We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gin selection!”

The Churchill Room at The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: £5 - £50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A modern restaurant in the heart of Woodstock with Chef Luke Rawicki. Set in the beautiful boutique hotel The Feathers.
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Despite the fact that we'd mentioned being vegetarian (and expressing an interest in a special vegetarian menu they offered) when we booked, this message hadn't been passed on. However, the staff were very apologetic about the mistake and the chef was able to put together an approximation of the special menu for us at short notice, including a dish new to the restaurant, and it was all declicious.

We paired each course with a different gin, expertly-selected by the incredibly knowledgable bartender at The Feathers' special gin bar.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank itsDanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2015

We visited for my birthday treat. And we thoroughly enjoyed the Tasting Menu of fantastic food and wonderfully complementary wines, served and explained by a knowledgeable waiter.
The hotel also has a fabulous stock of gins, which we enjoyed too!
The hotel buildings are old and probably not suitable for the elderly and/or disabled. But the rooms were adapted well with modern day conveniences installed.

Thank ChilledMama671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We went for a high tea after reading other reviews on Trip advisor. We were very disappointed! The high tea was very expensive for a poor quality meal. The sandwiches had little flavour and the bread was semi stale, the scones were like little bullets and the cream had been refrigerated for so long in little tea cups it was solid and could hardly be spooned out. The selection of cakes was poor; banana bread, a slimy tiny cream layer cake of some sort but on the plus, a delicious strawberry mousse!
The service was good from the waiter.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Birthdaygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We booked for a special occasion and had the tasting menu. The time between courses was far too long, food very standard and then we had to wait 30min plus for the staff to organise the bill. A slight consideration for customer service could really benefit the enjoyment of the whole experience.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VictoriaW672
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Stayed Saturday evening on the package that included afternoon tea, 5 course taster menu and breakfast the following morning. Had checked out the reviews on here the night before we arrived and was a bit worried about the service and the quality of the food. We had little to complain about and spent a lovely weekend with friends. Staff were very attentive and the good was fab. Book it

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Churchill Room at The Feathers Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Churchill Room at The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.