We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Feathers are Moulting”
Review of Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Feathers are Moulting”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

There was no hot water. The attractive room was freezing. The wifi was pathetic and prevented a vital Skype meeting. The food was appalling, dinner and breakfast and there was no Marmite. I suppose that it what happens if you try to run an hotel in a beautiful Oxfordshire town from a base in the Isle of Man. It is easy to see why the rooms are half price. The staff are attentive and mostly charming. They need to be.

Until someone appears to rescue it the answer is simple: stay away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    267
    99
    42
    18
See reviews for
62
558
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We held our company conference at the Feathers during January 2014. As a relatively small company (only 20 in number), we found the Feathers to be an ideal venue.

Everyone was delighted with their rooms and the staff were more than helpful in looking after us all, both during our conference in the day and into the evening, when we enjoyed a fabulous dinner and a few drinks at the bar! Many of us tried some of the 175 varieties of gin that the Feathers stock.

We would definitely use the Feathers again for a similar event and I know many of us will definitely consider staying there on a personal level.

Denise
Atlantic RMS Limited

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at the Feathers on a last minute booking as I was in Oxford on business. The log fire smell greets you in reception. The staff were very good and nothing was any trouble.
The room was good and had a large comfortable double bed. Spacious room and bathroom were well furnished and homely. The only drawback was difficulty in finding parking close by if you arrive early evening.
I will definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My partner and I had a weekend booked away for the weekend just gone at the Feathers (a voucher deal, admittedly, for 2 nights plus a 5 course taster meal.

Our room was fantastic and very well sized for just the two of us - including a large bed, dressing table plus a coffee table and 2 sizeable armchairs! This couldn't have been more suitable for the unlimited and complimentary fresh tea and coffee bought to your room from just a phone call away!

Service was fantastic and all staff were helpful and friendly, including some help with nearby entertainment. I have to say the area of Woodstock is rather quaint and beautiful, but is significantly lacking in things to do other than a large collection of pubs and Blenheim Hotel, so I would only recommend a short break here as you may be left a little bored.

The 5 course taster meal was delicious, although very small. Drinks are quite expensive (Although very expansive !!) so we did tend to visit the local pubs more often to enjoy a beverage.

Breakfast service is delicious, with a wide range of cereals and small pastries, and their cooked breakfasts are lovely with a huge choice.

Our only complaint would be that the rooms are stiflingly warm, but this is only corrected by opening a window (or two) and turning the radiator down!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Feathers last night, which is our second visit. These are the things I loved; the smell of the log fire in reception, the exceptionally helpful staff, the sloe gin (so good I needed a second glass), the lovely room (in the town house), afternoon tea by the log burner, a stroll around the town and the sticky toffee pudding (a secret recipe apparently). I am wondering how quickly we can return for another night away - as I can't stop thinking about that dessert!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 526Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I spent New Year at this historic hotel. It was super. Log fires, excellent food, and caring, friendly and professional staff. The 175 varieties of gin certainly gave the bar a sense of pizzazz. We had a terrific stay and will return again and again.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor - the rooms are fine and quiet but the stairs are narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisestart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is located in the centre of Woodstock. We were warmly welcomed by a very friendly receptionist who insisted on carrying our suitcase. To our delight we had been upgraded to a suite as it was my wife's birthday. A huge beautiful room with its own sitting room and separate TV. Very cosy and comfortable. Very nice tasting meal in dining room. Staff very attentive and friendly especially the young girl that served us. Breakfast the next morning was a bit disappointing. Very slow and we were the second coulpe in. Toast brought before main breakfast so was cold when we came to eat it. Cooked breakfast took a long time to arrive only to find bacon overcooked and not able to cut through. My wife sent hers back and waited a long time for a replacement. This is the only thing that let the hotel down. They need more staff and supervision on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,634 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
8.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers Hotel

Property: Feathers Hotel
Address: Market Street, Woodstock OX2O 1SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing