We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing is everything...”
Review of The Dew Drop Inn

The Dew Drop Inn
Ranked #300 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: The Dew Drop Inn is located one and a half miles north of Oxford City Centre in Summertown, quite central to the shops. This listed building dating back to the mid 1800's is a traditional looking pub with original features - such as the windows - and one part of it used to be a local school. From the outside it is deceptive as it looks small, yet it is a bit of a Tardis when you get inside, as it stretches right back. The pub offers a high quality, yet casual, comfortable dining experience, within a friendly welcoming atmosphere. We cater for everyone and have a good range of clientele from old ladies on their own to shoppers, locals and students. Food is served from a main menu with the Sunday roast being very popular. This is a two bar operation so we also show Sport on side of the pub and special events in the main bar. We have strong connections with Inspector Morse, with the writer Colin Dexter being a regular here and the Dew Drop is mentioned in most of his books. Tuesday night is Quiz Night at the Dew Drop - £1 to each to enter and the winning team (up to 6 people) gets the takings! Come and visit us soon!
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Timing is everything...”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Took two young children and their granny for lunch on a Saturday. Excellent menu and very good food, and the staff were very helpful. However, we could only get a table - the last one available - right under the big screen which was showing football. The TV volume was at a level which pretty well precluded conversation completely. I would not have minded so much, but we phoned earlier and tried to make a reservation, and were told we would not need to book and there would be no problem. It's not a dealbreaker: I would go again. After checking the sports fixtures.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Hill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    55
    27
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We went for a mid week lunch at this pub. We come here for a drink regularly but thought we would pop in for lunch. We had a sausage and onion and a hunters chicken baguette and shared some chips. Both were really Lovely. This pub had a lovely warm atmosphere and there is always plenty of seating even though it is often busy. There is also lots of seating out the front and in the back garden. We both really enjoyed our food and will definitely be back as lots if things on the menu that I would like to try. The homemade pie looked delicious. My only gripe is that the drinks are quite expensive nearly ten pounds for a Pint and a glass of wine, but we will be back as always xx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinky36Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“A Handy Stop at the Dew Drop”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Called in here on the outskirts of Oxford City Centre (and just minutes from the A34 / A40) whilst travelling with work for a quick bite to eat and wasn't disappointed. Service efficient and polite. Prices are no dearer than other similar establishments and the food was served in no time. My steak melt sandwich was very tasty. My only issue was the fact that due to driving I was unable to try the great selection of hand pulled ales. Will definitely return when next in area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaspandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We came here in May with 10 friends for a quick lunch. The food was freshly cooked and arrived promptly. There was plenty of choice and our veggie friends were well impressed too.
We also cam back for drinks later one evening.
It is a lovely pub with a nice atmosphere and patio garden at the back. it was very convenient for our hotel minutes walk away!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Pub is better inside than it first appears, The food was excellent - restaurant quality. Service was prompt and the staff friendly. Nice little terraced beer garden out the back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dew Drop Inn also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Dew Drop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing