We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Both my wife and myself enjoyed a superb three course meal with drinks in a fabulous pub. The service was excellent and overall great value. Booking is essential as this is a popular with both tourists and locals.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Russ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I write this from the big comfy bed after having a delicious breakfast downstairs..
I stayed here on my own as a single female because we're here for a wedding and my boyfriend stayed with the groom for best man duties. I wanted somewhere close to the church and not too busy so that I didn't feel like a minority and a little lonely lol.
I arrived late but the helpful staff took my bag up to my room straight away. The hotel and rooms are very up to date and beautiful. To my surprise It had tea faculties, iron/ironing board and even a hair dryer.
The walls are a little thin and can hear quite a lot of what goes on but that's because the building is so old. It wouldn't put me off..
The only thing I would warn people off is the stairs, they're not made for people with mobility issues. Again this is due to the age of the building.
Ignore the parking restrictions on the roads outside, although there is no car park to the hotel there is plenty of space around. The restrictions were lifted 3years ago but the signs are still in place.
I would definitely recommend the hotel if your staying in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our second visit. Lovely bedroom overlooking the Bear. Warm welcome from the staff who attended to every need. This is a really lovely, unspoilt pub which makes a perfect base for exploring Oxfordshire, the Cotswolds and beyond. There is just so much to do - Blenheim Palace and park are a 5 minute walk. Refurbished within the last 4 years, the bedrooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and have good bathrooms with quality toiletries. Despite being over the bar and facing on to the High Street, the pub shut at 11pm and silence reigned (save for the night when a car alarm went off!). The cooked breakfast is outstanding and was included in the price. We would not hesitate to go back. we had dinner each night and recommend that too. Hearty portions, excellent home made pies, two of us raved about the fish and chips as well as the home made burgers. this is serious but unpretentious pub grub.

Downside: there is no parking but we had no trouble parking on the street outside and there are no parking restrictions (despite the old signs which suggest otherwise). The stairs to the bedroom are steep and not for anyone with mobility issues.

Room Tip: I am told that Room 1 is the most popular - it, like Room 2, is on the front, overlooking the High S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonW923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it gave us the exact experience we were looking for in The Cotswolds. More than a B&B but not a standard hotel. The minute we arrived, the staff were super accommodating and whisked us to our room. The staircase is very steep and narrow - just go slowly. But it is all part of the charm of the place. Our room was a nice size and the bed was really comfortable. Everything was very clean - the bathroom in particular looked new. We had a great table right in front of the fire for dinner and the food was very good. The presentations were very good - something you might find in a fine dining restaurant. Throughout our stay all of the stay were very friendly and accommodating. Parking can be a challenge since it is all on street.

Room Tip: A room in the front overlooking the main street can offer better views but might be noisier. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a great traditional pub in the heart of Woodstock and only a stones throw away from the Blenheim Palace. The staff are friendly and the hotel accommodation was lovely. However what impressed us was the pub food which was amazing and offered a great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pdiddy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Eaten here three times now in the last 2 months and the food has been consistently good - fresh ingredients and prepared to order. This pub is a great place to visit to eat after an exploration of the beautiful local area, including Blenheim Palace and its Gardens. we live locally and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymadtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated and the bed was especially comfortable. As mentioned in other reviews the staircase to the rooms is spiral and steep which was fine for us might might be an issue for someone with mobility problems.

Breakfasts were excellent and very filling and we had dinner there both nights with a good choice of food, even for vegetarians.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChestnutCoppice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 13 in Woodstock
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: 22 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £78 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing