We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ghastly staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Bear Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ghastly staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

When we arrived at the hotel reception we were "greeted" by the most unprofessional receptionist I have ever encountered - I don't think she even said "hello". She monotonously blurted out some information about room keys and breakfast - needless to say, she didn't smile once. When I thought she might be tired from a long day and tried to ease the tension by asking questions, she became unfriendly and almost rude. We left the reception feeling awful. We then discovered that even though we had required a room with high(er) ceilings, she had put us in a room with low ceilings, even though (as it turned out later) there was in fact a room available with high ceilings. She did not apologise - she made us feel as though we've been "difficult". It was terrible. The rest of staff were also entirely indifferent, no one made us feel welcome. Horrible disappointment. It's a lovely hotel, yes, but if your staff treats your guests in this way no one will ever wish to return to your establishment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingridmarmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Ingridmarmor,

I was disappointed to read your review of the Bear and would like to assure you that your experience is in no way reflective of our usual standards of service.

I would appreciate the opportunity of investigating your feedback and would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel in order that we can discuss the details of your stay.

Regards,

Sam Aziz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    510
    177
    74
    35
See reviews for
231
984
22
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Having visited The Bear Inn at Woodstock in the past, we were astonished with the vast improvements Macdonald Group have achieved at this hotel in a lovely village close to magnificent Blenheim Palace.
Physically, the best of the past at this wonderful historic coaching inn has been preserved whilst significantly upscaling the comfort as well as applying fine food,excellent service and all superb value. Very well done.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Andygolfer,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

Sam Aziz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

A great place, very welcoming staff, great food and i loved my own little mini house!! 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andygolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Sam Aziz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We only stayed the one night but thought the hotel was great in every aspect and set in a beautiful village!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lankymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Macdonald Bear very soon.

Kindest regards,

Sam Aziz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

I stayed here for one short night arriving late. On arrival I was shown to the reception desk and made to feel at home immediately. There is something nice about being asked if I would like to sit down whilst registering. The receptionist also told that the room was lovely, and it didn't disappoint. The service was truely the best I have had, subtle but friendly and sincere.

I ordered room service and was told 45 mins, it arrived in 30, again very friendly staff and the food was really nice (fish and chips).

The room was smallish. but themed and comfortable, the bed was nice. I did not a couple of issues, in particular loose floor tiles in the bathroom, but I mentioned this to reception on leaving and did get the feeling this would be looked into.

Had breakfast in the lounge, again made to feel right at home. The food was great. I ordered bespoke (a good way to get fresh cooked food) and it was. Nice not to have buffet hot food that has sat there for hours.

Overall, I would describe the overall experience as like being in a really pleasant B&B with hotel facicilties. Well done the Bear hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinandnicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay at The Bear Hotel.

I was delighted to learn that the team looked after you so well and you had such a positive experience. It is always helpful to receive feedback such as yours as it helps us to ensure we are offering the level of service that our guests expect and deserve. I have passed your comments to the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My wife and I have stayed in the Bear several times over the last 10 years and have enjoyed every stay immensely. It has just the right mixture of service, price and quality with very friendly, but not overly familiar satff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your feedback following your recent stay at The Bear.

It is such a pleasure to know that our guests have a positive experience and the team are extremely encouraged by your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My wife & I spent to nights at the Bear to see in 2011 - consequently the review is more focused on a New Year experience as opposed to a general stay. Key points:
- This is a beautiful, old, atmospheric coaching inn with creaky stairs and uneven floors - the imagination runs riot
- Ample parking considering the hotel was full
- Good check in experience with the bonus of being upgraded to an excellent 4 Poster Suite overlooking the main street/Town Hall
- Suite had usual amenities, although bathroom was a bit small and needed a bit of an upgrade.
- All staff very friendly, helpful and trying to please
- Small agreeable bar selling drinks and food by an open fire
- Lovely dining room which was transformed for an excellent New Year's Eve Dinner Dance where credit should go to the DJ who had all ages dancing all the time
- Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked, and of good choice
- Drinks were on the pricey side
- Check out was efficient, quick and accurate.

This was a great way to see in 2011

We will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Thank you for your review - I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your New Year experience with us.

Your feedback is extremely helpful for us to ensure we are offering the level of service our guests expect and deserve.

We hope to welcome you back to see in 2012, if not before!

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
10.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bear Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bear Hotel
Address: Park Street, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Bear Hotel is one of the finest 4-star hotels in Oxfordshire and part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection. Set in Woodstock, in what was once a 13th century coaching inn, our hotel combines history and culture with exceptional facilities. With direct access to the historic city of Oxford, our hotel is a popular choice for leisure breaks, business and weddings.Our hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, peaceful views over the courtyard and stunning period features.Our hotel in Oxfordshire is perfect for a relaxing retreat. Roam the historic city of Oxford and marvel in the dreaming spires or linger in the city's many shops and museums. Once you've finished exploring - we recommend a visit to our award-winning restaurant and bar for the finest of fares and a well deserved nightcap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Bear
Macdonald Bear Woodstock
Bear Hotel Uk Woodstock
Bear Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing