We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but ...............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blenheim Buttery
Ranked #4 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in the centre of Woodstock and within walking distance of Blenheim Palace and not much else then this hotel is fine. But if you're looking for something a bit special then look elsewhere. Our room was bland and the shower room was little bigger than a large cupboard. There was a good choice for breakfast which was freshly cooked and beautifully served. The staff were cheerful and attentive. Just a shame about the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I liked the historic feeling of this location where we spent one night.
Our room was a bit shallow. The large bed took up most of the width of the room. The en suite bathroom had a very small sink and a glass shelf above it that could be a real head thumper, if you're not careful. We ran out of hot water when my husband was shaving, so we didn't try to take showers.
Our room was through the courtyard and up an exterior flight of steps. If you have mobility issues, you might want to look elsewhere.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a good night's sleep. The location is very convenient, especially for visiting the Blenheim Palace. We didn't spend a lot of time in the restaurant, but our breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Located near Woodstock high st, this is so much more than just a regular inn. The rooms are so comfortable, that it is exactly like staying in a 4star hotel. We stayed over for a wedding nearby and had a great comfortable sleep. The room had adequate space and was very clean. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was nice and we left happy and fed!!.. Overall, had a very satisfying stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed one night and enjoyed it. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was spotless and the breakfast really good. Only drawback was the size of the room. We were in room 3 and it really was a little too small.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickJacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three days. Very clean. Lovely decor. Fabulous breakfast, well cooked and plenty of choice. Courteous staff, very friendly. My only gripe would be the room size. We stayed in number 3. It was quite claustrophobic. I think it was the size of the windows. The shower was extremely small. It was situated at the back, I had asked for a front facing room, and I booked well in advance. All in all a very pleasant stay. I cannot comment on the food during our stay, as apart from breakfast we didn't eat in the cafe.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cgiovannone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night last week and found the hotel very good. The staff were welcoming and sorted any minor issues we had (no towels in room but there were sorted promptly).
The room itself was very comfortable, it felt like an ensuite bedroom in a nice house rather than a faceless hotel room. The bed was really comfortable and we both had the best night sleep in a hotel room for a long time!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PPPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A great place to stay if you find yourself in Woodstock.
Fantastic clean room (room 6) with comfortable beds and plenty of fluffy towels in the bathroom.
Breakfast was fine - there was a choice of cereals, juice etc and a hot menu to order from. No sign of any toast though despite the preserves on the table. Also, no coffee refill offered which was a bit of a disappointment!
Had a little incident overnight which gave me the eeby-jeebies.... Was just about to fall asleep, when the kettle turned itself on and boiled away merrily. Dodgy electrics or a restless spirit? You decide...


Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nursemate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
870 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blenheim Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim Buttery

Address: 7 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £66 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blenheim Buttery 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Blenheim Buttery, offering accommodation in the centre of Woodstock, Oxfordshire. Comprising of 6 en-suite rooms offering clean and comfortable accommodation. All rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect the traditional charm and warmth of this 17th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blenheim Buttery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blenheim Buttery Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing