Isis) just 2 minutes walk from house 30.11.17
River Thames, beautiful Dorchester on Thames, 8 miles walk along the signed path from Oxford 2.12.17
Winnie the Pooh's Poo Sticks bridge, Days Lock, Dorchester on Thames
What's on December, January 2017/2018.....Some say Oxford is best in the Winter, lots on, no crowds!
Concert  billboards for this and next week on railings by the Sheldonian 30.11.17
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clairejal...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A light and bright home from home, minutes from the river.”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location is great for Oxford city centre, with a bus stop just round the corner you can be by the city sights, colleges and shops in 10 minutes. The house is situated on a quiet side road within 5 minutes walk of the river and has a sunny garden. The vibrant community surrounding Magdalen Road and Cowley Road are within walking distance, as well as a great park, skate park and nature reserve on Meadow Lane, which are just fantastic for the kids. The accommodation is clean and has a recently refurbished bathroom and kitchen. It feels homely and works well for day to day family life or as a base for a city break. The wifi and other facilities are a handy perk! Our family of 5 had a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you, delighted you are enjoying staying as our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annabel C
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable House handy to city centre”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This rental will forever be called 'right house wrong street' for us. We chose this place to stay because of it's location showing on the map as Church Way. We know Oxford very well and were excited to be staying in Church Way, only to find out it is actually in Radcliffe Road. Fran asked us to contact Trip Advisor to let them know of the false advertising as it was their responsibility while they (TA) ensured us it was the owners. We are bemused to find that the arrow on the map is still pointing to Church Way and that it is also being classed as being in Oxford City Centre. Er no it isn't. Regardless, we found the actual property to be very comfortable and cosy it has all that you need, and is less than a minute from the bus stop to the the city with the buses being very regular. You can also walk along the river to the city or for a slightly shorter walk along Iffley Road. (We agree with other reviewers regarding the front door it is still a problem). Overall we would highly recommend this property and would love to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a very quiet and peaceful house
Liked least: Could not park in the driveway with our slightly larger car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Delighted to hear you found the house so comfottable and rate it as 'highly recommended'. Also delighted you would love stay again - you are very very welcome! Many thanks for the helpful comments re door and map, will try again to resolve these. Best wishes Fran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B
Osaka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place for a longish stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The description needs toning down quite a lot. It's not a cottage, it's a semi-detached on a suburban street. It's not really close to the Thames. And the walk to the City Centre is nearer to an hour than 30 minutes. That said, it is a very pleasant walk along the Thames tow path, or down the main road into town, while the bus stop is indeed very close by and buses are frequent. And Iffley village in the opposite direction is not so far. There's a Coop Grocer's about 5 minutes away and a large Sainsbury's takes about 20 minutes to reach on foot
There is plenty of space in the house. The kitchen dining room is pleasant. There is everything you need. Be careful of the fridge though. Sometimes without your realising it the door hasn't closed.
Wifi is excellent. I had quite some trouble with the door key, as had one guest before me. Probably this has been fixed.
The owners are responsive and helpful. Please note, however, that they require a very large guarantee deposit. I didn't notice this until it was too late. No trouble getting it returned though.
Oh, and I don't know if everyone is so lucky, but I was treated to a large, delicious cake...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and garden
Liked least: The entertainment system
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Many thanks Martin, delighted you have given us a 5 star rating! And some very helpful comments.
Sorry we don't have satellite TV, will see if other guests would also would like this. Baffled by the front door problem, as we have had the lock changed twice and it was newly installed when you came and only some people have had problems.

Many thanks again and hope we will see you again Fran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AEM977
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good little house within easy reach of Oxford centre.”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Spent two weeks holiday in this clean, comfortable little house, recently modernised. Quiet road. Went into centre of Oxford most days. Lovely 30 min walk to Folly Bridge ( i.e. 10 mins to river, then 20 mins along the Thames Path). Alternative is to take the bus - it is a short ride and buses are frequent and stop just round the corner. Would be happy to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohagiti
Karmiel, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed in the cottage for 1 week with my son while he was relocating to Oxford.
Our stay was lovely.
The cottage is spacious and have everything we needed. The owner was very nice and welcoming, she even brought us some eggs from chicken!
The area was very quiet, but very central just off the iffley road, so very close to bus stations and the city centre. The nearest supermarket (co op) is just a few minutes walk.
I would certainly stay again when I come back to visit my son.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen which was roomy and full of light. It was great to sit there and eat.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you, we are new holiday let owners and want everyone to have a 5* experience....you are our first guests so delighted to read your very positive 5* review! We would love to welcome you back whe you next visit Oxford!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing