We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean and comfortable hotel with decent pub and restaurant, affordably priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice clean and comfortable hotel with decent pub and restaurant, affordably priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on multiple occasions. Rooms are small but well equipped with their own iron. I love that each has a nice full porcelain bath (not plastic). Be careful though that they don't have an elevator but they will lug your luggage up for you. Rooms are clean and beds are very comfy. Street noise and pub noise can be a bit much for some, but I always travel with an Ambien and ear plugs so no problems. No gym but you are within footsteps of Blenheim palace and many cute restaurants so no taxi or bus necessary! Great place and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    79
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
160
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June and was back in Woodstock in September. I was lucky enough to get a booking since the Blenheim Horse Trials were on and the town fills up. I can't say enough about how great this hotel is. I was again with my friend, also named Susan like me. When we checked in, it felt like coming home. The staff actually said "the Suzies are back!"
Not only are the rooms great ( mine had a fireplace and view of the town) but the food is outstanding. Despite the number of fine restaurants and pubs in Woodstock, we chose to eat most of our meals at the King's Arms. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends as we wanted to visit Blenheim Palace which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park so you have to park on the street although there is a free car park a few minutes walk away. Woodstock is a small characterful cotswold town, and is a good base for visiting Blenheim Palace, the cotswolds and Oxford.

We stayed in Room 10 up on the second floor, and thought it was a lovely room - very tastefully furnished and spacious with a very comfortable bed (and I don't normally sleep well in strange beds!). The bathroom has recently been refurbished and was the best I have seen in a hotel. We always want a good shower in a bathroom and this one was no exception, with a large cubicle, a waterfall shower and another hand held shower too! Both of which were powerful. If you prefer, there was a bath, which also had a hand held shower coming out of the wall. The only drawback with the room was that it overlooked the main road, and as there were tables and chairs outside the front of the hotel, it was very noisy early on with people enjoying an evening drink. However, by the time we went to bed at about 11.30pm it had quietened down and we slept well. If you want a quieter room it is best to ask for one overlooking the side or back of the hotel. Our friends were in room 2 which faces Market Street, and they said it was quieter but their shower was poor -not sure if this bathroom has been re-furbed yet as they are gradually working their way round all of them. A member of staff said our room had his favourite bathroom in!

We also had dinner in the hotel which was excellent. I had scallops to start, followed by casseroled rabbit leg, and for dessert a plum trifle - all were delicious, especially the tartness of the plums in the trifle! Wine list was good and reasonably priced. Service was very good and all the staff were friendly. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on Market Street or to the back of the hotel may be quieter. Room 10 has the best bathroom but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillnAdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have previously visited the kings arms bar with friends several times, and have always found it a nice place for a relaxed drink. However the last time a friend and I visited we were met by a very rude member of bar staff who clearly had no time for us. My family and I often come here for dinner, especially over Christmas. I can assure you we will not be returning after the bad service and attitude we received on our last visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenl246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed on Sunday 8th September for one night - arriving in an early autumn rainstorm but the welcome could not have been warmer. Woodstock is a gorgeous little town and the Kings Arms is a truly lovely small hotel - we have nothing but praise for our room, its decoration, facilities (particularly the bathroom, with separate tub and walk-in shower, second to none) and nothing but praise for the wonderful food, dinner & breakfast next morning. The staff we met were all brilliant. The ambience - calm and generous with a contemporary elegance and wit too - was something we will never forget. We hope to return for a longer visit in the not too distant future. DKW & TJW.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Market Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

On several occassions i have met friends at the Kings Arms and have always had a very friendly welcome on arrival and a first class service from all the staff. The food is excellent, with a great choice of menu, which changes frequently. I would not hesitate to recommend this first class Hotel to any one. Thank you...looking forward to our next visit. Jackie Blay

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of a very high standard. Very Clean with exceptional decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in August. Woodstock is so pretty and the Kings Arms is a lovely building at one end of the main street. I was greeted by a lovely lady who explained all about the hotel and helped with my bags. My room was beautifully furnished. Bathroom was a little small but again very nicely decorated and with Molton Brown toiletries. Dinner in the restaurant was very nice and service was efficient and friendly. Breakfast was freshly cooked. No parking but there are spaces outside - if you manage to get one for 3 hours you won't have to go back to your car until 11am.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#2 of 14 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#3 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 19 Market Street | Oxon, Woodstock OX20 1SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian hotel in the centre of historic Woodstock on the edge of the Cotswolds and on the doorstep of magnificent Blenheim Palace. Uncluttered bedrooms mix a good combination of old and new styles. Antique gilt mirrors and contemporary art are in the busy restaurant and bar which offers a modern English menu in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing