We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly pub”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chalfont st Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Just got back from a fantastic stay at The Star Inn. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and the room was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The pub is ideally located for exploring Oxfordshire and particularly Blenheim Palace. We ate at the pub and enjoyed the Tuesdsay night pub quiz. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    64
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
112
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for just one night, but it was certainly a good experience. We were doing a bit of driving around Southwest england, and rather than staying directly in Oxford, we opted to stay out here in Woodstock. We were glad we did. Woodstock is a very cute little town. It certainly isn't going to wow anybody with the nightlife, but there is a nice little main street with shops, and Blenheim Palace is quite beautiful.

The room was a pretty good value at 90 quid, and had a nice size bed. It certainly wasn't a huge room, but it was comfortable. And the view out onto the quiet main square of Woodstock was an added bonus.

The restaurant at the Star Inn was pretty good, but they close early like most places in the area. Breakfast was good, with a choice of traditional english breakfast or the more exotic french toast with mushrooms and a few other dishes. Give the French toast a try, it was kind of weird, but rather tasty.

If you are in the area, and want to stay in a quiet town rather than the hustle and bustle of Oxford, definitely consider Woodstock and this little inn.

Room Tip: Get the King Size room on Booking.com, good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Sadly our stay at this Inn was ruined by the reception and service that we received during breakfast time. The lady on duty, who I can only assume was the manager, was unwelcoming, unhelpful and rude. The uncomplicated breakfast that we ordered took 45 minutes to arrive, and was brought to us with no interaction, apology or explanation (if they were short staffed I wish they could have relayed this to us), but to top everything off the manager then instructed the cleaner to mop the floors around us and under our table while we were eating our breakfast making the whole place smell of disinfectant. On check -out, the same lady who was on duty during breakfast, was not even civil to us and clearly was not bothered about enquiring whether we had enjoyed our stay, but was plainly happy to receive the overpriced £110 paid. The service that we received during breakfast spoilt our whole stay at an otherwise pretty little Inn with a lovely room. I certainly would not go back to this Inn due to the rudeness of the manager on duty, let alone recommend it to others visiting Woodstock.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wales111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Couldn't fault the Star Inn Woodstock. Service was as friendly and as helpful as you can get, the food is fresh and delicious and a good wine list on offer.
The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated, spacious with a very comfty bed.
High standards without a silly over priced tag. Loved every minute of staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room overlooking market square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I stayed one night. I was given a double room which was very small. The en-suite didn't have a bath, just a shower. On the plus side, the room and the bathroom were spotless and the bed was comfortable. On the minus side, the room (heated by a small radiator)was cold. Next morning I found a fan heater hidden in a drawer but there had been no indication that it was there and by the time I found it, it was too late. The 'phone was also hidden in a cupboard. There was a bulb missing from one of the bedside lamps and there was no information of any sort in the room. You got to this room by using a winding staircase with very narrow steps which , I imagine, would present serious difficulty to anyone with less that 100% mobility. I certainly didn't find it easy to use.

I was told that breakfast was from eight (late by business standards) but when I arrived for breakfast, just after eight, the dining room was in darkness with no sign of any food or of any activity. A short while later a young woman, still in her coat, arrived and things began to get started. My breakfast (eventually) arrived and it was of an acceptable standard. There didn't appear to be anyone else staying there that night.

The room cost £75 and the breakfast £5 extra. I think that I'll try to find somewhere else if I visit Woodstock again..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

After eating in The Star Inn i would recomend to visit.
Excellent service friendly staff and great food.... must try the pies..... also such lovely rooms to stay in. I would definately recommend'.........

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodstockvistor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We did not stay at the Star Inn but went for dinner on 1st January. We turned up not having booked and were shown to an excellent table near the fire in the main restaurant. The menu choice and specials were excellent and the staff young and enthusiastic, Food tasted freshly cooked, portions plentiful and very well priced - I can recommend the Steak & Kidney Pie.

We will visit next time we are in Woodstock

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 13 in Woodstock
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#3 of 13 in Woodstock
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: 22 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing