We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keble College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keble College
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the dorms in Keble College and really enjoyed it. Our room was on the second floor facing the quad with a really nice view. The staff helped us with our luggage since we were on the second floor. Eating breakfast which was really good was located in the Great Hall which is an experience in itself. It is a short walk into town which will take less then 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the quad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBS6132003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    101
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
62
54
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location. Fairly basic accommodation but as expected. Comfortable and clean. Amazing location (quad facing rooms). Breakfast in the Great Hall was an interesting experience. All staff very helpful and polite (especially good booking experience with staff from the porters lodge). Our family visitors from abroad (first time in UK) thought it was wonderful. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandFerhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Was visiting Oxford with my two daughters because one is interested in studying in the UK. I opted to stay in the dorms so that she might have a taste of the university experience. So glad I did. We rented two adjoining rooms with ensuite bathroom in the old building that overlooks the quad. Check in was a breeze, everyone was very helpful, rooms were comfortable, and the breakfast in the great hall was memorable. I would also recommend Oxford Walking Tours that leaves from Trinity gates.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doubletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed for only one night in this amazingly historical place with a friend. We had requested a twin room and were given 2 single adjoining rooms with a shared small bathroom in the new building. The bedrooms were small and spartan but very clean and adequate and a full complement of toiletries and tea making facilities provided. We were there on a Monday night and it was very quiet all night.

Seeing the Quad for the first time certainly had the "wow" factor.

Location to museums etc is great and the Hop-on, Hop-off bus stop number 15 is about 100 metres up the road (away from the town centre) - well worth buying a ticket late in the afternoon and doing the full circuit then using it the next day, getting on and off as desired.

It was a good time to stay at Keble College as the weather was not too warm. The staff and students were all helpful, knowledgeable and polite. I would happily stay there again to soak up more of the atmosphere. The Great Hall made me feel like I was at Hogwarts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked to stay here just one night and requested a room either on the ground floor or with an elevator as this college only has 1 wing with an elevator. My friend finds stairs quite difficult to manage plus we had heavy baggage. Our request was met and we were warmly welcomed. Some of the students work there over vacation and a charming young man showed us to our room which were two adjoining with a shared bathroom. Rooms were very clean and comfortable although a little stark. A welcoming tray of various teas and coffee plus biscuits and bottled water was supplied.
The breakfast however although served in the majestic Great hall was below average but was made up for by the breathtaking atmosphere of the venue. Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Oxford

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs request a ground floor or the wing with the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at the college from Aug 28th-31st. Absolutely wonderful. Unfortunately we could only get the newer annex and the rooms are pretty spartan, however, they provide lots of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Breakfast is provided in the Great Hall and this is magical. Contrary to what others have said, I thought the breakfast was very good. As a vegetarian I was pleasantly surprised that vegetarian options are everywhere, including every pub. Keble College had vegetarian sausage, fruit, eggs, anything you could ask for breakfast. The location is less than ten minutes walk to the core of Oxford. There are restaurants, pubs, museums etc all within five minute walks. Ten minute walk to the Thames. The only drawback were the inconsiderate boorish convention goers. At 10AM the first morning, our son called up to our open window to request we bring his book down with us. I leaned out and said ok. As I was doing so, a well dressed man stormed up to my son and condescendingly said "do you mind, we are trying to film in here". My son apologized and said he didn't know there was something going on in the rooms in front of him. This gentleman then said "this is a college not a ...". Fair enough, but that night we were treated to doors banging to all hours. Convention goers were sitting directly under our window being loud and boisterous all night long. I woke at 4AM and it was still going on. Same the next two nights. I went out at one point to see what was going on and these were the same well dressed people who were attending the conference during the day. The majority were older professionals but obviously indifferent to the affect they were having on other guests. I found it ironic that the information pamphlet provided stressed keeping quiet after 10PM and being considerate of other guests. Nothing could be further from the truth. I was worried about my family getting home at midnight from the pubs, but needn't have bothered, the noise didn't start to much later. Despite this, it was a wonderful experience and would recommend it to anyone. Keble College, you need to make up your minds whether or not you want to cater to B&B guests or conventions. Unfortunately I'm sure I know the answer to that, which is too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauilover_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Keble College over the bank holiday weekend, in the newer annexe rooms of the college. The college is absolutely lovely, especially when the sun was shining in the quad.

We probably should have stayed in the older part, as the new block felt like a typical student accommodation anywhere in the world - small, very basics rooms, with a tiny bathroom. Single camp beds were fairly comfortable, and a selection of toiletries are provided.

Unfortunately on the first night (Saturday) we were kept up through the night by some people having a party a few rooms away. We phoned down to the night porter but this seemed to make little difference.

However, as many other reviewers have said, the real highlight is having breakfast in the Great Hall. Although the food is pretty poor (hot breakfast and a few continental items), it is the magical setting that makes it a winner. Everyone was stopping to take photos after their meal at the long tables, and it was certainly an experience to remember.

The college is located in a good position, around 10/15 minutes away from the centre.

It is definitely a one-off experience to stay here, and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brommers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keble College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keble College

Property: Keble College
Address: Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keble College, founded in 1870, is one of Oxfords architectural landmarks located in the heart of the City.Venture behind the college walls and stay as a bed and breakfast guest at Keble. Discover stunning tranquil quads and inspiring architecture whilst staying in a comfortable study bedroom.All bedrooms include tea and coffee making facilities, towels, toiletries and free WiFi points. Bedrooms are serviced daily. To complete your college experience, relax and enjoy a cooked or continental breakfast served in our magnificent Gothic dining hall, Oxford's longest Hall, before setting off to explore Oxford's City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Keble College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keble College Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing