We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and poor”
Review of Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretentious and poor”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Dead plants in the courtyard to greet you
Food very average soup was cold toast for breakfast only cooked on one side
Gin bar a good idea bar man very pleasant
Restaurant and bar lacked atmosphere
Good location
Wine list totally over priced

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We really do appreciate you taking the time to review The Feather’s Hotel. Unfortunately we were caught out by the bout of unseasonal weather and this did affect our entrance courtyard. This is in the process of being redone and is being transformed into a herb garden. I am sorry you disliked the soup and restaurant, we generally receive very positive feedback on our food and restaurant. We are in the process of reviewing our food offering and service. I do hope you will return to us and if you contact me directly at the Hotel and will be very pleased to help you with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    267
    99
    42
    18
See reviews for
62
558
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel had no car park but we got parked right outside on a Saturday afternoon, the hotel was quirky with lovely features, spotlessly clean, beautiful flower arrangements! The receptionist greeted us warmly as did every single member of staff that passed us! Great customer service! Room was in town house attached to hotel third floor, lovely room bed was big enough for 4 people, crisp white linen, beautiful & stylish! Water & jar of jelly beans in room! Bathroom very clean! Slept fab! 5 course tasting menu was fabulous the food was outstanding, hot, delicious ! My veg risotto was as good as 'Raymond Blancs Le Manoir' !!! Congratulations to your chefs!! Gin bar excellent staff knew their gins & tonics! Breakfast the next morning was good but not the same quality as our evening meal but ear ice was good! Overall we felt very welcome at this hotel, keep the good work up, we will be back bringing friends !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jfoxy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We really do appreciate you taking the time to write your wonderful review. I will ensure that Head Chef and his team get to read your lovely comments. I do hope that you will be returning to us in the very near future and I will bear in mind your comments in regards to breakfast when we are next reviewing our offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our daughter bought us a two night stay at The Feathers, with a five course tasting menu one night, for Christmas. It gave us something to look forward to in the spring, and we had a wonderful time. We were blessed with sunshine for our two days. The hotel is lovely. It reminded us a bit of The Pig in Brockenhurst on a smaller scale. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The bed comfy, the bedding good quality. The shower was over the bath, but powerful, not like some hotels. A nice touch was the bottled water and jelly beans. Although there weren't tea and coffee making facilities in the room, you were able to call reception and they brought freshly brewed coffee to the room, free of charge. So much nicer. Thankfully the windows open up as the room was quite warm, and I imagine in the summer it could be a bit stuffy, but there was a fan in the wardrobe, presumably for that reason. The meal was nicely presented and tasty, especially the earl grey panna cotta. We wanted a bottle of prosecco and they didn't have one chilled so gave us a bottle of champagne for the same price. It's an example of great customer service. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and we really loved trying a few of the many varieties of gin in the bar .The barman really knew his stuff, and we have a whole new world of gins to discover. Obviously with only two nights we couldn't try all 190! We would thoroughly recommend this quirky little hotel, it's full of character, is in a lovely part of the country, and has Blenheim Palace on the doorstep. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It was a delight to read your review and please pass on our thanks to your daughter from introducing you to The Feathers. I do hope you will return to us very soon as we are now up 192 gins so even more for you to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We met friends for dinner and an overnight stay at The Feathers Hotel. We all had the 5 course Tasting Menu, which was excellent: amuse bouche; asparagus wrapped in parma ham; crab risotto, rump of lamb; dessert. The room was large, well appointed with a king-sized bed and quiet although at the front of the hotel. definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. It is always very pleasing to read when we have excelled from start to finish on our guests stay. I do hope we can welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have recently had a 2 night break here with their tasting menu included one evening.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, our room was lovely and very clean and the food - breakfast and the tasting menu - was amazing!

No tea/coffee in the rooms but a quick call to reception and it is delivered to you within minutes and complimentary!!!

The hotel is famous for its 'Gin Bar' and all gin lovers should plan a visit asap!

Looking forward to a return visit sometime and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

As there is no car park attached to the hotel, parking is in the street but we had no trouble at all finding a space each day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 235CAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do hope that you are able to return to us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I think the previous reviewers went to a different hotel to the one I stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and lovely goodies in the bathroom. The eggs Benedict were fantastic and I didn't eat again until 5 pm . I didn't have dinner but a few weeks before I'd had very good lunch that you could eat in the restaurant or relax in the bar. Roll on summer when I shall be eating in the sun trap courtyard.

Room Tip: Room 25 has a dual aspect and even with the window open all night I was not disturbed by any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AreaD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are very proud of our all of our food offering here at The Feathers; so I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed all aspects of it. We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We arrived at the Feathers and were really looking forward to afternoon tea (my favorite meal :)) however it was extremely disappointing!
We had one tiny scone each 2 tiny finger sandwiches (one was fish paste and the other egg mayo) and 2 small pieces of fruit cake for £16.50 each!! Everything on the plate was beige and bland, not how afternoon tea should be, the loose tea was lovely though. At Bovey castle the afternoon tea was £1.50 more and you got 3 scones each, 4 cakes each and a wide selection of sandwiches.
There were road works going on outside the hotel which wasn’t a problem, that can’t be helped however there was no background music in the restaurant so all we could hear was drilling which isnt very relaxing.
I went to the shop and bought some cakes and we went back to our room, ordered some tea (they don’t have tea making facilities in your room) and then heard and awful intermittent noise (a pump from the room next door). After two hours we called reception and explained that it wasn’t a problem at that moment however we wanted to move rooms as it was so loud there was no way we would be able to sleep that night. The receptionist said she would send someone up to look, after 3 calls to reception and 3 visits from the chap from the Bar the receptionist admitted this was an issue they had had before and moved us to another room.
Both rooms we had were quite dirty the first had a huge gold mirror which was covered in thick dust, there was also dust on the skirting boards and in the bathroom. The second room had cobwebs in the bathroom and thick black hairs on the loo and in the bath.
We were told there would be a turn down service and they would come and remove the ironing board (which was falling apart and did not serve its purpose) that we had borrowed but there wasn’t and no one did so.
We went to the Bar for cocktails and ordered some nibbles and were told we couldn’t have these as the head chef was away! Not a great start to dinner, surely if the chef can cook our three course meal he can prepare nibbles?
The service we received at dinner was really great and the food was nice. The next day we came down to breakfast and again the drilling continued (from the road works) with no background music. Breakfast wasn’t great, the portions were tiny and my eggs were over cooked.
We mentioned we were unhappy on check out and they removed the afternoon tea from our bill.
It was not the relaxing weekend away i needed and i will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It is very disappointing to read your review especially around aspects of the hotel that we receive very positive reviews about. I am sincerely sorry that we let on this occasion especially as pride ourselves on delivering above and beyond our customers expectations. It is pleasing to read that you did enjoy your evening meal. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to The Feathers so that we can restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,634 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
8.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers Hotel

Property: Feathers Hotel
Address: Market Street, Woodstock OX2O 1SX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing