We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 10 was just fabulous but...”
Review of Marlborough Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlborough Arms
Ranked #2 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with a visit to Blenheim and chose to stay at the Marlborough after checking various other establishment reviews through Trip Advisor as we always do. We could not fault room 10 which was a loft room ( well more like a suite) with it's own bathroom and corridor. It was up a few flights of steepish stairs but well worth it. The bathroom was equally large with a rolled top bath and separate shower which was a lovely bonus. The rooms were spotless and the tea/coffee items in the room were generous. We paid £125 and thought overall it was worth it given the space we had and that it was our anniversary. We had a sound nights sleep and the bed which I think was super king size was firm but comfortable. Check in and out was quick with the proprietor Sarah. You park your car to the rear of the property in a private gravelled courtyard which was nice when we eventually found it as it wasn't obvious and hadn't been pointed out to us prior, you have to pull off the high street and it's right round the back, although there is a nice entrance into the place through a lovely courtyard.
Breakfast was very good but we felt that there was little engagement from Sarah unfortunately. The gentleman who accompanied her was very nice, very polite but again not really too engaging. Although this place is an old coach house and there were ample areas to sit there is no bar as such and whilst it's pointed out that they are happy to serve you a drink ( bottled etc I assume from the fridge) positioned behind the reception they do not offer the facility beyond 'early evening'. My wife and I having been around Blenheim all day didn't fancy going out to one of the local pubs but would have fancied sitting downstairs with a drink or two to relax. I came downstairs at about 8.45 on the evening to ask for some more milk cartons and all downstairs was in the dark. There was a note on reception to ring a mobile if we needed anything but I declined. The following morning after we checked out at about 10.00 having ate breakfast at 9, we asked if we could leave the car to the rear while we checked out the village ( which incidentally is charming but quite small and doesn't have many shops of any interest) Sarah in fairness was ok with us leaving the car but said that they would be going out so the front door may be locked and we'd have to go round the back. As I said the village is small so we were back at about 10.35 and the doors were already shut ! Whilst we couldn't fault the room or the contact at check in and out, the proprietors in our opinion could be more interested in their guests and could sell the establishment better. We initially arrived at 12 knowing that we couldn't book in until 3 and we left the car in the car park and walked the 10 mins or so into Blenheim but we noticed that the Marlborough was all locked up and this seemed a little odd to us as well as the 'close down' during the evening and the relatively early lock up again the following morning by 10.35. Unfortunately I can't say that we would be returning for these very reasons. More hospitality would have gone down better. I'm only being honest and comparing our experiences of other B&B's and hotel we've stayed in whee we've left feeling we've got to known the proprietors a little, we didn't feel that at the Marlborough I'm sad to say. I'd imagine from the reviews that any room here would be nice and breakfast is faultless so if that's all you want I think you'd be happy with your stay here but I guess we wanted a little more. Such a waste of the downstairs area especially for just I night stays, maybe you get to use it more if you're stopping for a few days...

Room Tip: Room 10 for that special time away, rolled top bath was brilliant, it was like our own private littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BUCHANANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Oh dear I am sorry we didnt live up to your expectations as a Bed and Breakfast as you sent so many emails prior to your arrival organising your one night’s stay. Again the clue is in "Bed and Breakfast" and we are happy to serve drinks prior to your going out or returning back. We live on site so there is a telephone on the reception desk for guests to use if they want anything which prevents us from hanging around all day/night on the off-chance that you need anything - we can be back with 1 minute. We were happy for you to leave your car in our car park (to avoid to difficulty in parking in Woodstock) the next morning, but as you had already checked out when you returned to collect your car, I feel that your criticism that you were unable to walk through the hotel to our private car park is a little unjustified as we had done you a favour. Also you said there was little or no interaction with us but you failed to mention that when we discovered you were planning to go to Bicester Village (during one of our several conversations with you) we gave you a much coverted Bicester Village VIP discount card! I think that probably a Bed and Breakfast hotel was not what you wanted – perhaps a hotel offering full bar facilities or a smaller Bed and Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lacks atmosphere in the main area where every time we walked in we felt we were intruding on the owners privacy as they were either sitting at the table eating or having a family get together. Not once did any of them ask if there was anything that we needed. Although there were plenty of places to sit in this area, we felt unwelcome. There was an overwhelming feeling of it all being inhospitable and the atmosphere didn't give us the feeling that we wanted to sit and relax in the owners company.
In particular, throughout the whole process of our stay at this b&b, from the initial contact with the lady owner, (who was as others have said, slightly off and disinterested with her guests) ; during and up to our leaving, we felt extremely uncomfortable. In fact we felt that our every move was being watched and monitored by the lady owner. Her husband however, was completely charming and very friendly. But, it was quite obvious that the 'lady' was in charge. Having said that, the room was clean and fresh and the bed was comfortable. BUT, given the facilities and as it is only a b&b, the charge to stay overnight is way too high. There is no restaurant and the bar area also serves as the reception with clutter all over the counter and as we have said, not somewhere to sit and relax with a drink before having to venture out to find somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 18Tryagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are sorry you felt unwelcome in our home - we are extremely proud that The Marlborough Arms has been owned by our family for 60 years. There is a private pannelled residents lounge area as well as the downstairs entrance hall and the old bar counter has papers on because it is our reception area - not a bar. Perhaps the clue is in the description "Bed and Breakfast" although we do offer the facility of ordering drinks before and after you go out to dinner. There are very often deals to be had not only at The Marlborough Arms but also in Woodstock, but you chose Woodstock on a bank holiday weekend so the rates were competitive to every other establishment in the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent hotel, perfectly located for Blenheim Palace. The room was a good size with space to relax, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious - welcoming and friendly hospitality. We'll definitely go again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely rooms. Perfect location, close to shops and terrific restaurants. Excellent breakfast and service. Very reasonably priced. One of the nicest places we stayed in the Cotswolds. The bathroom was clean and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutly lovey. The staff very friendly and accomodating. The bedroom was very spacious and clean. Bathroom very posh. The bed was so.soft it was like lying on a fluffy cloud. The breakfast was delightful. Highly recommend the Marlborough

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here on a trip to see Blenheim Palace and it was a great hotel in the centre of the village. Just a few minutes walk (or less) from great restaurants and only a short walk from the Palace itself. The owners are mixed: the husband is a gentleman, but the wife is a little unbalanced. However overall it's a terrific place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My second review of this establishment. Even better than the last visit. A great place to stay, Lovely nights rest in a huge bed that you can get lost in. Owners very flexible on check out. I will return next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 565Michalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,719 reviews
0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
370 reviews
0 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#3 of 13 in Woodstock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Arms

Address: 26 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £91 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Arms is a beautiful 15th century coaching inn, situated in the heart of Woodstock, overlooking historical streets and offers Bed and Breakfast. Whilst guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the surroundings they still have good links to the M40. The hotel has been elegantly finished in a classic style in-keeping with the character of the building and surrounding area, with contemporary touches throughout. Guests can also take advantage of the inn's own car park located directly behind the property.Each of the thirteen luxurious en-suite bedrooms are all individually themed with a focus on comfort and relaxation. All rooms differ in shape, size and style, ranging from the Cobalt Room, which is situated overlooking the courtyard which has a contemporary feel with beautiful sensuous fabrics and natural morning light, through to the Sepia Room, which is a very large room with a striking interior of deep greys and gentle soft tones, set off with modern lamps and cushions. All of the rooms have flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdriers, irons and ironing boards. Some have baths, some large walk-in showers and some rooms are equipped with both! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlborough Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Arms Hotel Woodstock
Marlborough Arms Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing