We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Woodstock”
Review of The Punchbowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Punchbowl Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as participated in a charity walk at nearby Blenheim Palace (this is the closest inn/hotel to the Palace actually, I think). Had a twin room right at the top of the building, it did overlook the back car park and smoking area but the noise levels were minimal; it really wasn't an issue. Room & bathroom were quite spacious, yes the décor is a bit old and tired but we were not expecting the Ritz and to be honest, in a place like Woodstock, you're out and about all the time anyway so it's not a problem. Room was clean and we had everything we needed. Service was excellent, everyone was really friendly, staff and locals alike. The bar is lovely, good place to relax and enjoy a nightcap. Breakfast was fine, no complaints at all. If you're looking for a luxurious room, go to the nearby Macdonald chain hotel, otherwise, I would fully recommend staying here, we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catl0ver2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Fantastic hotel. Antony will be a huge miss. Good banter and relaxed staff. We had a really good time. Rooms are homey. Breakfast was great. Good location, idea for travelling about. lovely area. We didn't eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pugow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with work. Warm welcome. Very old building (not a bad thing). The rooms are fairly basic and could do with a little renovating. My room was the only one with 2 x singles so i pushed them both together! The breakfast was spot on served by a lovely lady.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed don't stay in room no 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an2003dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Greeted by a friendly bloke who informed me that there would be no food available in the pub as there was no one available to cook.... Not a good start.

However, my room was clean, warm, large & full if character.

The mattress needs replacing ( springs gone ).

The kettle has to go on the floor as the lead won't reach the plug sockets.

Bathroom door needs trimming as it scrapes the flooring and takes some effort to open.

For the size of the room (very generous) the TV is very small, the wifi has patchy reception and forget about using your mobile (not the pubs fault on this one).

Character - lots of it!

All in all - with a little more attention to detail (and for negligible cost) this place could be cracking.

Great beer - shame I couldn't sample the food.


Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sussexsassenach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel really suited our needs. It is a great location for Blenheim Palace as it is literally a 2-3 minute walk to the main gait with a further 10 minute walk up the drive to the Palace itself. I have given it five stars because of the location and because the room was lovely, the staff friendly and because it had a car park. We had arranged an earlier book in for 12 midday which is earlier than is normally allowed. We arrived 15 minutes earlier than expected and had to bang on the window as all the doors were locked. However, they opened up and let us in without a problem and showed us to our room. I have read other reviews that say it needs refurbishment and I would agree with this in some areas but I think that adds to the attractiveness of the place. Breakfast was also well cooked and adequate. We loved it and would definitely stay there again. It's also far cheaper than a lot of the other places in Woodstock.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3 which was a great size and a lovely modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Should be an Inn with lots of character. Found staff to be friendly and helpful but in truth the place was quite dead during a mid week stay. Therefore, it was not serving food so we were recommended a choice of Chinese or Indian in the most English of English villages. The Indian was fine and we returned to the Punchbowl to enjoy some nice local ale and lager.

However the hygiene here is awful. Who puts carpets in a toilet? Yuk! The toothpaste stains are visible. One dreads to think of the invisible stains.

Room Tip: Ask if they have refurbished any of the rooms and don't take one with carpet in a toilet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Didn`t stay here but went in to watch football cup match (Liverpool vs Notts County). Nice staff and nice ales especially the Hurricane Ale (£3 a pint). A highly enjoyable night especially with the match end result.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#5 of 13 in Woodstock
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punchbowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punchbowl Inn

Address: 12 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £82 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Punchbowl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for visiting Oxford and the Cotswolds...The Punchbowl Inn is a Public House (Pub) Which dates from the eighteenth century and is situated only 8 miles from Oxford in the historic town of Woodstock.Our accommodation facilities comprise 10 en-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Punchbowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing