We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Check-in
This was a painless exercise and our bags were carried to our room.

Room
The rooms/hotel is old so expect the creaky floor boards. Our room was at the front on the hotel i.e. on the road and the only down side we the church clock chiming every hour!, so may be request a room to the rear of the hotel.

Food
The food was of a good standard and the service was excellent. The price was as expected as you are in a hotel.

Location
Great location in the middle of a small village with a number of shops and pubs

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed our location and the food you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Bear Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here with a friend last weekend taking advantage of a Winter Warmer Break. The twin room was fantastic - couldn't have asked for better. However, the meal in the hotel restaurant was very poor. They were very busy, the staff were very stressed and not particularly attentive. We did feel sorry for them however because they had to deal with a particularly loud party that included a few extremely rude and threatening guests. It wasn't the hotel's fault at all but the party did ruin the atmosphere of the restaurant and ruined the evening for the rest of us to be honest. I'm glad I wasn't there for a romantic meal because it certainly wouldn't have been that! The food wasn't good I'm afraid - simple, not a lot of taste and poor quality which is, in my mind, a real let down for the hotel. Aside from the whole 'restaurant experience', the hotel overall was good and the staff were lovely, in particular the wonderful young guy that helped us park our cars and carried our bags up to our room - a real asset to the hotel! I would definitely stay again and hope to have a better experience in the restaurant next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4425Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest

I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel recently, especially your bedroom and the service you experienced from the team. I was however extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your evening meal and the service you experienced.

Please be assured that on receiving your feedback I have immediately instigated a programme of retraining with the team to ensure that we continue to deliver the high standards our guests deserve.

I appreciate receiving your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel - indeed to contact me direct when you have a date in mind.

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Wow have stayed here twice now on business, in two very different rooms, but I loved them! the four poster beds are legend... Breakfast is excellent and for the most part, most of the staff are extremely accomodating

Room Tip: Room Six has an excellent four poster ;)
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Would recommend as a break away. Very happy with our stay. Only complaint was at 10.15pm when we returned to the hotel bar from dinner & asked for a Hot chocolate I was informed he had turned the machine off so couldn't do this. Bar was still busy so it seemed a bit ridiculous for a hotel of this rating to refuse a staying guest a simple drink request like this.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stimpyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Bear following your stay with us. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, however I was extremely concerned to learn of the service you experienced in the bar when you requested a hot chocolate. I would like to assure you that this is not in any way reflective of our usual standards and I will be using your constructive feedback to instigate a review within the catering team.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night and had a great experience. A friendly welcome, checked in early, room good and nice view to quiet Woodstock outside. Breakfast very good, so much choice! The Star and other pubs are very close by, and Blenheim just 5 mins walk down the road.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Newnham86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a helpful review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the welcome you received, your room and breakfast experience.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a fantastic experience staying at the Macdonald bear hotel. We were in the area on a shopping trip and spent the day at the near by Bicester village which is very easy to find from the hotel. The bedroom was spacious and immaculately clean, the breakfast offering was extensive and very good and the staff very polite and friendly. In the evening we had drinks in the bar sat next to the big open fire.
This really is a lovely hotel with lots of character

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that the team were polite and friendly!

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spent New Years eve here with friends. The staff were very attentive without being over bearing, member of staff noticed a light bulb had gone in my bedroom when I arrived, and fix it within 5 min. Hotel was very clean,with some lovely homely touches, a box of chocolates and some eye gell, which is needed after dancing till 1. Breakfast perfectly cooked and plenty of it , as was the evening meal. I would go there again,great place to stay , super comfy bed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear following your stay with friends for New Years Eve. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
835 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
10.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
8.5 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bear Hotel

Address: Park Street, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £70 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Bear Hotel is one of the finest 4-star hotels in Oxfordshire and part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection. Set in Woodstock, in what was once a 13th century coaching inn, our hotel combines history and culture with exceptional facilities. With direct access to the historic city of Oxford, our hotel is a popular choice for leisure breaks, business and weddings.Our hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, peaceful views over the courtyard and stunning period features.Our hotel in Oxfordshire is perfect for a relaxing retreat. Roam the historic city of Oxford and marvel in the dreaming spires or linger in the city's many shops and museums. Once you've finished exploring - we recommend a visit to our award-winning restaurant and bar for the finest of fares and a well deserved nightcap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Bear
Macdonald Bear Woodstock
Bear Hotel Uk Woodstock
Bear Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing