We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woke early in the morning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Woke early in the morning”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here as we are doing the Blenheim Tri later this afternoon and looking forward to a bit of a lay in bed. Rudely woken by water cascading in from the room above. Rang reception and the DM came across to sort out the issue, an occupier above with no sense ( flooded the bathroom). While deciding what to do the water fall started again, rang reception who came over with a new room key and the offer of assistance to move our gear. Now in new dry room and complementary breakfast. Thanks to the DM and staff for their swift and efficient service.
Otherwise a lovely hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skirover01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for submitting a review of the Macdonald Bear during your stay.

I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, however may I reiterate the Duty Managers apology for the inconvenience you were caused by the guest in the room above you.

I am glad you felt looked after by the team in this situation and hope that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable.

I appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    529
    184
    77
    36
See reviews for
241
1,021
24
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Me and my husband visited here for one night before visiting Blenheim Palace.
We wish we could have stayed longer as the hotel was in such a beautiful, peaceful location.
We arrived during the evening, dropped off our bags and went straight to eat in the bar area. The food was lovely and the setting was perfect - really relaxed!
Our room was lovely, quite large and decorated well. There was tea and coffee in the room and it was very quiet in the hotel!
The breakfast the following day was lovely, good selection of cereals/ pastries etc as well as a lovely cooked breakfast!
Would highly recommend this hotel - we would visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizQ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location, your room and breakfast experience.

It is great to know that you would recommend us and you will return - we look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is full of character and lots of charm. It's facilities manage to be reasonably up to date without interfering with the hotel's traditional nature.
One of the principal benefits is that it is within an easy walk of Blenheim Palace and it is an ideal base if that is the object of your visit.
I was amused to be sat in a comfy armchair in reception to sort out the normal formalities rather than standing at a counter or desk. The staff I found to be friendly.

The bar was very quiet and relatively expensive compared to its local competitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Bear as historical Woodstock appealed. It is a small, pretty town with good, interesting retail. The Bear is in a good location in the town with ample free car parking. Most in actual courtyard of hotel, in front of downstairs rooms. Our stay coincidentally was the long weekend, and The Bear was booked fully. I suspect it mostly is, because of Blenheim. As a local retailer said happily "it helps to be next door to a Palace". We initially thought The Bear expensive. We had been avoiding hotels in favour of independent accommodation in England, but The Bear showed the benefits of staying in a good hotel. Being pampered. The staff were exceptional, extremely professional, well trained in Customer Relations and beautifully mannered, all of them. Maids carrying baskets with supplies who cheerfully checked at rooms early each evening in case guests required anything. Never experienced that. A gracious touch.

Hotel has no elevators so we requested a courtyard room which was spacious, private, quiet, had a mini frig, large bathroom, bathrobes, crystal glassware, complimentary water, free WIFI and 2 comfortable lounge chairs and a table. Fastidiously clean throughout premises and car park/courtyard areas. Clothes iron and ironing table were I think the first satisfactory examples of these I have ever found in an hotel. Was almost a pleasure to do the ironing. Complimentary breakfast includes a diverse hot choice of eggs, sausages, bacon and was excellent. We noted each morning guests who were regular visitors, over many years we gathered and were very fond of the staff, knew them by name and happily had polite catch-ups with them.
Had dinner in the elegant restaurant and it was beautifully served and enjoyable and we met famous Winston a huge bear especially made many, many years ago to be the hotel mascot. After seeing Winston having dinner with a very tiny guest, I was smitten by him. Also an exceptional employee. I wanted to book Winston for breakfast, a sleepover and a drive in the country but my husband pointed out the child guests needed him. Sad. Had to contend with having a cuddle and taking photos. We loved our stay at The Bear and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms lovely and parking in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a wonderful and detailed review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was extremely pleased to learn of your enjoyable visit, in particular the service from the team, room facilities and restaurant experiences. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A fantastic beautiful traditional English hotel. We stayed in the burnham room which has been updated in the traditional style of the age of the hotel. The bathroom was spacious, immaculate and clean, with a large walk in shower. The bedroom had a large comfortable four poster bed, ample space for storage. The staff were friendly and professional. We ate at the hotel and although the menus were not large something for everyone and deserving of its two rosettes. Breakfast was cooked to order and although took some time to be cooked was worth waiting for. A lovely bar area, and outdoor area. Parking easy outside front of hotel. Blenheim palace is a few minutes walk away with its beautiful grounds. Woodstock is a lovely village that oozes English charm.

Room Tip: We had a upgrade and were at the front of the hotel which was nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMB12Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that the team were friendly and professional.

We appreciate your helpful comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Bear Hotel. We had a lovely room in the old glove factory with a 4-poster bed. The settee had been folded down for a bed for our daughter but there was still plenty of space. The staff were friendly & helpful, particularly the manager at breakfast who brought Winston the Bear to sit with us, much to my daughter's delight. Breakfast was very tasty too. The hotel is walking distance from Blenheim Palace & the village of Woodstock is lovely with a few nice pubs & cafés. The only negative thing was the terrible service in the bar. We booked a table but there was no reservation & it was just a bar area. It took ages to get served & when we finally did (after waiting over half an hour in a bar with only two other tables of customers) they didn't have what our daughter wanted, a tuna sandwich! We ended up walking out very disappointed.

Room Tip: The glove factory is lovely & away from the main building so away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKandtheMadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, especially your room and the service you experienced at breakfast.

I would however like to sincerely apologise for your disappointment with the service you experienced in the bar. Please be assured that this is not in any way reflective of our usual standards and I will be using your constructive feedback to instigate a review within the bar team so that any similar lapses could not be repeated.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely hotel, great breakfast stayed in the Churchill suite with my husband and two boys. Tv's in the room couldn't get picture which is a must for my two, however discount was given for this annoyance. Blenheim palace stone's throw away and well worth a visit especially when using Tesco voucher £10.00 which get's you a family ticket basically and then receive an annual pass. Free hotel car park. Great girls on reception. Although going to charge me for posting back my little one's Thomas the tank annual that he left behind, I declined, thought that was tight! Well worth a visit - no swimming pool just so you know.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsyh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Bear following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and visit to Blenheim Palace.

I was sorry to learn of the misunderstanding regarding your sons book as we do not charge for the return of small items left in rooms. I have checked with our Housekeeping Manager and she has confirmed that it was returned to you free of charge last week, I hope that this has been safely received.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,277 reviews
10.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bear Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bear Hotel
Address: Park Street, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Bear Hotel is one of the finest 4-star hotels in Oxfordshire and part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection. Set in Woodstock, in what was once a 13th century coaching inn, our hotel combines history and culture with exceptional facilities. With direct access to the historic city of Oxford, our hotel is a popular choice for leisure breaks, business and weddings.Our hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, peaceful views over the courtyard and stunning period features.Our hotel in Oxfordshire is perfect for a relaxing retreat. Roam the historic city of Oxford and marvel in the dreaming spires or linger in the city's many shops and museums. Once you've finished exploring - we recommend a visit to our award-winning restaurant and bar for the finest of fares and a well deserved nightcap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Bear
Macdonald Bear Woodstock
Bear Hotel Uk Woodstock
Bear Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing