We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Keble College

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keble College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in the older part of the college overlooking the Quad. the en suite room was spotless, well-equipped, and most comfortable. The atmosphere in the college is relaxed and steeped in history. Breakfast in the Great Hall, sitting at High Table, was an experience in itself. An army of waiting staff kept the table clear, the food was perfect and as much as we could eat! we stayed three nights, for less than any hotel, and i have to say this was the best overall experience i have had. The only slight disappointment was that there was no service during our time in the wonderful Chapel, as it was an out-of-term stay.

Room Tip: Don't skimp on the room choice - go for a room overlooking the Quad. worth the few pounds extra.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Keble College
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night, in double rooms in the older part of the college, overlooking the quad. Pretty spartan rooms (but student accommodation, so pretty much as expected), but all very clean and with a nice pack of toiletries.

BUT trying to get to sleep was virtuallly impossible. From 11.30 until what felt like about 4am, a succession of party goers returned to their rooms, shouting, screaming, banging fire doors, with every sound reverberating around the quad. There should be notices everywhere asking for a bit of consideration - at one stage, I witnessed what looked like a scene from a particularly bad episode of East Enders. So go by all means, but take earplugs and possibly avoid Saturday nights.

Breakfast was pretty amazing, sitting in a vast Hogwarts-esque dining hall. Copious quantities of food and coffee, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisvuitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked at Keble on the recommendation of someone in the know, when I was up for the Oxford Proms. Love the atmosphere; I was lucky to get a room in the older section and the feeling of the layers of its history added to the enjoyment. I liked the way everyone was polite, you were greeted and shown to your room, any questions were helpfully answered, and the dining hall at breakfast was out of this world. Room was clean, bigger than I expected, and just what I wanted - I dislike paying for unnecessary extras, so this suited me fine. Bed was comfortable, and by the end of the third day I was wistfully wishing I were a student staying for longer than just a few days. I won't hesitate to stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good central place to stay that gives you value for every penny.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can for the chance to stay in the older, more atmospheric rooms. Mine was right...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modestine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a friends hen do. Gorgeous setting so convenient for everything. We were slightly disappointed to be I the more modern block, the arco building, but then they must just be the cheaper room allocations. Friendly porters, breakfast range was excellent, comfy clean rooms, nothing fancy as obviously they are student sets, but everything you'd need. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby_bassist_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Delightful venue and most enjoyable stay. Peaceful, ideally placed for the town and sightseeing literally just out of the front door of the college. Our rooms were beautifully clean, the bedding just right, crisp white sheets and pillowcases, also soft white towels. We were a Full welcome tray with selection of teas, coffee, mineral water and delicious sealed packed cookies. Restful venue not a sound at night, also good quality blackout curtains so you get a good sleep! It was wonderful to be able to experience a taste of life at an Oxford college. Desk staff extremely helpful. The rooms we had were lovely. Night porter should you need anything overnight; dining room staff were warm and welcoming. Would have liked to have stayed longer. We stayed in the modern annexe building which in terms of the historical atmosphere is obviously not quite the same as the rest of the college. All in all, ideal for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As always book as early as you can so you get choices.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The rooms are basic college rooms but spotlessly clean and comfortable with beds made every morning and fresh towels and toiletries every day. Breakfast is served in the long dining hall which is right out of Harry Potter with a very good choice of hot or continental breakfast. Staff are really helpful and welcoming. If you have the chance to have dinner in the halls then take up the opportunity. You get the chance to dine in candlelight at the top table. My daughter's room had a wall of glass overlooking the historic buildings - very inspiring. If you have children then this is a really good place to stay - so central for all the places to visit (only a few minutes walk away) and they will love the tradition and comfortable history of the college. I can only recommend staying here and I will certainly be back. This is an amazing place to stay and we have wonderful memories of a special weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuefromCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

From arrival we were treated as valued guests by all the Keble staff - and there were plenty of them. The beautiful location was peaceful and atmospheric; Inspector Morse could have appeared round a corner at any time!

Rooms (superior singles with en suite and quad view) were spotless, roomier than expected and well-provisioned - full range of toiletries and tea/coffee.

We opted to dine in the Hall, which was great - no choice of menu but what we had was of a high standard and plentiful. This occasion gave us the opportunity to chat with fellow guests from around the world in unique surroundings. Breakfast was also in the Hall; hot and cold buffet with a good choice.

Staying at Keble College was a result of our small group wanting centrally-located accommodation at a reasonable price. Both of these aims were achieved, but we were all very impressed with every aspect of this stay. Warmly recommended to visitors from UK or overseas (probably not ideal for children, though).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaritabythepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keble College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keble College

Address: Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price Range: £31 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keble College, founded in 1870, is one of Oxfords architectural landmarks located in the heart of the City.Venture behind the college walls and stay as a bed and breakfast guest at Keble. Discover stunning tranquil quads and inspiring architecture whilst staying in a comfortable study bedroom.All bedrooms include tea and coffee making facilities, towels, toiletries and free WiFi points. Bedrooms are serviced daily. To complete your college experience, relax and enjoy a cooked or continental breakfast served in our magnificent Gothic dining hall, Oxford's longest Hall, before setting off to explore Oxford's City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keble College Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing