We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”
Review of The Punchbowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Punchbowl Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We booked at the Punchbowl Inn with some trepidation after reading the reviews but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and spacious and the breakfast was tasty and generous. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The beds were a little "creaky" but comfortable. This is not a Top of the Range Hotel but nowhere near as bad as some other reviews suggest. Very good central position .

Room Tip: Our room was at the front. A little noisy but we had left the window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    49
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
55
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This "Inn" does not belong in Woodstock, it is shabby and attracts the wrong crowd. The whole place is run down, badly managed and unhygenic. I had to move rooms after the first night and went from a reasonable room to a very horrible basement room. There are fixtures missing or damaged that have not been replaced and in my second room there was no wardrobe to hang my clothes. Although I was booked in for 3 nights, they could only find a reservation for 2 and were very unhelpful, so I had to come home one day early. Altogether a very horrible experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Recently stayed at the Punch Bowl Inn and on arrival there was a problem despite us booking in December the previous year for a stay in July and several phone conversations and a letter from our organiser. No e-mail confirmation was ever received and the barman in charge said that two of the rooms were booked for the 3 days we were supposed to stay there but the 2 single rooms were only booked for 2 nights and 1 person would have to change rooms for the second night. This was clearly unacceptable and in 16 years of staying in various locations our group had never experienced a problem like this. As it happens we were glad to only be there for 2 nights but the fact is their incompetance and lack of personel skills were clear. Think the bsuiness must be struggling as clearly in need of investment and better trained staff.

Room Tip: find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We used this pub for a one night stay to be able to visit Oxford. The room was very spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bus stop for Oxford was just a few yards down the road from the pub and took just 30 mins. The pub had a friendly atmosphere and ideal for a nice relaxing drink. The village has a fantastic Indian resturant which is just down the road from the pub. Our room was over the pub so some noise could be heard but nothing that stopped us getting a good night sleep. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

After reading earlier reviews of this B&B we were concerned about the quality of sleep that we would have at the Punchbowl. We needn't have worried. The room was large and clean. The facilities were fine for pub accomodation. The family room is over the bar but we couldn't hear any noise from there. The front window was a single glazed sash window which allowed street noise in but by 11:00pm all was quiet outside.
We asked about the earlier complaints of noise through the floor and were told that there is a disco every month. I would suggest ringing before booking to check that there is no disco on the night you stay.
The breakfast was very good, quality ingredients and well cooked. We will be happy to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aplin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Myself, my husband and kids stayed here for a long weekend, it looked pleasant on the website and when we got there and checked in we just looked at each other and went oh dear...!!! it is basically a pub for locals, the hallway to the toilets stunk of urine and i wouldnt let my kids use the pub toilets. The bedroom was extremely basic, the bedside lockers and furniture drawers fell apart when were opend, the window wouldnt close tight, i had to hold my hand over holes in the shower hose to wash myself!!
We were left fresh towels and the room was serviced daily. The breakfast was cooked made to order, which was fine. We didnt feel like having our dinner in the evenings there as the locals sort of took over, the music pounded until late and with young kids was not appropriate, we were right above the pub and im not joking the floor was literally vibrating with the loud music.
The punchbowl is a pub with rooms, it isnt for couples of families!! wont be returning ever again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooneyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The room was clean but basic. It is well situated for a night or two but wouldnt want to stay longer. We were woken during the night by very noisy plumbing in adjacent room. Pointed it out to the manager so perhaps it has been fixed?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 13 in Woodstock
191 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#3 of 13 in Woodstock
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punchbowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punchbowl Inn

Property: The Punchbowl Inn
Address: 12 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Punchbowl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for visiting Oxford and the Cotswolds...The Punchbowl Inn is a Public House (Pub) Which dates from the eighteenth century and is situated only 8 miles from Oxford in the historic town of Woodstock.Our accommodation facilities comprise 10 en-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Punchbowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing