We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pollen B and B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pollen B and B
Ranked #8 of 14 Woodstock B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and peaceful”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Pollen has such a warm and friendly feel to it. The decor is beautiful and each antique tells a story. There is such a clean, homely feel to the rooms, and my bed was so comfortable, I slept 2 hours later than my normal wake up time!

Martha, the manager, was so friendly, she made our stay so easy and relaxed. She genuinely loves people. And breakfast was lovely. Thankyou, it was just the break I needed, we will come again. Much love.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Aptly named as it is adjacent to the local florists, this is a delightfully furnished B&B in the centre of this lovely Cotswold town. Parking was not a problem, but might be more so in peak summer months, as Blenheim is an easy walk from here. Very comfortable bed (a four poster in my case) and really tastefull decorations. Martha is very welcoming. Breaksfast is served in the kitchen itself. The only negative I noted was that the sausages were of a medioicre quality.
Strongly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We went to Woodstock to have a weekend away from the city. Woodstock is a small town on only a few roads, probably mostly served by visitors to Blenheim Palace which is a short walk away. We didn't visit Blenheim palace but just enjoyed the small village feel of various pubs and restaurants.

Situated on the high street, it holds a treasure trove of furniture and artefacts which could only have been picked up from years of travelling. No bulk buy furniture here, just a fusion of many countries such as Austrian style seating in the kitchen (my Austrian Wife approved), a Japanese style garden as well as much more.

Our room had a four poster bed which we later found out had been the bed that King Edward had shared with Wallace Simpson.

Martha was lovely, cooked a great breakfast as well. We sat in the kitchen feeling more like house guests than visitors, relaxed - nothing was too much trouble.

I would seriously recommend staying here if in the area or as we did visit Oxford the next day which is a short drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

If you are looking for a modern souless hotel then this is not the place for you! This was a gorgeous quaint little cottage in the middle of a lovely old English village. It was filled with beautiful quirky furniture and cottage style, the kitchen is really sociable and we were served a fantastic full english breakfast at a time of our own choosing. It really felt like I was staying in someones home. Woodstock too did not disappoint with a great selection of pubs and gastro pubs and oxford was not far for a day trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champers_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had gone to Woodstock this summer and travelled around the area, staying at 3 different locations in the Cotswold and this was by far the best B and B we've ever been to. It's located in the heart of the lovely town of Woodstock, with antique stores and restaurants right across, and a beautiful ten minute walk to the Blenheim Palace. The views of the palace from this particular entrance are breathtaking!
The decor is exquisite with antiques scattered all over. Whoever owns the place surely has a fine eye. We stayed in the large family room right at the top. For a place with such "old-world" charm, Pollen does not deny one of modern- day comforts which we are all so used to (fantastic power showers, cable tv, and very comfortable and fresh crisp bed linen).
Our hostess Martha was simply lovely! Every morning she went to fetch us freshly baked croissants, made us omelettes, and also brought cocoa pops for my 4 year old son thinking that he would enjoy that! So touching! When the weather was beautiful and sunny she served us breakfast in the beautiful garden at the back where we could hear the birds chirping and butterflies fluttering around....
We changed our trip in a way that we could spend an extra two nights at Pollen, before we heading back to Dubai. We will surely be going back! Our son often misses Martha, the gorgeous Pollen B and B and the lovely little flower shop that welcomes you when you walk into the door.

Room Tip: Family room (2 bedroom suite) for those with children, and the four poster room for couples or singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ammara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This b&b was more like staying in someone's own home than a b&b. The quirky nature of it makes it quite unlike anywhere I have ever stayed before. The flat/ muddle room was a hotchpotch of uneven floors, ceilings, windows and furniture with a 4 poster single bed (which made me feel like a princess!), and a huge double bed in a seperate room which made for unique experience. An en suite off the double room. We also had the double on the top floor which was equally interesting. If you find sleeping without curtains a problem, you will find the skylights not to your liking. it has a very cluttered feel with lot's of items of antiques and bric a brac everywhere..but that is what makes it interesting .As I said it was a bit like staying in someone's house with random items filling drawers when I went to put clothes away.... Martha, the manager/housekeeper, a lovely Burmese lady, was very welcoming. Provided a wonderful breakfast in the kitchen. Everyone sits together and she cooks on a big aga as you watch. Very homely. I will defiantly use this again and recommend it to anyone who likes something a bit different. Be aware there are a lot of stairs heh may not suit women l s s mobile although my elderly mother managed them slowly...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We managed to find Pollen House during a very busy weekend of events at Blenheim. Was glad simply to find a room but the reality was superb. Nothing too much trouble for the friendly Martha. Quirky room with plenty of space and superb power-shower in bathroom (using an antique bowl as a wash-basin!)
Lovely breakfast with other guests.
Well located in centre of town. By the (Saturday) evening there was ample parking right outside enabling us to move the car nearer. Easy walking distance to the Palace.

Room Tip: Quietest room perhaps Attic room but the large front room has more space (and shutters). The "F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsGds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 14 in Woodstock
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 14 in Woodstock
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollen B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollen B and B

Property: Pollen B and B
Address: 16 High Street, Woodstock OX20 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollen B & B has an excellent reputation for high quality, traditional hospitality right in the heart of historic Woodstock, Oxfordshire and situated 9 miles from the centre of Oxford - a private listed home, protected by 23 sprinklers, it retains its listed character and preserves its 18th century charm but with modern en-suite baths, special windows, and conveniences. We respect all guests who enjoy antiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing