We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of The Oxford Retreat

The Oxford Retreat
Ranked #399 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
oxford england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We ate in the retreat last night after not being in for a while. There is a new chef and menu which we thought we would give a try. The food was absolutely delicious it was really busy and as we hadn't booked we waited for a while but they brought our starters out to the bar where we were seated until our table in the restaurant was ready. We are going back for a roast next weekend !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank grayhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    18
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Bit dissapointed place had gone downhill.Bathroom had no paper towels a broken hand dryer and watered down soap:'( Menu ok food average.Past chef was excellent this one poor. Overall the place looked grubby and tired. We left feeling cheated. Come on Oxford Retreat you can do better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for drinks and food”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We popped in for a drink and ended up staying for even more drinks and food great atmosphere and very friendly staff would highly recommend it..worth a visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Took a Spanish friend for some "British" food and their "bangers and mash" didn't disappoint. It was also long time since I had a decent hamburger in the UK. The waiter said "all food is homemade". Waiters were both very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbatiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good staff”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Really nice place to eat. Staff were friendly and the food was delicious, good size portions and great speed of service. Would definitely recommend it! The free glass of Kir Royale and macaroons was a really nice touch. Definitely go again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oxford Retreat also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Oxford Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing