We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marlborough Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Feathers Hotel(Woodstock)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
The Dashwood Hotel(Kirtlington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
238
128
31
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
128
31
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners and staffblenheim palaceroll top bathfull englishbottle of proseccoprivate parkingcar parkold coaching innbreakfast roomcream teawithin walking distancehuge bedcooked breakfastoff street parkingcomfortable bedshort walkon arrival
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you advertise "Luxury B&B", be sure to make sure its everywhere - not just in the bedroom or bathroom. The choice at breakfast was not luxury at all. When we arrived at 9.00am for breakfast, the fruit bowl (looked like tinned grapefruit) was all but gone - nothing interesting on the menu - actually there wasn't one to choose from - just the normal full English offered by a member of staff. No fish, cold meats, surprising since the area is full of American and European tourists. I asked for decaff tea, but it tasted strange. I'd have liked decaff options and gluten free choices of cereals. Poor all round I thought.
For the price we paid for the room/breakfast, I was upset and disappointed and felt cheated.
The wifi in the bedroom was also poor although we were told to try it as it was pretty good in most rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main A44 to Oxford road considerably noisier than elsewhere. Old windows rattle.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding our breakfasts. We will look into offering more choices in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Charming old coaching inn right in the middle of the town. This is a B & B & not a hotel so no other meals available or "regular" bar but quality drinks can to purchased for residents & also arranged for when you return late at night. The lounge is very comfy & welcoming with plenty of nice sofas, magazines, a big oak table to gather around & big fireplaces (which I am told are lit in winter). This is probably the best of both worlds as there are a number of quality hotels & pubs all very close together so its good to get out & explore but with the option of this quiet haven if you prefer with no mass invasion from the public. The town was packed this weekend & even standing room was difficult for a drink when out & about. Bedrooms are very clean, comfy bed with crisp white sheets, flat screen TV etc - all that you would expect. the public rooms make you want to sit & relax with French doors that open onto a small court yard with outside seating, parking is plentiful. I understand that the whole house can be rented (12 rooms) for large parties etc & caterers arranged if required. Property dates back to the late 1400s so creaky stairs & full of character - but a good feel to the place & sympathetic to old & new. Great breakfast with a good choice, better than some large hotel chains & friendly service. Our room was on the front & it was a busy weekend, but we didn't notice any noise from the street. I would imagine in very hot weather it could be uncomfortable though. It probably seems pricy for a B & B normally, but not when you compare it to the cost of other rooms in the town & the location. it does offer more than a regular B & B.

We ate at the Kings Arms across the road. Stylish restaurant, great food but you would need to book, so worth planning ahead, even lunch in the town was very busy. There is a great deli & cafe straight across from the B&B, had a quality cream tea.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here in September for 2 nights to enjoy the town and surroundings of Woodstock. The hosts at the Marlborough Arms made one feel very welcome and recommended the best places to dine in the town. These recommendations were very accurate. Excellent food was enjoyed in these establishments. Lovely old room overlooking the main street and a hearty breakfast completed the experience. I would recommend the Marlborough Arms.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room if possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We took over the Marlborough Arms in Woodstock for a family wedding in August 2013. We had a wonderful time. The Marlborough Arms is a very old coaching inn and has fantastic character. It is centrally situated but has a large car-park for the sole use of the residents. The staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a comfortable bedroom (and all of them are different). The breakfasts were excellent with limitless coffee and toast on offer by the attentive staff. Please don't expect American style bedrooms etc - this is a wonderful old building with creaking oak floorboards, flag floors and a sweet little courtyard. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

An Old Coaching Inn. A good location in the middle of Woodstock . Friendly staff & very clean room. Bed was very comfortable and large bathroom with shower cubicle. Breakfast was average, certainly nothing you would expect from something calssed as luxury BB I feel is a bit over the top and expensive. We were booked in for two nights, but my husband was taken ill on the second day so left at midday on the second day as he needed to see his own Doctor , would have been nice to have had some kind of refund on unsed room .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLOPURPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We were very sorry that you had to cut short your visit to Woodstock. It is our policy to refund money if a booking has to be cancelled within our cancellation period, provided we are able to relet your room. Sadly we were unable to do so in this instance. I believe I also offered you discounted accommodation to you if you were able to visit Woodstock again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews