We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a good clean”
Review of The Punchbowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Punchbowl Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Would not return as images on website did not reflect actuality. Place needs a a refurb and good clean throughout. The shower was was stained and dirty, there were missing handles on the very dated dressing table and the carpet stained. Can say the bed linen was clean though.
We had a room at the back of the Inn, it was noisy until very late, after midnight on both evenings. It was the hottest weekend of the year but had to keep window closed due to the noise and constant smoke drifting into the room from smoking area just below the window.
The breakfast was good but again had issues with hygiene in the bar area.
Shame as this place has so much potential and does not reflect the general attractiveness of the town itself.
Staff ok but not memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinthefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Friday evening arrival and friendly enough reception. Had a problem with room and next morning asked to be moved to different room to the same standard as our friends and this request was granted courteously, so satisfied here. Breakfast was very well cooked and although no extra toast or refills offered, it was good sized and served in friendly fashion. Sunday's breakfast however, was in complete contrast. Very poorly cooked and served up by different person with indifferent attitude,, hurriedly and basically in silence avoiding eye contact.
Would recommend perhaps one or two nights stay but be prepared! On final positive note, was good value for the price and brilliant location for Bleinham Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkmerlincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Woodstock is a lovely place to visit, with quaint pubs and antique shops. The Punch Bowl bedroom was comfortable and well equipped. Then bar was a "locals" pub, but was fine. The evening manager was very helpful, organising a taxi for us, which is more than can be said for the morning manager!

we were unaware that the breakfast slot was a measly 8-9 am. when we came down at 9.20, we were simply told breakfast was over. No offer of tea and toast even, and certainly no agreement to any form of discount because we hadn't had any breakfast.

It doesn't take much to keep me happy, but the manager's attitude took the gloss off what was otherwise a perfectly acceptable stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badger334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

The punchbowl is a nicely decorated little pub with a 10 room B&B.
The bar area is well equipped with TV screens and wifi.
The rooms are all en-suite with t.v.'s and freeview.
The breakfast is a combination of cereal and full English served by a lady who is both cheerful and helpful.
The general location is nice, close enough to Oxford but far enough away to get that village feel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francey1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

room was tastefully decorated & furnished to a good standard very clean & spacious
full english breakfast was very generous with large portions
we found staff to be very friendly
the inn does attract young customers who enjoy themselves having a chat & a laugh but we found them to be friendly & not to noisy
for the price we paid, very good value

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We booked at the Punchbowl Inn with some trepidation after reading the reviews but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and spacious and the breakfast was tasty and generous. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The beds were a little "creaky" but comfortable. This is not a Top of the Range Hotel but nowhere near as bad as some other reviews suggest. Very good central position .

Room Tip: Our room was at the front. A little noisy but we had left the window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This "Inn" does not belong in Woodstock, it is shabby and attracts the wrong crowd. The whole place is run down, badly managed and unhygenic. I had to move rooms after the first night and went from a reasonable room to a very horrible basement room. There are fixtures missing or damaged that have not been replaced and in my second room there was no wardrobe to hang my clothes. Although I was booked in for 3 nights, they could only find a reservation for 2 and were very unhelpful, so I had to come home one day early. Altogether a very horrible experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 13 in Woodstock
211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punchbowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punchbowl Inn

Address: 12 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £70 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Punchbowl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for visiting Oxford and the Cotswolds...The Punchbowl Inn is a Public House (Pub) Which dates from the eighteenth century and is situated only 8 miles from Oxford in the historic town of Woodstock.Our accommodation facilities comprise 10 en-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Punchbowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing