We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and Quality rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House of Fisher - City Wall House
Reviewed 9 December 2013

There is one good thing about stand alone groups, the consider your requests.

I got a very good deal with them and am loving their service. Staff is extremely accommodating.

The best part is location, its right in reading center and lots of eat-lets around.

Highly recommended for month plus stay.

Room Tip: Studio numbered 105,205,305 and 405 are bigger in size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderluxuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was really impressed by the standard and facilities of the House of Fisher services apartments. They are in a great location with a wide variety of shops and restaurants close by.
Everything you need is provided and the accommodation is immaculately presented.
I have now stayed there on 5 separate occasions and look forward to my next one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClareYWitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I needed a place to stay for a conference in Reading and I have chosen House of Fisher. The staff that greeted me at City Wall House were friendly and accommodating. The girl took the time to answer all the questions I had regarding their services- she was pleasant and informative. When I asked for a fan- it was too hot- I realized the room was already equipped with one. It is worth noting that the kitchen is fully equipped with kettle, toaster, oven, microwave, washing machine, dishwasher and fridge-freezer. You can also find a iron and ironing board, hair-dryer- if you ever need one.

I can say that the apartment was modern and stylish.

At arrival there was a complimentary pack that was brilliant.

The apartment was easy to find since the location is amazing- right in the centre- handy and within walking distance of everything! One would expect to be noisy, but actually it wasn't. I was quite impressed.

The cleaning takes place once a week and my apartment was immaculate. The cleaners provided me with clean towels, the linen was also very clean.

As far as I am concerned the staff were helpful, efficient and polite.

I will definitely be back and I would recomment the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for scoring us top marks on your recent stay with us. We welcome both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continually improve, as we aim to offer the best level of service possible. We do have properties all accross Thames Valley, check our website for all the best deals in great towns such as Bracknell, Maidenhead, Basingstoke, Farnborough and Camberley.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope than we can welcome you again soon at House of Fisher.

Kind Regards,

Flori Carp
Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Great location and very well equipped serviced apartments. This could have been a fantastic place to stay, but it is has two major problems. The apartments facing the street has very poor soundproofed windows. Secondly the firealarms keep going off, very annoying.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubliner035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flori C, Manager at House of Fisher - City Wall House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest,
May we take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post a review. We are saddened to read that you found certain aspects of your stay a let-down. We understand that you find our frontward facing apartment a little noisy due to the central location of the aparthotel. We actively do our utmost to accommodate our guests requests and often house guests in our backward facing apartments should they wish to have more peace and quiet.
With regards to the fire alarms, unfortunately we must test the system once a week at a specified time. We apologise to all our guests for any inconvenience this may cause them, however we must oblige by health and safety regulations.Furthermore, we pride ourselves on high health and safety standards to ensure that, in the unlikely event of a fire, we can evacuatethe building safely and efficiently.
We are pleased that you found the apartment "well equipped" and in a "great location" and sincerely hope that the apartment provided you with that real home from home experience we aim for.
We do hope to have the opportunity of meeting you again and in doing so will ensure that you are accommodated in a backward facing apartment when requested at the time of the booking.

Kind Regards,
Flori Carp
Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The HOF is very well located in the Reading Town Center, apartments are very good and well maintained. HOF team is very well supportive and will make sure all your needs are attended. There are several restaurants / shopping places just a minute away, local transport is just across the street. The only limitations is the parking and if you take front side apartment, it is very noisy especially on week ends..!

Room Tip: If you are looking for 1 bed room apartment then 108 / 208 / 308 / 408 are good ones, if you are com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASKAJALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flori C, Manager at House of Fisher - City Wall House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your humble and honest review of your stay with us and for taking the time to post the review. We are delighted that you found City Wall House to be a great place to stay whilst on business due to its ideal location and amenities. We are also delighted at your acknowledgement of our efforts towards providing exceptional customer service and ensuring all of our guests' needs are met.
With regards to parking, as City Wall House is located right in the centre of Reading, parking is restricted due to public transport routes through the town. However, we do have a car park available at our Stanshawe Court location just a 3 minute walk from City Wall House, parking is available upon request. We also appreciate your concerns with noise in our frontward facing apartments due to city centre location and will always do our best to allocate apartments on the back side of the building.
Your feedback is highly valued and we hope to welcome you back to City wall House when you next visit Reading on business.

Kind Regards,
Flori Carp
Reginal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

HoF is a very conveniently located apartment.. touching the town center, 5 minutes walk from Reading station and 10 minutes from Thames Valley. Tesco & ATM are stone's throw away. Rates are reasonable for the kind of service. For me the stay was pleasant as I never had to think about planning to go to market as it was when I stayed at another hotel away from Town Center. Cleanliness is proficient and your apartment is cleaned once in a week. Apart from changing linens, your toiletries are also refurbished. Kitchen was well equipped. The view from apartment window never lets you feel isolated in case not many of your friends stay around. Otherwise TV has good options to keep you busy. Router in every room gives you a smooth wifi connectivity.

This isn't the place to stay if you're looking for a peaceful environment away from bustling city. But it's the place to be if you generally are occupied in other activities like your job or roaming around Reading.

Room Tip: Take a one bedroom rather than a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmeshSengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flori C, Manager at House of Fisher - City Wall House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Mr Sengar,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. WE are thrilled to know that you found City Wall House an excellent place to stay. As with all our sites location is key and we carefully select our developments to ensure peace of mind through the comvenience and ease of access to transport links and amenities. We are also pleased to find that you found the housekeeping service to be of a high standard. As mentioned, we provide a breakfast pack and all the necesarry utilities to provide our guests with a real home from home expeirence. On this note we are also glad to read that you found the television package and unlimited broadband connectivity highly satisfactory.
Thank you very much for your king feedback and we hope that through your positive experience you will look to book with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Flori Carp
Regional Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We, as part of a project for our company, travelled to UK in a team of 20. Reading is famous for its town centre and residential facilities all across UK, right from Heathrow, as our chauffer was holding our play card. It falls on the juncture of West Street, Broad Mall Street & Oxford Street, all renowned for their shopping spree. In comparison with other nearby hotels, HOF provides best-in service, classy furniture and all utility equipments, right from dish-washer, washing machine, fridge, TV, free internet, geyser, room heater, and what not. Price-wise, its is at par stay-per-night, but if you are looking for longer stay may be more than 2 weeks, then they will offer handsome discount for you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnimeshJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Fisher - City Wall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Fisher - City Wall House

Address: City Wall House 26 West Street, Reading RG1 1TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Reading
Price Range: £80 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House of Fisher - City Wall House 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our City Wall House apart-hotel offers a fabulous range of serviced apartments in Reading, RG1. A serviced apartment at City Wall House is an ideal alternative to a Reading hotel. Walk out the front door at City Wall House and you're in the very heart of Reading town centre. These stylish, fully serviced executive apartments are also less than a five minute walk only 0.3 miles (0.5km) from Reading Railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your House of Fisher - City Wall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing